Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Friday 20th September 2019 - 13:23:01

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Health Supplements > Kids Smart - Omega-3 Fish Oil Burstlets - Trio review

« Space Gum reviewSpace GumStart Right Workbooks - Year 4 reviewStart Right Workbooks - Year 4 »

Score: 8.6/10  [15 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 1957 - Kids Smart - Omega-3 Fish Oil Burstlets - Trio
Brand: Bioglan

Kids Smart - Omega-3 Fish Oil Burstlets - Trio
Price:
$25.00
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Wilson CP

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at quality retailers

Kids Smart - Omega-3 Fish Oil Burstlets - Trio product reviews

Bioglan Kids Smart Trio contains 3 different, deliciously wild fruit flavours, all in one pack. Great for kids who love exploring new flavours, or families with kids who have different taste favourites - Bioglan Kids Smart Trio keeps everyone happy!

Experiment and explore which flavours you like best.

Choose from three delicious fruit flavours, combine different flavours to make combos, or enjoy a different flavour for each day of the week.

Box contains 6 blister-packs, each containing 10 caplets. There are 2 blister-packs of each flavour: Orange, Strawberry, Blackcurrant. Total of 60 caplets per box.

Check out Wilson CP onlineClick here to see all the listings for Wilson CP Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
omega-3   fish oil   fruit   orange   strawberry   blackcurrant
Other listings you may be interested in:
Kids Smart - Omega-3 Fish Oil BurstletsKids Smart - Omega-3 Fish Oil Burstlets
Rating: 8.3
Sweet Thai SauceSweet Thai Sauce
Rating: 8.2
Nuttz Cinnamon CashewsNuttz Cinnamon Cashews
Rating: 8.7
Tegel Take Outs Golden Crumb Chicken SchnitzelTegel Take Outs Golden Crumb Chicken Schnitzel
Rating: 9.3
Just Noodles - Japanese TeriyakiJust Noodles - Japanese Teriyaki
Rating: 9.0
Freya's Sandwich ThinsFreya's Sandwich Thins
Rating: 8.4
Dad's Pies - Chicken and Basil PestoDad's Pies - Chicken and Basil Pesto
Rating: 8.7
Pasta mia Tomato, Bacon & Red Wine SaucePasta mia Tomato, Bacon & Red Wine Sauce
Rating: 8.6
Classic Scone MixClassic Scone Mix
Rating: 10.0
Popped Gourmet Popcorn - Caramel CrunchyPopped Gourmet Popcorn - Caramel Crunchy
Rating: 9.4
Texas BBQ Pork BellyTexas BBQ Pork Belly
Rating: 8.2
Chilli, Lime and Coriander VinegarChilli, Lime and Coriander Vinegar
Rating: 7.6
Yatai Japanese IzakayaYatai Japanese Izakaya
Rating: 9.0

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of jojosweets

Review by: jojosweets (Jo)
Dated: 19th of December, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Cost:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10

I purchased Kids Smart Omega 3 Fish Oil Trio approximately 3 months ago for my son who was about to turn five and start school. I noticed he was very forgetful throughout the day, he was tired, grumpy and seemed to lack an appetite. He also suffered from very dry skin. He has always been a picky eater and I thought that Omega 3 Fish Oil might help give him the nutrients he was missing out on.

When I first opened them I was a bit concerned that they looked like lollies but after explaining to him that he could only have one a day at breakfast time and why, my mind was soon put at ease. He loved the taste of them but more so the Orange and Strawberry than the Blackcurrant.

After about a week I noticed his skin wasn't as dry, he was generally a much brighter, less grumpy kid (which was great). He also seemed to be learning things a lot quicker and remembering a lot more, almost like his mind was clear. It was like he had 'brain fog' and the Fish Oil had helped rid him of it. I can honestly say that they have helped him in a big way and when he misses a couple of days I certainly notice the difference.

The only semi-negative thing is the price, which at $25- $30 depending where you shop, can seem expensive. If I didn't see such effective results from master five taking them I probably wouldn't buy them but I feel the benefits outweigh the cost. I know all kids are different but would recommend them to parents who have children that are missing something in their diet or just need a general boost.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 5th of November, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Cost:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10

With my daughter (aged 2) having quite a few different allergies and being several different medications due to this, I thought it was worth trying her on some vitamin tablets and also some omega-3 fish oil, just to help with any vitamins and goodness that she may be missing out on due to having quite a strict diet when her skin flares up.

Searching through the shelves and reading the back of many different Omega-3 fish oil tablets, I decided upon the Bioglan Kids Smart Trio, mainly because I liked the fact that they were in a variety of different flavours and colours which I thought may make taking these each morning more exciting for her, not that she needed any encouragement as she was quick to call them her "breakfast lollies" which was rather a good thing as it meant she was sure to remind me if she hadn't had one after breakfast each time that id forget about them.

With my daughter's allergies she always ends up having to take quite a lot of anti-histamines which tend to make her drowsy and tired, and also can cause her moods and behaviour to be quite up and down. Funnily enough since about 3 weeks of taking these caplets religiously each morning I saw drastic change in her behaviour and believe it or not her skin was looking a lot clearer and healthier also. I decided to do a bit of research in regards to this and saw that omega-3 is really important for a child's brain and memory and can help with their behaviour and also with there skin.

With 60 caplets in a box, I don't find the price to be to bad especially if it can help my daughter then i'm willing to pay whatever, at the pharmacy they tend to be around the $30 mark but if buying online they seem to be more like $25, which is worth it if you can get free shipping. The pack contains 6 blister packs, 2 of each of the 3 flavours orange, strawberry and blackcurrant. I like the fact that they are packaged this way rather than in a bottle as means they stay fresh longer and also that you can't spill them or there's not so much risk of them getting damaged by a water spill etc.

Miss 2 loves the strawberry flavour the best, but I prefer the orange. We have brought these several times now, but at the moment we tend to buy which ever we see on special, but would be more than willing to buy these again if they are what we see on special on the day.

Click here to read the profile of emahlyn

Review by: emahlyn (Emma)
Dated: 25th of November, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Cost:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10

My son has autism and sensory processing disorder. He was completely non verbal and his behaviour could also be very extreme. Upon doing some research online I learned about the benefits of Omega 3, and the affects it had had on children with similar problems to my son. I thought it was worth a try so went and brought a liquid form of Omega 3 for kids. There was no way I could get him to take it, it tasted horrible and he only had it once and never again. I thought we were going to have to skip right over the Omega 3 idea until I saw Kids Smart - Omega-3 Fish Oil Burstlets at my local pharmacy.

My son loves these, he thinks they are a "treat" due to the fun colourful packing. He loves the flavour and likes to choose which flavour (or colour) he has each day. My son doesn't eat much, especially of things that are actually "good" for him so it has been amazing watching him get excited about eating something that I know is beneficial for him too.

I have noticed an amazing improvement in my son since he has been taking Kids Smart - Omega-3 Fish Oil Burstlets. He has been taking them for about 7 months now and along with early intervention he is now talking, is much calmer and I attribute a lot of that to the help the Omega 3 gives his brain.

I would recommend these for all children, they are so beneficial.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 17th of May, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Cost:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10

With three children of varying ages, and different tastes, I was excited to find the Kids Smart Fish Oil Trio at our local pharmacy. The price was a little more than what I would normally wish to spend on fish oil, but I had read so much on the benefits and as they came in a pack with 3 colors/flavors I really wanted to try them out on my lot.

My middle child suffers from memory issues, and struggles on a daily basis so I was extremely keen to see if these would aid with his memory, like fish oil claims.

Ok so 60 caplets in a box for around $25 - $30 depending on where purchased is not bad. Sure you can get plain fish oil caps (100 caps for $19.99) which is great for adults, but for kids... nowhere near as exciting as the Kids Smart ones. My children could not wait to get started, which was fantastic, as most kids would prefer to stay away from medicines and pills and the like.

The orange and strawberry ones are so yummy (yes I tried them), the blackcurrant are ok but a little strong. The kids prefer the orange and the strawberry, and these were the first to go in the box.

After a month we noticed some changes with our children, whether these are a direct result of the fish-oil is hard to say though, however:

Master 10 has his oil daily and I admit he seems a much more relaxed and approachable child but if he doesnt take his for a couple days then by the end of the 2nd day he is a grumpy little toe rag, dont know if this is a result of the fish oil but def worth noting i thought.

Miss 4 has hers every second day and seems to spend a little longer with any tasks she approaches.

And master 9, also takes his daily and most definitely there has been an improvement in his memory. We are not losing so many socks at school and he is remembering to bring home his school bag and lunch box which is fantastic.

The only downside i could see (and not a major really): With these they actually began requesting their fish oil with their brekkie. Given this could possibly be a downfall, as it could mean some children may search for them, and take more than they really should. The exciting colors and flavors could also mean younger children could mistake them for lollies.

Click here to read the profile of keanit

Review by: keanit (Mara)
Dated: 27th of June, 2009

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Cost:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10

I started my daughter on these at age 18mths (under close supervison due to the capsule) and she loved them! All flavours have been a hit with her. Value for money. Since sampling these I will continue to purchase them as she now requests them everyday. Fantastic product.

Click here to read the profile of rena

Review by: rena (Serena)
Dated: 18th of March, 2009

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Cost:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 7 out of 10

My son loves consuming his daily omega 3, I believe he thinks its a treat. Being able to now get three different flavours in the same pack is a real bonus and he enjoys every one.

Click here to read the profile of megan

Review by: megan (Megan)
Dated: 30th of January, 2009

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Cost:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 6 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10

These are very appealing to my 3 and a half year old son. He started to demand to have his 2 fish a day! The 3 different flavors are fantastic good variety to mix it up each day. I have seen a small improvement in my sons behavior and will be continuing him on the fish caplets. He enjoyed the shape and the 'pop' he got when he chewed on them. A great way to keep up your child's brain activity.

Click here to read the profile of tanyarubay

Review by: tanyarubay (Tanya)
Dated: 21st of December, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Cost:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10

My grandson who is 6 has been trialling the fish oil and I would highly recommend it. He is a very hyperactive child and is classed as being slightly autistic. His mother seems to believe the product as made certain changes in him.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 20th of December, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Cost:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10

After the great results we saw when we had our eldest son on the Forest Fruits variety we were expecting a continuation of the improvements in his behaviour, attention span and general overall health. Sure enough, the effects were consistent and positive. However, the flavours were completely unexpected. Favoured amongst the kids was the Blackcurrent, with Strawberry rating the lowest as 'too fake and sweet'. However, personally I didn't like any of them much... they all gave me distinct 'oily' aftertaste that I found unpleasant. Thankfully, the kids, the target market, didn't care in the least. Both our boys happily gobble any of them available.

Packed in blisterpacks, these are easier to keep track of and monitor usage, which is an important factor if your kids treat them like lollies. However, though the blister pack help maintain their softness and chewiness, I found that this made them particularly prone to splitting when you try to free them from the pack. A real catch-22 on the production front I can imagine... too dry and tough if bottled, too soft and easily popped if blisterpacked... Simple answer: Deal with it. Both options have their pros and cons and it's up to the consumer to figure out which works best for them.

Quantity is better, at the full 60 meaning 2 per day for an average month... however with the 50-pack costing 40c per burstlet, these cost a little more at nearly 42c each. It adds up over time. To help stretch the pennies a little further, we started a policy of one 'generic el-cheapo' caplet in the mornings and one BioGlan caplet at night before teeth-brushing. Thiis means that a healthy dose of Omega-3 a day costs us around 50c instead of nearly a dollar a day.

Overall, not as pleasing as the original flavours, but variety sure has helped the kids get into them in a big way, hopfully setting long-term good diet habits that will see them through life.

Click here to read the profile of gilz

Review by: gilz (Gillian)
Dated: 16th of December, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Cost:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 6 out of 10

I found these are very well packaged, colourful and the blister packs are very convenient and easy to use. Having 60 in a box is convenient too, they last at least a month.

The flavours are yummy, my favourite being the blackcurrant, followed by the orange. The strawberry is a bit sweet. I love the chewiness of the capsule, although they leave an aftertaste in your mouth, think it may be artificial sweetner as I have tasted it before.

My preschoolers initial reaction was 'yummy lollies', then he bit into it and didnt like the oil drizzling out of them, think he would prefer a harder 'lolly' type. Thats why I rated low for the effectiveness as I cant get him to eat them. My 11 year old loves the flavour of them, but wont chew the capsule part, he spits it out, At least he will drink the oil.

Click here to read the profile of cursed_kiwi

Review by: cursed_kiwi (Kirsty)
Dated: 2nd of December, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Cost:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10

What more could you ask for, a product that gives kids the essential omega3 vitamins and is great tasting and can be used as a treat because they just cant get enough. Not all the flavours are as appealing as others, we found the orange to be quite strong and a bit artificial tasting. There probably is also a bit too much packaging for this age where we are supposed to be looking out for the environment. But all and all a great kid friendly product.

Click here to read the profile of tmaly

Review by: tmaly (Tania)
Dated: 21st of November, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Cost:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 5 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 5 out of 10

I have reviewed this brand of fish oil caplets before and so this review is really about the improvements.
I thought that the packaging is great, the box is funny, bright and attractive. The blister packs are such a great idea for several reasons. The caplets stay fresher and arent so chewy after having been open for a while like when they were in the bottle. I also like the blister pack because it is much easier to keep track of how many have been taken and lessens the likelihood of the children taking them when Im not looking.
However....about the flavours. Out of five children, I now have one who wont eat any, one who eats all and any of them, and three who have preferences. Only one child will eat the purple or blackcurrent flavour. The reason being, with the blackcurrent, is the fishy taste is just too strong. The orange is extremely sweet, a little too sweet I would say, and the strawberry is definately the winner in the flavour stakes.
I still think that these caplets are good value for money but I would definitely like to see more improvement on the flavours. Something a little less artificial tasting and more like a natural fruit flavour maybe.

Click here to read the profile of razzamajaz

Review by: razzamajaz (Jasmine)
Dated: 28th of October, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Cost:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10

After reviewing the last Kids Smart Oil burstlets I was pleased to see they have made some improvements. Firstly the packaging is attractive and more user friendly. The blister pack keep the burstlets fresher and good for travelling. The capsules I see are made out of potato starch as apposed to gelatin. They seem slightly softer which is an issue I had with the last ones being too hard. The different flavours are great - my daughter can't wait to choose her fish for the day. Interestingly enough she always wants the orange which I think is the most artificial flavoured one - but it is so brightly coloured and sweet - perhaps thats the attraction? I liked the blackcurrant best - most realistic flavour and not too sweet. Strawberry was still a wee bit fishy tasting but I liked the softer colour capsule. My only concerns are that perhaps the packaging might encourage interest in other medicines e.g. panadol, strepsils that look similar and the use of artificial sweetners? Otherwise a fantastic product - my daughter does not eat dairy so I will definately try the Calcium ones as well.

Click here to read the profile of bronnie

Review by: bronnie (Bronwyn)
Dated: 23rd of October, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Cost:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10

All the flavours smell and have realisitic colourings to match the appropriate flavours, however I feel that the burstlets were very sweet and I wonder if the Omega-3 is naturally sweet or if an artificial sweetner has been used?

I was attracted to this product as it has a full months worth of product, and that it is in a handy blister pack that is perfect for travellers and it also keeps the product fresher.

I found the blackcurrent flavour the best. It hid any trace of a fishy taste.

The orange flavour did taste orange however the sweetness overrode the flavour quite a bit. In saying that it overrode the fishy taste too.

The strawberry flavour was the flavour I did not like. I found it very fake, sweet and fishy. There was only a tinge of strawberry taste.

I'm not sure if it's the shape, colour, or flavour that atrracts my daughter to them, however she asks for her fishys many times a day, so they are now hidden as she goes looking for them!

Click here to read the profile of diogenes

Review by: diogenes (Rob)
Dated: 17th of October, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Cost:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10

Bioglan have released a pack of flavoured fish oils with different flavours in each pack and so it only seems reasonable to list each flavour separately for the purpose of this review.

From reading the pack, I can assume that Tuna oil has been used for the fish oil (having higher DHA and lower EPA). Having worked with tuna oil, I can safely say it is difficult to work with and getting the taste right would have occupied the formulators for some time. And to some extent, they have done their job well. The tuna flavour is not overwhelming, but is still there.

One thing that did seem to glare out from the packaging was no statements about artificial colours, sweeteners or flavours. More and more people are steering away from synthetic in favour of natural or nature identical ingredients. I can only assume that artificial sweeteners and colours were used (and pretty evident by the intensity of the colours) - though the flavours are harder to judge.

It is nice to see the use of blister packing, which gives a better overall impression of the product

Strawberry flavour It was unfortunate that the first capsule I popped happened to be a leaky capsule. However, I should state leaky capsules are the exception rather than the norm and normally these would have been picked up and removed during sorting prior to blister packing.

However, notwithstanding this aberration, the rest of the capsules were fine. The smell of the capsule suggests some flavours have been used in the capsule too. The strawberry flavour was pronounced but not overwhelming. I was surprised the strawberry flavour hid the taste of the tuna as well as it did.

Blackcurrant Flavour in my opinion was the best flavour of the three. The taste was distinctly blackcurrant and masked the taste of the fish oil well. The length of taste was good and the sweetness was nicely balanced by a little acidity and nicely complemented by the dark colour of the capsule. Whether the capsule had some flavour (Vanillin?) was hard to judge but the overall effect is good and I know my daughter will finish this flavour off before the others.

Orange Flavour The brightness of the shell doesn't so much announce that it is an orange flavour - but screams it at the consumer. And probably too much when one looks at the softness of the pink used for the strawberry. However, the flavour is a good strong orange flavour, balanced well with sweetness and acidity that doesn't give that overly pronounce bitter after-taste that can occur if too much orange is used.

Overall, Bioglan have done a fine job of what they set out to do, and I know it is not easy to do this. So over-all, I commend them in their efforts to produce a great product that kids will enjoy.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.6
Product reviews for listing 377: Super Summer Spud Salad -  Created by The Phantom Gerbil

Product image for Super Summer Spud SaladTake a dozen small (about 4-6cm diameter) Gourmet Potatoes, wash and brush them, but do NOT peel them. (All the good stuff is in the skins.) Cut them into cubes about 1-1.5cm. Boil them gently in lightly-salted water until tender, but not squishy. You don't want a mashed salad.

While the spuds boil, grab some rashers of bacon, or if you don't have any handy (like me) use 3 or 4 slices of Ham & Chicken Luncheon, or shaved ham even. ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"We know what the speed of light is, but what is the speed of darkness?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream