Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 21st May 2019 - 14:36:16

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Frozen Goods > Chicken and Veges Dumplings review

« Superstorm reviewSuperstormEconomy Whiteboards reviewEconomy Whiteboards »

Score: 8.1/10  [7 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 2518 - Chicken and Veges Dumplings
Produced by Leanne's Kitchen

Chicken and Veges Dumplings
Price:
from $2.99
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Leannes Kitchen

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at quality supermarket outlets

Chicken and Veges Dumplings product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsDumplings are popular for all occasions and eaten all year round.
    •  Fantastic as finger food
    •  Great side dish to rice, noodles or veggies
    •  Nice eaten cold in lunch boxes
    •  Party & BBQ favourites
    •  Healthy in chicken broth soup
    •  Fantastic with any pasta sauce

Healthy: These dumpling contain no added MSG, preservatives, artificial colours or additives and are 95% fat free.
Easy: Takes no more than 5 to 10 mins straight from the freezer to cook.
Versatile: Panfried, steamed, boiled, baked, deep fried or use in soups or as pasta.
Yummy: Taste the freshness of ingredients in every bite.

These dumplings from Leanne's Kitchen are full of healthy ingredients. You won't find any product that tastes better, healthier, easier or faster to cook that is made in N.Z. These dumplings also comply with the Food & Beverage Classification System for everyday use in schools, so it's a perfect food for the young and old. Kids just love them.

Available in a range of flavours:
    •  Chicken & Veges: Everyone's favorite, has the right balance of carbs, vegetables and meat. Fantastic with pasta sauces.
    •  Pork & Cabbage: Taste the traditional Chinese dumpling with flavourful pork mixed with cabbage. Experience the real taste of China.
    •  Seafood & Veges: For Seafood lovers. Contains prawn meat and noodles. Fantastic in a cream sauce or soup.
    •  Vegetarian: Every vegetarian's delight, with the authentic taste of Chinese mushrooms, vermicelli noodles and mixed vegetables.
    •  Chicken & Prawn: The freshest ingredients from both land and sea come together in our sensational Chicken & Prawn Dumplings!
    •  Pork & Prawn: Your taste buds never lie as you bite into these beautiful Pork and Cabbage Dumplings.

Look out for them in your local supermarket frozens department.

Check out Leannes Kitchen onlineClick here to see all the listings for Leannes Kitchen Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
chicken   dumpling   frozen   nz made   nzmade   vegetables
Other listings you may be interested in:
Beak & Sons BBQ Pork Ribs - ChineseBeak & Sons BBQ Pork Ribs - Chinese
Rating: 9.6
Tasty Pot Soup - Good Soup for a Bad DayTasty Pot Soup - Good Soup for a Bad Day
Rating: 7.7
GoNatural Macadamia and HazelnutGoNatural Macadamia and Hazelnut
Rating: 8.7
NZ Seedless Bramble BerriesNZ Seedless Bramble Berries
Rating: 9.7
Pork and Prawn DumplingsPork and Prawn Dumplings
Rating: 6.8
Denny's RestaurantsDenny's Restaurants
Rating: 6.0
Pork and Cabbage DumplingsPork and Cabbage Dumplings
Rating: 6.0
The BathHousEThe BathHousE
Rating: 7.9
Raglan Coconut Yoghurt - Strawberry & AcaiRaglan Coconut Yoghurt - Strawberry & Acai
Rating: 9.2
The Coffee Club, BethlehemThe Coffee Club, Bethlehem
Rating: 10.0
Nuttz Sea-Salted PeanutsNuttz Sea-Salted Peanuts
Rating: 7.3
Seafood and Veges DumplingsSeafood and Veges Dumplings
Rating: 8.0
Chicken and Prawn DumplingsChicken and Prawn Dumplings
Rating: 8.2

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 14th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

Yumm i love these dumplings! In fact i have actually been on the look out for them recently but havent been able to find them which is a bit of a let down, i think Pak n Save stopped stocking them and it seems Countdown doesnt either, will be trying other supermarkets in the coming weeks.

Previously when i used these i partly cooked them in boiling water (which kinda makes them go soggy) and then pan fried them to add a nice golden colour and crisp them up. These always turned out perfect for me when i cooked them this way so i never bothered trying any other way. I also have always served these as a side dish on our plates with meat and veges, although i love the idea of serving them with dipping sauces as a snack or entree when you have guests, they would even be great pre- BBQ! :) Id also never considered matching them with a pasta sauce which would also be a great easy dinner!

As far as taste goes i have only ever tried the chicken and vege as the other flavours dont really appeal to me... I dont know really how much "real" chicken is in them but the veges you can certainly see and taste as being real ~ I could definately taste the chicken too! Love the fact that these are a healthier, price friendly and easy meal option ~ fully reccomend to others :)

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 8th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Taste:
Score 3 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 8 out of 10

We had bought the vegetarian dumplings in this range several times, and thought that we would branch out and try this one since we had liked the other one so much. We felt quite dissapointed with it. It cooked well, nice and easy, but the texture and taste of the chicken left a lot to be desired for. We gave it a couple of months and then decided to try it again, only to be let down again. As a result it is not something that I will be buying again. The only thing that I liked about it was the price, but that was all.

Click here to read the profile of hope

Review by: hope (Hope)
Dated: 15th of April, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 7 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 8 out of 10

I liked these dumplings especially simmered in chicken broth (although I tried them baked in the oven & fried in the pan, all good). These dumplings were well filled & the wrapper tender - when boiled, obviously crisp when you do then in the oven or pan. The chicken was subtly flavoured with spice, maybe '5 spice', nice. I also tasted fresh ginger, which I liked.
I liked the corn, carrot & peas they added colour & texture & the hint of mushroom good too. A good product.

Click here to read the profile of testbot

Review by: testbot (Marcus)
Dated: 6th of April, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

another excellent product in the range, these dumplings are not my total favourite but were still very tasty and went well in a nice asian style soup. simple to cook and the instructions were very easy to follow. the taste was a little quiet for my tastes so i simply spiced up the soup a bit more with a pinch of chili flakes some chicken salt and freshly ground black pepper. I think this is one i will possibly keep on hand for the visitors who like milder foods.

Click here to read the profile of vivid

Review by: vivid (Matt)
Dated: 2nd of April, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

I tried these a while ago but when Pak'n Save stopped stocking them I mostly gave up on them. Now I know where they can be found I will be keeping some in the freezer almost constantly as they are great for quick snack foods for when the clan come around for a Horde Gathering. (Also known as the semiregular weekend family get together)
Quick to cook, I prefer to do them in the mini deepfryer as they come out really nice and crispy all over with a nice colour and taste. Throw them in a bowl with a choice of dips and put them on the table. By the time the next batch is cooked the first batch is well and truly gone. Grin Icon
As someone who adores meat in all it's wonderous variety, these are a really nice way to get a bit of chook into the kids, even those who are not great fans of it. In fact this is a great way to get them to try new flavours too, since they can't immediately tell what is inside until after the first bite.
These are also really nice once cold too, because of the deep-frying they stay crisp for longer.
All in all a great addition to any freezer, though the results you get will vary greatly depending on the method of cooking you choose. Unless you are a fan of the more 'traditional' Asian style foods, I would strongly recommend avoiding any 'boiling' options.

Click here to read the profile of mumkat

Review by: mumkat (Kathaleen)
Dated: 1st of April, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.5/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 4 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 5 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 7 out of 10

I chose to have a panel for this review and guess what, they all agreed with me. Out of 10, only one didn't list this as their second favorite.

I straight fried these with the lid on and got a nice black colour on each side of these. Please, please, please dont burn them, the charcoal flavour takes away from the flavour of what they are. I think i would like them steamed with some nice green vegetables but didnt think much of the carrot in them.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 25th of March, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

First off, I need to explain why the scores won't *quite* match what I have to say... it's all about perspective you see.

I had the opportunity to try these dumplings a couple of nights ago at a friend's place - he swears by them (literally, in some cases) - and his cooking method is amazing. The dumplings turned out crispy but not 'sharp', full of flavour and rich to the tastebuds. However, when I tried to cook them the same way, it was an epic fail. Nothing quite says "you botched that one up, didn't you?" like the smoke alarm going nuts... two rooms away. So for the case of the review goods, I decided to try "Asian Italian" - that is to say I boiled the dumplings according to the instructions on the packet, then made my own tomato and herb pasta sauce to go over them. A (heavy) dash of Parmesan cheese over the top, and serve.

Taste suffered because of this, though to be honest I can't actually say the dumplings were overly at fault. Sure, something powerful would have fought it's way through a boiling, but the real flavours comes from frying these little beauts. As Chef Ramsey says, "Colour equals Flavour." Nothing boiled is going to be as flavoursome as something fried, roasted or BBQ'd. So saying, my choice to boil these took away from an otherwise delightful flavour that I *have* experienced when someone who knows how to cook them well does the job.

Linked to this... after being boiled, they aren't exactly the most visually appealing to the European appetite. A soggy, white lump just never really leaps up and screams "Oh baby, I am SO YUMMY!" to me. Again, entirely the result of my choice. I figured at least blobby isn't as bad as badly burnt.

Health-wise, these are pretty good actually. Nothing on the "seriously naughty" list, they survive extremely well in the freezer, for a food with microscopic, if any, preservative agents, and there was nothing in the flavour that said "You shouldn't be eating these, y'know..." so I am quite glad to score them well on the Health factor.

Overall, these are certainly something you should experience, but please, for pity's sake, don't boil them! Be brave, be creative, try frying them, try them in a broth, heck, try anything that catches your fancy (deep frying perhaps, wonton-style?) but if you don't like the idea of looking at a plate on soggy, palid lumps, AVOID BOILING THEM! Good value for money, as a packet can serve two (if they have small appetites or plenty of side-dish) or a single-serve for a hungry adult. Even cold, the fried versions I tried were quite tasty as grab'n'go snacks.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 7.5
Product reviews for listing 187: Takaro Takeaways
Located : Botanical Road, PN

Product image for Takaro TakeawaysLocated in the Takaro Shops, on the corner of Featherston Street and Botanical Road, you can't miss us.

Open Tuesday to Sunday, from 11:30am - 1:30pm for lunch, and 4:30pm - 8:00pm (7:30pm Sundays only) for dinner.

We carry a wipe range of European fast food, a range of flavour choices and now owned by the original creators of the Grumpy Burger and the T-Rex Burger.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Education is what you get when you read the fine-print. Experience is what you get when you don't."
anonymous

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream