Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Sunday 25th August 2019 - 17:28:16

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Beverages > Carbonated Drinks > Sugar-free V review

« The Returner reviewThe ReturnerThe Time Traveller reviewThe Time Traveller »

Score: 6.6/10  [12 reviews]
2 out of 5
ProdID: 248 - Sugar-free V
Brewed/Bottled by Frucor Beverages Ltd

Sugar-free V
Price:
$0.00
Available:
where ever V is sold

Sugar-free V product reviews

Sugar-free V invigorates you, improves mental alertness and enhances concentration.

Sugar-free V contains caffeine at levels found in an average cup of coffee, with a tangy citrus taste.



Tags:
-none-
Other listings you may be interested in:
Basilur Tea Legends : Tower of LondonBasilur Tea Legends : Tower of London
Rating: 6.1
Mai'a Coffee Straws : CappuccinoMai'a Coffee Straws : Cappuccino
Rating: 8.9
Nescafe Dolce Gusto Americano IntensoNescafe Dolce Gusto Americano IntensoFruit Juice Orange With Fruit BitsFruit Juice Orange With Fruit Bits
Rating: 7.8
Pete's Natural - Feijoa LemonadePete's Natural - Feijoa Lemonade
Rating: 9.8
Nekta Liquid Kiwifruit with Aloe VeraNekta Liquid Kiwifruit with Aloe Vera
Rating: 9.0
Sultry ChaiSultry Chai
Rating: 8.9
Export CitrusExport Citrus
Rating: 8.1
Ranga Blackcurrant and Apple CiderRanga Blackcurrant and Apple Cider
Rating: 8.3
Gourmet Hot ChocolateGourmet Hot Chocolate
Rating: 10.0
Old Mout BoysenciderOld Mout Boysencider
Rating: 9.2
Blueberry White TeaBlueberry White Tea
Rating: 7.3
Diet Snapple - Raspberry TeaDiet Snapple - Raspberry Tea
Rating: 8.9

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of kylene

Review by: kylene (Kylene)
Dated: 29th of March, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10

I am not a coffee or tea drinker myself so this is my caffeine treat! I personally drink as I like the flavor rather than consuming for the purpose of it giving me an energy boost. I am type 1 Diabetic so this beverage is perfect and has no effect on my blood glucose levels.

I'm not sure it gives me any boost of energy and more often than not I drink it just to enjoy the taste and usually I find I've drunk it a lot quicker than other drinks. Its the sort of taste I go back for more and more then suddenly its finished. For some it is known as a bit of a distinctive almost tangy type taste that isn't enjoyable but I myself really like it.

You can purchase it in the 250ml Can, 350ml Glass Bottle, 500ml Can or 750ml Plastic Bottle. I usually purchase it in the 350ml Glass Bottle or 250 ml Can as I think it tends to taste better this way. The 750ml bottle I have found tastes different, think its to do with being in the plastic bottle; for some reason I don't find it as enjoyable when buying it this way.

Often I will purchase the x4 250ml cans from the supermarket as this works out a cheaper way to purchase than buying individually. Also some dairies and service stations often do a deal with the 350ml glass bottles which is often 2 for $6.

I can consume it straight off the shelf however I find it much more enjoyable if drunk once it has been chilled in the fridge for a while. This is 100% a drink you don't want to let get warm in the sun it becomes very unpleasant and goes flat rather quickly!

Click here to read the profile of kelly21

Review by: kelly21 (Kelly)
Dated: 23rd of January, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10

As someone who doesn't drink coffee occasionally I will turn to energy drinks to get an extra boost if I am feeling like I need one. Also being conscious of how much sugar I am putting into my body (my husband is diabetic so have learnt a lot recently about sugar levels in foods) I always opt for a sugar free drink variety. Luckily for me and other people who are also watching their sugar intake V has a sugar free version.

I haven't had the full sugar version so I am unable to compare the flavour to it but I do think that the sugar free V flavour is a bit of an acquired taste. It isn't a flavour I enjoy all that much, but then when I do have a can I find that I keep going back for more and before I know it, it's all gone! I'm not sure how to describe the flavour - but I certainly don't think I would class it as "citrus" as in the blurb for this product.

The sugar free V drink is available in a variety of sizes. It is also available in a range of vessel types - cans (I think there are 2 sizes), a plastic bottle and a glass bottle. I do admit that I tend to buy the glass bottles, although I can't give you my reason for this! I guess it's like coke - it always seems nicer when out of glass! I do however try to buy just the small can. Surely drinking a lot of this product can't be good, so I do try to limit it. It can be a bit pricey so usually look out for the 2 for $ specials that come up in petrol stations and shops as it makes them quite a bit cheaper.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 1st of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10

I was very surprised at this drink. I have tried many sugar-free energy drinks, as I occasionally will grow concerned at the volume of sugar that I ingest in my drinks. But the sugar-free 'Lift Plus' and 'Red Bull' energy drinks were horrendous. But I soldiered on and tried the sugar-free 'V'. It was pretty good.

While it lacked the full punch that the original 'V' drink held, it still tasted nice. It was palatable and it delivered an energy buzz, without all the sugar that I was oh so concerned about. This was both good and poor timing for me, as the store that I bought my drinks from, stopped selling them; So the stock that was left I got really cheap, but inevitably they ran out and they stopped stocking it.

I will still buy it occasionally if a shop has a "2 for..." deal, at which point I will buy one ordinary and one sugar-free, but my consumption has drastically dropped as it no longer became convenient for me to buy. As with the rest of the range, it came in a variety of containers and sizes, ranging from 250mL up to 710mL, in tin, plastic, and glass.

Click here to read the profile of raeofsunshine

Review by: raeofsunshine (Raewyn)
Dated: 4th of September, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10

For someone who doesn't drink coffee or tea, I allow myself a can of V most days as my little caffeine treat. I've only recently started drinking this daily again - warning, it is addictive! I prefer the taste to any other energy drinks I've tried, and I prefer sugar free as I'd rather not take in extra calories in my drinks.

A can of V is a perfect size for an afternoon pick me up, and I definitely notice that it does give me a bit of a lift in energy which lasts until well after I get home from work. However it doesn't seem to interfere with my sleeping at all.

I happily give my daily V a miss on weekends - proving it's more of a habitual addiction rather than a physical one. We all have our little vices - I'm happy that this is mine!

I pick these up on special at the supermarket, for a much better value for money treat - they are not that cheap to buy singly at dairies and so on. I cannot liken the taste to a known food - they really do have a unique taste of their own - one which I found took a couple of tries to acquire, but now I love! So if you've tried it and aren't sure - give it a go again.... you might find you like it this time!

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 3rd of January, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10

I love the taste of energy drinks. That super fizzy fruity flavour and the taste of the guarana. I drink energy drinks only occasionally because the caffeine does give me a good buzz. I once drank 3 in one afternoon and was awake for almost two days as a result. Not too clever, but great for those World Record attempts or last minute assignments.

I went on a health kick a while back and switched all my drinks to sugar-free. While I love the taste of V, I did find the sugar-free to be quite a bit more bitter the first couple of times I drank it. Eventually my taste buds reset themselves and I got use to the artificial sweetener flavour. For those who always drink sugar free this wouldn't be an issue. Its also good for those who have to watch their sugar intake, so they can still have the treat of guarana without the danger of a diabetic coma.

The can colour appeals to me in silver a lot more than the green. I love that there are multiple volume options to choose from. And if you go to the supermarket for your stash, you can buy multi-packs as well. This is a great alternative for the sober drinker, or can be mixed with vodka for a fun cocktail Great night club fuel! Just remember to enjoy responsibly.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 23rd of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.0/10
Taste:
Score 4 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 4 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 6 out of 10

I have to admit I could possibly be known as a V addict! I don't believe it gives me more energy, in fact I don't feel much of a difference in my energy levels at all I drink it merely to quench my thirst. I think it states on the can that it contains about the same amount of caffeine as the average cup of coffee and in all honesty I probably drink far too many of those too so I am probably immune to any caffeine effects.

I recently decided to go on a diet and had to admit I consumed far too much sugar having two sugar's in each coffee anywhere from 8-10 cups a day and then 2 can's of original V also. So the first thing to go was the sugar. V sugar free appealed to me because I could still have a V and not feel so guilty about the sugar content. However one sip and I can tell you I wasn't sold. It tastes nothing the same as the original and although sweet in it's own way it doesn't have the same sherbetty ting.

I probably wouldn't buy another can of the sugar free variety again in all honesty because it is just not my cup of tea but on a really hot summers day I could be convinced to give it another go for the refreshment factor. It could also be a nice accompaniment to a bit of a vodka.

Click here to read the profile of mrskbrown

Review by: mrskbrown (Kylie)
Dated: 25th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10

I love my energy drinks and I love the taste of sugar free V. I find it lighter and less syrup tasting than ordinary Green V.

It is great as a pick me up for the mid-morning/mid-afternoon, and I usually drink one energy drink per day - most commonly sugar free V.

Price wise it is mid-high range for energy drinks with a 350ml bottle selling for $4-4.50 and a smaller can for $2.80-3, but I consider that the taste is worth it.

It also contains a lot less calories than the Green V - which as someone who is watching their weight, I really appreciated.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 8th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 7 out of 10

I am addicted to V energy drinks. I used to drink around 3 small cans a day, sometimes more. The average cost for a 250ml can is around $2.80, quite expensive really for such a small can.
As to the taste, I have to perfectly honest, I prefer V green, its my ultimate favorite. V sugarless to me is much the same just in a silver can. Smile Icon
As for an energy buzz, I do not really feel it does anything different for me. Its just something to quench the thirst, I do not feel anymore alert, aware or better able to concentrate after drinking.
I would definitely recommend following the recommendations on the cans as far as how much you should consume, as I have found to much can cause stomach cramps and racing heart Sad Icon

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 8th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 5 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10

I hate to say it but i am a sugar free V junkie! I find that it gives me that mid afternoon boost i am after. I'm a mum of two who studies full-time and works part time so energy is something that unfortunately comes in the form of caffeine. This doesn't have the same taste as the original V taste, but for me having no sugar seems to suit my lifestyle better.

I really like the small cans, they are a handy size to have in the fridge and they give you that boost without needing to drink 1/2 a litre (surely that cannot be good for you!) The downfall is the cost, its not a cheap habit to form, but it is a hard one to break - watch out V is addictive!

Click here to read the profile of flappers02

Review by: flappers02 (Brad)
Dated: 16th of November, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 2.8/10
Taste:
Score 1 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 1 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 1 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10

I am a energy drink junky and have at least one if not two every day , normally a green V . So when i saw a sugar free energy drink i thought best i give it a go it might even be good for me . Well it tasted so bad , buy it again no way , value for money due to the taste not worth spending my hard earned money on . But the appeal was great (before i tasted it) as it was very well marketed in a great looking can, sugar free and from a great company , as i really rate the green bottled V . So in summary the sugar free V off the shopping list and straight back to the trusty green bottle .

Click here to read the profile of angel7801

Review by: angel7801 (Janine)
Dated: 18th of May, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 3.3/10
Taste:
Score 3 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 2 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 3 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 5 out of 10

Sadly I didnt like this product give me the real v any day. I didnt like the taste. The packaging is great the price is great but it just isnt my thing. It is a great product for people who are addicted to v and are trying to wean themselves off it or for people who are trying to watch there sugar intake.

Click here to read the profile of wheeled thing

Review by: wheeled thing (David)
Dated: 26th of May, 2004

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 2.0/10
Taste:
Score 2 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 1 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 2 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 3 out of 10

Now, I've tried to get into these Guarana based energy boosting drinks, and so far no luck. They either leave me feeling lethargic (the opposite effect, I'm sure), or the taste of either the Guarana or something else in the drink leaves me feeling nauseous.

Sadly, the latter was the case with this particular drink.

I opened the bottle to a healthy fizzing sound as the seal was broken, pity it seemed to be all noise. Altho it was cold, the liquid that touched my tongue was far from fizzy. There was plenty of what I am assuming was citrus flavouring, but that did little to hide a decidedly bitter back-taste, presumably from the Guarana. With my second mouthful, I had the strangest feeling of having maybe stumbled on some form of liquid sherbet. My tongue tingled and the feeling carried down my throat as the fluid made its way down. VERY peculiar.

Needless to say, I really don't think I'll be bothering with this beverage again.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Beverages'...

Score: 9.1
Product reviews for listing 3560: SodaStream - Xstream Energy -  Brand / Manufactured by: SodaStream

Product image for SodaStream - Xstream EnergyMaking carbonated water and soft drinks is so simple. Turn tap water into sparkling water in 3 seconds! Enjoy the convenience of home soda and protect the environment. No heavy bottles to carry, store at home or throw away. Fizz to your taste with our delicious syrups. Add the flavour of your choice and make your favourite drink. Simple to clean and reuse. With the latest designs it will also look great in your kitchen. So... do you still do ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Did you ever notice that when you blow in a dog's face, he gets mad at you, but when you take him on a car ride, he sticks his head out the window?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream