Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Sunday 25th August 2019 - 02:01:48

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Beverages > Ready To Drink > Vodka Cruiser review

« Rheineck reviewRheineckSt John's Wort Plus reviewSt John »

Score: 8.2/10  [14 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 253 - Vodka Cruiser
Brewed/Bottled by Independent Liquor (NZ) Ltd

Vodka Cruiser
Price:
varies
Available:
At bottlestores and pubs

Vodka Cruiser product reviews

Top 10 Most Read in 2009Vodka Cruiser is Australasia's leading pre-mixed drink in a bottle. It was launched in 2000 & is now sold in more than 50 countries worldwide. Using double distilled vodka, the Vodka Cruiser rainbow of colours and fruit flavours has grown from strength to strength. Current flavours include timeless favourites such as Raspberry & Passionfruit.

Fun and frivolous, stylish and sassy, Vodka Cruiser has developed into a mature brand with a loyal following.

Available flavours:
Ice, Cool Lime, Lemon, Passionfruit, Pineapple, Raspberry



Tags:
alcohol   berry   citrus   flavoured   fruit   rtd   vodka
Other listings you may be interested in:
McCashins 2007 Central Otago Pinot NoirMcCashins 2007 Central Otago Pinot Noir
Rating: 8.0
Passionberry CocktailPassionberry Cocktail
Rating: 8.0
Addmore Elderflower Sparkling - OriginalAddmore Elderflower Sparkling - Original
Rating: 7.8
Green & Co Spring Water - Raspberry, Hibiscus & LimeGreen & Co Spring Water - Raspberry, Hibiscus & Lime
Rating: 8.3
H2 Coco Pure Coconut Water - Pineapple H2 Coco Pure Coconut Water - Pineapple 
Rating: 7.8
Bundaberg Lemon, Lime and BittersBundaberg Lemon, Lime and Bitters
Rating: 7.3
Green & Co Spring Water - Watermelon, Jasmine & MintGreen & Co Spring Water - Watermelon, Jasmine & Mint
Rating: 7.4
Alcohol KillerAlcohol Killer
Rating: 7.9
Basilur Vintage Style Tea - New Year's GiftBasilur Vintage Style Tea - New Year's Gift
Rating: 8.8
Teza - VelvetberryTeza - Velvetberry
Rating: 8.8
Sodastream Caps - Classic Variety sampler packSodastream Caps - Classic Variety sampler pack
Rating: 8.6
Sanpellegrino Sparkling Fruit Flavoured DrinksSanpellegrino Sparkling Fruit Flavoured Drinks
Rating: 9.0
Kiwifruit - Still MediumKiwifruit - Still Medium
Rating: 8.1

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of missybeenz

Review by: missybeenz (Kiya)
Dated: 1st of November, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

My personal favourite choice when it comes to alcohol at parties. As someone who doesn't like beer, I tend to find myself a bit more limited to drink choices at house parties; but having a case of Vodka Cruisers around seems to be a safe option that most people opt to include these days.

The bottles have a 2% alcohol content, whilst the cans have 6%. This can get a little bit confusing depending on your tolerance and you could accidentally end up having more alcohol than you intended to, but as long as you're aware of it it doesn't tend to be an issue.

The taste of a Vodka Cruiser is not that dissimilar to a soft drink, it still has that little background taste of the vodka, but for the most part it's actually quite easy to forget that what you're drinking is alcohol at all! The wide range of flavour options is great as it means that there's generally something for everyone. I've enjoyed every flavour I've tried, including the raspberry and tropical options among others. My favourite flavour out of those I've tried though, would be the blueberry. But as there are so many options there's still plenty more flavours that I've yet to try!

If you sip your way slowly through a bottle or two over the course of the night then (depending on your tolerance) you're not likely to be affected much by the alcohol. However, the fact that doesn't have a blatantly strong alcohol taste can work against you should you lose track of the number you've had. It's easy to go from one to another as you would with soft drinks at a party. This, coupled with the fact that the alcohol doesn't take effect right away, can lead to becoming tipsy/drunk very easily. That being said however, if you ARE looking to get tipsy/drunk then they're an excellent choice for that too!

Click here to read the profile of axiath

Review by: axiath (Diana)
Dated: 9th of June, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Vodka made easy, and in a variety of flavours. Vodka cruisers are those go to ready to drink bottles that you know are going to taste good. My personal favourite? Passionfruit. Love passionfruit flavoured things? You'll love the passionfruit Vodka Cruisers. Although I haven't tried EVERY flavour available or that has been available of this product, over the few years I've been drinking I've tried many of them. A case of 12 Vodka Cruisers is good value and lasts in my fridge for those after work occasions where a glass of water won't cut it.

For those who like a 'lolly water' type RTD that is easy to drink and doesn't have a sickly after taste. The variety of flavours available has something for every Vodka fan and is a go-to drink for those who want a Vodka drink without the potentially dangerous self mixing of traditional spirits.

The packaging of the product is simple in design - a glass bottle with a simple twist off top, however boasts an attractive label and instantly recognisable logo. Vodka Cruisers are available in 12 and 4 packs of 275ml bottles for the 5% range, and also have a range of cans at near 8%. I personally do not like strong alcohol and can't vouch for the near 8% cans however if you're wanting something stronger, based on my experience from the 5% range, I recommend you give the cans a try.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 30th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Vodka Cruisers are much the same as KGB and the likes. Ready to Drink vodka mixes that are cheap enough to buy and way to easy to drink. Unlike KGB you get a variety of different flavours to choose from; pineapple, raspberry, passion fruit, lemon and more.

Raspberry is most definitely my favorite of the Vodka Cruiser range, however for some reason if I drink more than 4 bottles in an evening it makes me very I'll.The biggest problem is that it is like lolly water, and if you do not take note of what you are drinker or how much, you can easily drink to much. Also they are one of those alcoholic drinks that do not affect you straight away, but then suddenly hit you hard and fast.

The Vidka Cruiser range is possibly the more classy looking of the ready to drink beverages available, simple and basic in design and easy to open with twist off caps. The rainbow of colors are bright and very appealing. Price wise these do not break the bank and are handy to grab on your way to a function.

Keep out of reach of children though because they do look so yum that kids could easily mistake it for fruit juice.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 1st of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

Not too dissimilar from the KGB, Vodka Cruisers are a Vodka based RTD (ready-to-drink). Unlike KGB, however, there is a range of up to seventeen flavours available; including guava, lemon, lime, passion fruit, pineapple, and raspberry.

As is prevalent with most vodka RTDs, the flavours are very strong, and in the end taste a lot like candied water. The Cruisers do have a stronger alcoholic flavor, with in my opinion a slightly lower level of carbonation compared to the KGBs, but I prefer to taste the alcohol. I am the sort of person that likes to know what he is drinking.

Not my usual cup of tea, but I won't say no if they are provided. The strong flavours usually end up dying your tongue the same colour of the drink (reminds me of those little bubble gums that used to make your tongue blue), and after a few you do grow tired of the taste. Cruiser have combated this by releasing "Assorted" boxes, which contain a selection of different flavours, which is one of the things that I would love to see more companies do.

Cruisers are a popular choice amongst the girls that want to have a few drinks before heading into town, and amongst teenagers at house parties, but not something that I feel the need to revisit as an adult male.

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 16th of September, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Wow, a trip down memory lane. These are so easy to drink with great taste. I don't do well with mixing my own drinks, I either make it too strong and waste it by not finishing the drink or so weak I have to drink a huge amount to even feel like I have had some so RTD is the easy way to get it right.

My favourite has to be the blue, not sure why but I had many nights I would end up with blue lips and tongue. I'm one of the lucky ones that no matter how much I have to drink I never wake up with a hangover the next morning.

I would recommend to others who would like to experience something new and exciting, someone who wants a drink that is tasty and fun to drink and colours that are amazing and the effects are unbelievable.

My kids often ask for a taste of Mummy's drink but this is one that is not going to be shared any time soon.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 30th of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I think vodka cruisers along with purple goanna's and vodka mudshakes were the first alcoholic drinks I tried at the end of my teenage years. I guess that is where these were good as they were so cheap and convenient for me when I was young to spend just a little bit of money on the weekend for parties. I have probably tried them all but my favourite would be the raspberry flavour.

I would buy these in a four pack and that would be enough alcohol for me to be suitably drunk lol. These days I do from time to time buy a four pack of these as they are refreshing on a summers day. Unlike mix your own vodka they are so easy to drink and don't have that intensity that making yourself has. I like the taste and it is not much unlike a fizzy drink rather than an alcoholic drink.

Click here to read the profile of honeygirl

Review by: honeygirl (Roseanna)
Dated: 15th of March, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

OOOOH MY vodka cruisers are my preferred drinks,,, so many memories of having a good time in my pre 20's years lol why do i like them so much they are easy digest have great flavours and definetly best of all i never woke up the next morning with a hang over.

compared to other drinks i found that these didn't really taste like a alcoholic beverage more like a fruit drink of some sort, (also referred to as lolly water) but still gave you that kick for and enjoyable social drink with family or friends without getting too drunk again without the hangover or after affects.

The great thing with any RTD mixes they are already premixed for you, so you don't have to go to any function with bulky bottles and mix your own, at least thru out your night your drink measures are consistent and you don't over fill with vodka.
the other thing i like about this is the fact that Vodka Cruisers now come with a wide range of flavors ranging from raspberry, peach cranberry etc, and also come with different alcohol percentages, therefore the ones that can handle a bit more alcohol in one drink can get a bit more than lolly water lol.

finally the last thing that i liked while in the liquor shop was they are very well packaged and comes in packs of 4 6s box of 12 and some liquor shops also allow you to buy them singly therefore you can purchase more than one flavor for you to enjoy for the night

overall defiantly a drink that i enjoy

Click here to read the profile of flabbergastered

Review by: flabbergastered (Karyn)
Dated: 12th of January, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Oh my GOSH....these bring back many memories!! Yes they are definitely referred to as Lolly Water, they are very tasty and very easy to drink. I am a big vodka fan so when I was introduced to these many years ago I became a fan. Quick trip to the bottle shop always resulting in plenty of Vodka Cruisers purchased was a quick and hassle free RTD to accompany me to any party or BBQ. With the range of flavours offered I could always choose a couple of different boxes.

The great thing about RTD Vodka Cruisers is I didn't have to worry about taking along several larger bottles of alcohol and mix my own, also if the party was taken to town I didn't have to worry about leaving the excess at a mates place, if I had to mix my own I would need to go back at same stage to pick up the larger bottles of alcohol....the Vodka Cruisers would be all gone so no need to worry! Perfect!!

One thing you would have to worry about was not to drink too many as they really are like lolly water, even I would forget sometimes I was consuming an alcoholic beverage!! I liked that at my bottle store they offered single bottles of Vodka Cruisers or 4 packs, 6 packs or a 12 pack box so it catered for everyone and every situation....also I like the different volumes of alcohol percentages too, so I could choose stronger or weaker taste on vodka depending on my mood etc.

A quick and easy drink to take, no fuss, no mixing as it is already done for you, and the flavours are yumm! to many delicious flavours to just choose one! If you like vodka and like sweet drinks then Vodka Cruisers are just right for you. Reasonably priced as well and with different options they are just perfect for every budget and taste.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 11th of January, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

Vodka Cruisers were the drink of choice back in my mis-spent early 20s. At the time there was not a great variety of RTD drinks. KGB offered their lemon flavour, Purple Goanna was a firm favourite as well. Still when Vodka Cruisers came out, it became the thing to track down every flavour and try it. The real appeal, aside from the girly fruitiness of a cocktail premix was the price. These generally went at 4 for 10 dollars. So when you were a student on a budget, it made great sense to go with a Cruiser.

While I was at the bottle store the other day I saw they had a relatively new flavour for me to try. This one was Summer Fruit. I liked the bottle. It was wrapped in white with a tutti frutti candy coloured wave or twist design on the white. It looked kind of 70s retro, which appealed to me. I picked up a bottle to add to my order. Once back home, I cracked open the bottle. The smell was like orange soda, very sugary. But then the ingredients are basically soda water, vodka and sugar.

The taste was like a boiled orange lolly. A strong vodka taste almost eclipsed the orange taste. Then slowly a possible passionfruit or apricot or both comes through. More of an aftertaste. Of course there is no way to know what summer fruit flavours are meant to be in the bottle as all it says is Summer Fruit. I think the bottle could have done with a small blurb to give the consumer an idea that they haven't just purchased re-branded orange. I made a cocktail with this, lemonade and some tropical juice. This made the vodka taste way less overpowering and cut the sweetness to an acceptable level for me.

Click here to read the profile of brojae

Review by: brojae (Sheree)
Dated: 22nd of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 4 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 4 out of 10

cruisers aka lolly water! not a bad drop, good way to start the night, at home with the girls. I personally don't know too many lads who are into these, but are popular among my girl friends. Its been awhile since i've indulged in these as i have a spate of bad memories from big nights in Queenstown ....urgh.

overall, they are sweet, easy to drink, taste like the label says, albeit with the tang of vodka and they often pack a punch the next day due to them being so easy to drink - you can find you have put away a fair few without even trying. Along with other rtd's you can pick these up in packs of 4 for about $10 down here, making it a cheap and fun/yummo way to start the night :)

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 18th of August, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Have also tried most of the different flavours of cruiser, and like many RTDs do consider them to be like drinking lolly water... A little too yummy, and not too strong, a very easy drop to drink.

For some the flavours might not be to ones liking and I must admit that the Raspberry one is one of my least favourites, but the rest really are delicious. I have not yet tried Cool Lime or Lemon.

The bottles are easy to hold and the packaging attractive to the eye. The info on the labels easy to read and understand too which is good.

Can recommend vodka cruisers to anyone wishing to dry vodka for the first time, but I must say to be careful with consumption, as like I said it can be like drinking lolly water, and one could easily drink to much.

Click here to read the profile of billygoatgruff

Review by: billygoatgruff (Robert)
Dated: 30th of January, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Having sampled most of the flavours since they appeared on the market, i find these drinks to be quite satisfying & even refreshing depending on your taste buds.
All rtd's tend to be quite sweet & these are no exception. However i didn't find them to be sickly sweet like others i have tried.
My personal favourites are the Grapefruit & lime flavour. These were slightly less sweet than the others, so appealed to my own preferences.
I don't drink often but these are near the top my list for a cheap buzz

Click here to read the profile of wheeled thing

Review by: wheeled thing (David)
Dated: 29th of October, 2006

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I have had a soft spot for clear spirits for a while and was happy when these were introduced. I have tried adding different flavours to Vodka and the like for a while, usually with dismal results. This is a welcome change to the normal beer or other RTD.

My personal favourites, in order of preferrence would be Pineapple, Raspberry, Passionfruit then Lemon. I haven't tried the Lime or the Ice flavour but I have been told by those who have that they are nice.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 18th of June, 2004

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I am not really a Vodka person... clear spirits don't really appeal to me much at all, being as I am a Bourbon Man.

However, when a mate shouted me one of the Pineapple Cruisers at a pub a little while ago, I was really pleasantly surprised at how tasy they were. I could still detect the tang of the vodka, but it had enough fruit flavour to mask the worst effects from my tastebuds.

I wouldn't say I have been converted, far from it, but I will admit that if I need a quick drink in the pub and I am in the mood for something sweeter than Bourbon, I would certainly consider a Cruiser...

Shame about the lack of Orange Cruisers though... can't seem to find any of them around.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Beverages'...

Score: 9.0
Product reviews for listing 5336: Four Hawk Day Sauvignon Blanc 2013 -  Brewed / Bottled by Four Hawk Day

Product image for Four Hawk Day Sauvignon Blanc 2013A fresh and elegantly proportioned wine with concentrated flavours of gooseberry, citrus and passion fruit. The palate is dry to taste and medium-bodied, the acidity is perfect for balance and energy and carries the flavours to a soft, gentle, lingering finish.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"You know you've read a good book when you turn the last page and feel a little as if you have lost a friend"
Paul Sweeney

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream