Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 23rd April 2019 - 14:34:54

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Health Supplements > Kids Smart - Omega-3 Fish Oil Burstlets review

« Bio Serum therapeutic skin oil reviewBio Serum therapeutic skin oilInto the Wild reviewInto the Wild »

Score: 8.3/10  [16 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 1857 - Kids Smart - Omega-3 Fish Oil Burstlets
Brand: Bioglan

Kids Smart - Omega-3 Fish Oil Burstlets
Price:
$19.95
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Wilson CP

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers

Kids Smart - Omega-3 Fish Oil Burstlets product reviews

Bioglan Kids Smart Omega-3 Fish Oil is specifically formulated to give children vital Omega-3 Fish Oil nutrients.

Encapsulated in fun, chewable fish-shaped burstlets, this formulation tastes great, with it's forest fruit flavour.

A deficiency of Omega-3 fatty acids may cause problems with learning, memory, vision and behaviour.

This blend of Omega-3 Fish oil may promote healthy brain function in some children and can help improve reading, spelling and behaviour in some children. It may also help improve attention and self-control.

For best results, use Bioglan Kids Smart Omega-3 Fish Oil as a part of your child's daily diet.

Check out Wilson CP onlineClick here to see all the listings for Wilson CP Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
omega-3   fish oil   fruit
Other listings you may be interested in:
Nando's - KapitiNando's - Kapiti
Rating: 8.8
Kids Smart - Omega-3 Fish Oil Burstlets - TrioKids Smart - Omega-3 Fish Oil Burstlets - Trio
Rating: 8.6
The Lot pizzaThe Lot pizza
Rating: 8.6
Classic Scone MixClassic Scone Mix
Rating: 10.0
Hell Pizza - Palmerston NorthHell Pizza - Palmerston North
Rating: 8.5
ViBERi Soft-dried Organic BlackcurrantsViBERi Soft-dried Organic Blackcurrants
Rating: 9.0
Chop Chop! Chicken - Shredded with ChilliChop Chop! Chicken - Shredded with Chilli
Rating: 9.4
Oxford Steak & Cheese pieOxford Steak & Cheese pie
Rating: 9.0
In-Salt - Rosemary and LemonIn-Salt - Rosemary and Lemon
Rating: 8.5
L'Authentique Confit Chicken LegL'Authentique Confit Chicken Leg
Rating: 9.3
Del SaucissonDel Saucisson
Rating: 9.3
Leena Spices - Rogan Josh MasalaLeena Spices - Rogan Josh Masala
Rating: 7.9
Hell Chicken TendersHell Chicken Tenders
Rating: 9.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 30th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Cost:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10

I am an avid believer of using fish oil to help with brain development and concentration. I have a child with both ADHD and developmental delays coupled with learning problems, so I try to find things I think may be beneficial in helping make his life easier.

I am always looking into all the variants of fish oil available on the market, especially ones aimed at children. Let's face it, fish oil is absolutely awful. It does not smell nice and it most definitely does not taste very nice at all. All of my children have gagged at some point when I have given them some form of fish oil. And I do not blame them really.

Bioglan Omega 3 Fish Oil promises to give your children all the benefits of fish oil, but in a nice little chewable capsule with a forest fruit flavour that is supposed to help hide the terribly nasty fish oil taste and smell. Sounds promising enough. Unfortunately my kids did not like them :( more unfortunately because the bottle cost some $20 they had to take it anyway as I did not want the money wasted lol Seems they preferred the taste of straight fish oil verses a mix of fish and forest berry :(

Click here to read the profile of vivid

Review by: vivid (Matt)
Dated: 29th of September, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Cost:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10

Not 100% sure how to assess effectivness in a 5 month old baby, but I can say that now that he is starting on (semi) solids this stuff is great. He took to it fairly quickly when a drop was rubbed on his lips at night. He got to sucking it off his lips which stopped him crying and helped settle him, and now it is proving itself a great way to get mashed banana into him.
Recipe: Take 1/2 a decent banana, mash it to a pulp with a fork, adding the contents of a 'fish' as you go, mix well. Apply in small doses to the gullet of said sprog with a baby teaspoon. When plain banana was tried, he would grizzle and spit it out again. "Doesnt taste right, dont want it." type facial attitude. But when the mixed version was tried, lots of smiles and coo's and most importantly, gumming and swallowing!
All in all, it seems to be a hit with kids of all ages, from what I have read here and seen for myself, and even babies like it. With the health benefit assurances we are being bombarded with all over the place, its gotta be good for you, right? But I join the others who claim that it's hardly berry, its hardly forest fruits. Its orange flavoured plain and simple.

Click here to read the profile of tmaly

Review by: tmaly (Tania)
Dated: 11th of September, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Cost:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10

I have tried recently to get cod liver oil into my children. After much wretching, gagging and complaining I deemed the attempt 'extremely unsuccessful!'
However with these fish oil 'chewable burstlets', as they are so imaginatively called, I have had no trouble what so ever. In fact I have five children lining up at the pantry door saying "can't we have just one more" (well the 20 month old just smacks his lips in a fish noise) everyday.
In agreement with most other people I would say they taste more like orange than berry... but hey, nobody's complaining because the taste must be good if kids will eat it and come back for more.

I must say I feel quite skeptical about letting the children swallow the capsules. They do dissolve in my mouth after a while but feel a little too plastic'y for my liking. And after reading the label I would like to know exactly what 'encapsulating aids' consist of.

The children and I like the bottle, it is quite humerous with the goggly eyed berry looking fish. I don't know if they can overdose on this oil but if so maybe a child safe lid would be great. I'm sure my kids have sneaked a few extra when I'm not looking!

I'd definately pay this price to get the extra omega-3 into my family.

Hard to rate the effectiveness as of yet. We are definately in a healthy state at the moment which could very well be because of these supplements.

Click here to read the profile of kaiser

Review by: kaiser (Kylie)
Dated: 10th of September, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.0/10
Cost:
Score 6 out of 10
Portions:
Score 6 out of 10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 6 out of 10

At first my 3 year old was not fussed on them, but after a couple of days, she was insisting she have one! Now she demands her 'fishes' daily. She finds it relatively hard to chew through the outer casing, so uses the alternative option of twisting off the tail. I tried them myself and also found it a little 'tough' to chew though. The flavour is fine, but I couldn't quite taste the 'forest fruit' flavour, more like orange to me! The shape of burstlets are fun, and I'm sure is the main attraction to my daughter. Price-wise, I think it is a reasonable price to pay for the quantity you get. Regarding the effectiveness, I'll need to wait and see. All in all though, it is a great way of getting the omega 3 into the kids.

Click here to read the profile of razzamajaz

Review by: razzamajaz (Jasmine)
Dated: 8th of September, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Cost:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 7 out of 10

I have a very hyperactive 19 month old who doesn't sleep well and is forever picking up bugs at day care. I have been using these capsules and although she doesn't seem to be fighting off bugs any better - she is settling into a better routine of sleep. I am concerned however that she had a vomiting bug and many days worth of the capsules appeared in her vomit and had not been dissolved in her stomach. She loves having them and they have a great flavour but I have switched to squeezing the liquid out now instead of letting her eat the whole capsule. The cases are also quite hard for her to chew. This is a worry! Fish shape is great - no trouble getting them down. Every morning she asks for her fish!

Click here to read the profile of bronnie

Review by: bronnie (Bronwyn)
Dated: 17th of August, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Cost:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10

These Fish oil burstlets look appealing in the fish shape. My daughter loves to have her "fish intake". However the outer capsule is rather chewy and she ends up spitting it out.

I found the capsule to be very rubbery whenI ate it, however it quickly softened and became something nice to chew. We both like the taste of the capsule, however they aren't exactly "forest fruit" flavour, more like a very very sweet orange.
I definately agree there should be a full months supply per box, that would be the main reason for me to buy it.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 3rd of August, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Cost:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10

After reading the review by 'chantz' I thought I would try this on my little 9 week old baby, who has been 'bunged up' for a while now. 3 days ago I started administering a quarter of a 'fish' 4 times a day, and today, with a big -grunt- and a satisfied, relaxed -ahh- afterwards, he unloaded 8 days worth of fecal 'build-up' in one big, disgusting session.

He seems to really enjoy the taste. When he was having trouble getting to sleep one night, I put a drop on his lower lip to test. He sucked at it for a bit, then started doing the whole 'baby bird' act, hunting around for more. Since then, 4 times a day when he's due to go down for a nap, he gets a dose... with spectacular results.

The fish was a bit hard to deal with. Twisting off it's tail can indeed be a messy business if you have slippery fingers, so I figured "Why no use nature's scissors...' and simply bit the tail off. This has proved quite effective, and gives me a little dose as well. Wink Icon

Overall, I agree with 'Testbot'... 50 is a suitable quantity for the littlest kids, but older kids need more, so larger quantities would be a good idea. At $20 for 50 'fish', you are paying around 40c per capsule. 60 should then cost around $24.00... maybe a little less once you have taken into account that the bottle can easily hold the extra 10 capsules, and there won't be much extra for shipping. $22.00 would be an acceptable price that I would happily pay for the extra 5 days to round out the full month. After all, I have an 8 year old who also thinks these are just great... however we all agree, there's nothing 'berry' about them, it's all 'orange' here too!

Click here to read the profile of testbot

Review by: testbot (Marcus)
Dated: 31st of July, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Cost:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10

I have a 12 week old baby who is a fussy sleeper and demands constant attention. When I am typing on the computer and my partner is away I often have the little one in the bouncer by my desk and I rock it with my foot while I chat. This usually ends up with the sprog fast asleep within minutes but sometimes its just impossible to get snores. I have started to use a pacifier to give the little one something to suck on when "mum" isn't around to offer "comfort suckles" but the little one just doesnt like the taste of bare rubber. The doc suggested I use something like paracare since it had a pleasant raspberry flavour but I am not happy about giving the baby medication when its not required for medical matters so I thought I would try squeezing a few drops from these onto the dummy before I popped it into the tiny mouth. Sure enough it worked great. The flavour is welcomed and enjoyed and I feel good because I am giving the baby something fairly natural and healthy right from the start. I did find it a bit tough to twist the tail off without squirting goo out so be careful about that approach but the bub loves it so its worth an occasional sticky fingertip or two. 50 in the bottle is plenty for my needs at this stage but I agree that for older kids who need 2 a day 60 would be a better quantity. After trying one myself I have to agree its more of an "orange" than a "berry" but I dont really care myself. A bit misleading but still really tasty and more pleasant than the "adult" capsule I take which taste very much like fish. (blah)

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 28th of July, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Cost:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10

Now my kids seem to dislike anything that is even remotely good for them, so it was with some trepidation that I gave these to them to try, and it was the mixed response that probably surprised me the most. My oldest didn't care much for the taste, but my youngest (who probably ranks with the pickiest children around) loved the taste, so much so in fact that I had to make sure he couldn't reach the storage area so he wouldn't down the lot in one hit.

Whilst these are chewable my kids didn't like that aspect, however you do have an alternative in taking off the lid type attachment and squeezing directly into the child's mouth (which works much better for us).

In the interest of science and because I'm also highly curious I tried one myself and I admit I found to to be very sweet in flavour, so don't expect all kids to like it.

On the effectiveness note I haven't noticed any change in the one child of ours who will take it yet, but I have spoke to others who are giving their child this and it does seem to be effective for them.

Click here to read the profile of tamara_c

Review by: tamara_c (Tamara)
Dated: 25th of July, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Cost:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 5 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10

These are so yummy and my son had no trouble having them. The little caplet broke off easy enough and we just squirt the liquid in his mouth and he thoroughly enjoyed them, even thinking they were little treats :) The only thing I didn't like was the amount you got in a pack seemed a bit odd that it wasn't really a complete months supply.

Click here to read the profile of mythoughts

Review by: mythoughts (Kathryn)
Dated: 25th of July, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Cost:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 7 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10

My three year old daughter was very excited by the fish shape and wanted one straight away. Had no problem taking these and asks for one every morning. Excellent way to get Omega 3 into little ones. As for the effectiveness only time will tell! Would suggest a kiddy proof cap on these, even when kept out of childrens' reach since they do appear to be like lollies and not sure what effect an overdose may cause.

Click here to read the profile of kitcat

Review by: kitcat (Cath)
Dated: 24th of July, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Cost:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10

My son ate one but has since refused. He is 3 years and says the outside is too chewy. However I have taken to squirting the oil onto his food or into a drink and he never notices. This is also how I have given it to my 6 month old son. I hope that as the eldest one gets older and starts eating chewier foods and lollies he may eat the whole thing again. Personally I found them very easy to eat and a great alternative to swallowing whole a horse-sized tablet.

Click here to read the profile of chantz

Review by: chantz (Chantelle)
Dated: 21st of July, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Cost:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10

My 7 month old loves these, which is great. The taste makes him eat it very easily, although I just squirt it into his mouth.
He was constipated, to a very painful level, and since taking one tablet per day (or most days), his bowel has become much better and he doesn't scream in agony anymore. So it makes me a lot happier knowing he's not in pain.

I have heard that Omega 3 helps brain development as well, which can't hurt, but if your baby is constipated I suggest you give these a go. It tends to soften the whole lot, not just make the last part easier, once the sore part is done.

Click here to read the profile of alex mccarthy

Review by: alex mccarthy (Alex)
Dated: 9th of July, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Cost:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 7 out of 10

My 17mth old daughter eats them happily and asks for more so I guess she likes the taste. She did spit the capsule skin out once.
I think they taste nice but wouldn't say they were very 'forest fruit' flavoured. Much better tasting than I feared though. What is 'forest fruit' anyway? Why not just 'Blackberry flavoured' or whatever. The fish illustrations alude to berries, is that forest fruit?
I thought the colour of the capsule could be less dirty/natural looking, but not too artifical either, just to make it look more appealing, why not purple to represent the 'forest fruit' berry flavour.
I like the ability to twist the tail off to put into a drink or whatever.
Packaging is attractive and informative, although a bit repetative with the benefits.
We do not eat a lot of fish so this is definitely a product we would buy.

Click here to read the profile of mum21bub

Review by: mum21bub (Jessica)
Dated: 7th of July, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Cost:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 7 out of 10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10

A great way to hide the fact that its healthy and has vital nutrients in it, as most kids these days won't eat or take anything that has the words "it's good for you" in it.

A good size burstlet that can be chewed and swallowed with out making a fuss over how big it is.

The flavour inside the burstlet is far from fruits of the forest. The very strong taste of orange or vitamin c takes over everything. There maybe a hint of berry in the after taste that lingers on the back of your tongue.

We found the outer shell was VERY chewy and hard to swallow, 4 from 6 kids spat out the shell and wouldn't eat it but loved the sweet insides instead.

We have called the burstlets "Brainy fish pills", The kids think that by taking the burstlets once a day they are going to help become brainy, Hehe (great incentive).

Overall the product is designed for children so I asked them what they thought and they have said they think the packaging is cool with fish on it as it means it has fish in them. One said that the fish should have glasses on and be reading a book! (so the fish look brainy).
Suggestion: To change the flavour to orange as they dont taste like berries, and to make the outer shell softer so it's easyer to chew and swallow.

Click here to read the profile of diogenes

Review by: diogenes (Rob)
Dated: 3rd of July, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Cost:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10

Kids Smart is riding on the current trend for children wanting great tasting fish oils - and to this end, Bioglan have succeeded.
Each capsule contains a high DHA fish oil - and this should be emphasised because it is not the industry standard 18/12 (18% EPA, 12% DHA) - thickened, sweetened and flavoured in a soft-chewable gelatin capsule.
The oil has a great taste, but far from what I would call "Forest Fruit", because the formulator was a little heavy handed with the sweet orange oil - because that is the over-riding taste, with perhaps a little after taste of forest berries. The fish oil paste is not overpoweringly sweet, but sweet enough to help mask the taste of the fish oil.

The gelatin shell has a good texture, and far softer than the traditional gelatin capsule. The natural colour give the capsule a welcome change from the usual artificial colours.

All in all, the product succeeds in the popular children's market. The only minor comment I would have to make is the pack size - 50 capsules (or 25 days) supply seems an odd amount. Maybe a slightly larger pack of 60s would not make a huge difference in price, but would appeal more to parents who tend to like buying a month's supply at a time. However, having a product that is high in DHA makes it worthwhile, because DHA is essential for the child's growing brain.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.4
Product reviews for listing 7222: Raglan Coconut Yoghurt - Blackcurrant and Heilala Vanilla -  Brand / Manufacturer Raglan Coconut Yoghurt

Product image for Raglan Coconut Yoghurt - Blackcurrant and Heilala VanillaPure coconut goodness, handmade with love in Raglan!

Paleo and dairy-free friendly, with lots of probiotics for happy, healthy tummies.

    •  Dairy-free
    •  Lactose-free
    •  ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why do the Alphabet song and Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star have the same tune?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream