Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 27th January 2020 - 19:22:56

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Children Stuff > Breast and Bottle Feeding > Closer to Nature bottles review

« Freedom Breast Pump reviewFreedom Breast PumpCloser to Nature compact milk powder dispensers reviewCloser to Nature compact milk powder dispensers »

Score: 8.9/10  [17 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 1850 - Closer to Nature bottles
Brand / Manufacturer : Tommee Tippee

Closer to Nature bottles
Price:
$12.99
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Jackel (NZ)

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected retailers

Closer to Nature bottles product reviews

The Closer to Nature bottle & teat have been designed to mimic the natural flex, feel & movement of mother's breast, making it easier to combine breastfeeding and bottle feeding.

The unique shape allows the bottle to be held closer into the body therefore allowing dads to enjoy a closeness with baby during feeding normally reserved for breastfeeding mums.

The 150ml size bottle has also been designed for smaller expressed breast milk feeds.

Suitable from birth. Comes with Closer to Nature slow flow teat.

Check out Jackel (NZ) onlineClick here to see all the listings for Jackel (NZ) Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
bottle   closer to nature   express   formula
Other listings you may be interested in:
Freedom Breast PumpFreedom Breast Pump
Rating: 7.8
Closer to Nature compact milk powder dispensersCloser to Nature compact milk powder dispensers
Rating: 7.5
Closer to Nature Microwave SteriliserCloser to Nature Microwave Steriliser
Rating: 8.0
Elite Cruiser FrontpackElite Cruiser Frontpack
Rating: 9.1
Elite Frontier BackpackElite Frontier Backpack
Rating: 9.4
MaDzMaDz
Rating: 9.0
Evenflo SymphonyEvenflo Symphony
Rating: 10.0
Avent Baby Bottle 260mlsAvent Baby Bottle 260mls
Rating: 8.6
Dinkee CupsDinkee Cups
Rating: 8.8
Urban Jungle child buggyUrban Jungle child buggy
Rating: 10.0
D-Link DCS-825L Wi-Fi Baby CameraD-Link DCS-825L Wi-Fi Baby Camera
Rating: 10.0
Angelcare Sound & Movement Monitor ACS401Angelcare Sound & Movement Monitor ACS401

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of v.ingram

Review by: v.ingram (Vicki)
Dated: 10th of August, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Features:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

We are on second time round with Closer to Nature bottles. We first used them with our daughter 3 years ago from when she was 3 weeks old. We found them to be a fantastic product, she went from breast to bottle with no issues and once she went on to formula we loved the convenience of the formula containers which sit inside the bottle. Once we stopped sterilizing her bottles we started putting them in the dishwasher which did eventually lead to the numbers on the side wearing off, but this was to be expected and by the time it happened she had moved on to cows milk and we didn't need accurate measurements anyway.

Fast forward to a few months ago when we had our son, we invested in some new closer to nature bottles seeing how we loved them so much the first time. This time round we have found the teats to be hopeless! Again we have had no issues with going from breast to bottle with the shape of the teat but we have had lots of trouble with the teats sucking in on themselves. We have tried all the tricks google can give us to no avail. We have tried changing to the next size up & are still having the same issue. Not sure what has changed from 3 years ago but we are looking at moving to an alternative brand.

50/50 success rate here

Click here to read the profile of belltbronwyn

Review by: belltbronwyn (Bronwyn)
Dated: 13th of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Features:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I first came across this range when I was pregnant 7yrs ago and I planned to use the WHOLE range, however my pregnancy resulted in a miscarriage so that never happened. It was naturally my choice when I fell pregnant with my daughter. We sadly didn't agree on bottles to start with, I wanted these and her father wanted Avent (being from England and them being made in England). We decided after this to get a variety of bottles to try out and for our daughter to pick what she wanted.

Our first time using these bottles was when she was 3 days old, she took to them naturally and was able to also be breastfeed with no confusion, we were so lucky. From here we got many other accessories, bottle warmers, pump, milk and powder storage pots.

At first it took some use the shape of them but over time they felt more natural to hold, my daughter never had any problems feeding from them or progressing to holding them herself. We are still using these now at almost 3yrs. We also have the adaptors to use them with the new Miomee Teats. I liked that it was somewhat close in shape to a breast too.

Definately one I would recommend if someone was wanting to either fully bottle feed, mix feed or even breastfeed with expressed milk. May pay to note these are no longer under the name/brand of Tommee Tippee/Jackel but Sangenic now.

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 13th of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Features:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I was fully breast feeding my youngest when I was told I needed surgery and advised to get him to take a bottle so that he wouldn't get any of the anaesthetic into his system so I was on the hunt for some bottles. These looked like it could work and I could express for a few days before the surgery and have some in the freezer so thought that it would be wonderful.

Lucky I decided to try the bottles before the surgery as my little monster wouldn't touch the bottle, it was expressed breast milk but he would just lie there and watch me. I got some advise and told my hubby that he had to give the monster the bottle as he might not take it from me but that had the same result. Lucky when I told the anaesthetist that I was having troubles, he said that they would use the drugs that is used for a c-section and my monster would be fine.

I did keep the bottles for a while in case I needed them or was in a lot of pain after surgery but the monster is stubborn and I ended up passing them along to another mum.

Even though I had problems with my son taking to the bottles I would recommend them to others as they are shaped a lot like a breast and offer so much more than just a bottle.

Click here to read the profile of kiwigirl04

Review by: kiwigirl04 (Sharlene)
Dated: 14th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Features:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

As a mum I believe these were the best items I brought for my son (second born). He was breast fed till 4mths until he got really sick and wouldnt latch on, he would scream we tried a bottle I had in the house for my daughter and he wouldn't take to it. I went down the road and brought the closer to nature bottles because i was pulled in by the its like a breast and he drunk and didnt stop.

I found these bottles the best, they helped my child feed while sick and he actually went back to breast afterwards. We kept the bottle around and he went fully onto bottle and weaned himself at 13 months which worked nice for me.

I fully recommend these bottles for those that mix feed their babies.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 14th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Features:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have used these bottles with my baby from 4 weeks. He didn't take to breastfeeding straight away so we started combining bottle feeding with breastfeeding. These bottles where great as the unique shaped teets made it easy to swap back and forward between the two as the shape somewhat mimics that of a nipple.

I also liked the fact that you could get a range of teet flows so that as baby grows I can change the teet size so that the milk flows faster for him.

The teet also features an anti colic valve which is great at reducing the amount of wind baby gets when feeding from this bottle.

Another feature that makes these bottles desirable is that they have a wide neck so it makes cleaning the bottles a breeze although I have noticed that over time the measurement guide on the outside of the bottle has began to scratch off.

I would highly recommend these bottles to all new mums who are wishing to bottle feed or mix feed.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 9th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Features:
Score 7 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

As a mixed breast and expressed breast milk bottle fed baby, we found these fantastic bottles, and are a huge fan of the Closer to Nature Range.

This was the first and only brand our second daughter has ever used, and she took to it easily from the first time we introduced it - which was awesome - no faffing around trying to get a bottle she liked.

I like that there are options in this range also - in the teat size/flow, and the bottle size as well.

As they are BPA free, they are a fantastic choice for our family - and I highly recommend them.

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 26th of August, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Features:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I am not yet a mum but an early childhood teacher who works with children aged from 6weeks old (and i also have several nieces and nephews who i play a big part in their lives), these bottles would definitely be my number 1 pick for any baby/mother and i will definitely use them when the time comes myself. Every single baby I've looked after in the past few years who has been breast fed has taken to these bottles with ease and has continued to feed both with the bottle and breast without any confusion.

My niece has been formula fed since 2weeks old and this was definitely the best bottle for her and provided mum with a bit of sanity as she didnt get as much wind with the special anti-colic teat. As some of the other reviews stated sometimes she would suck the teat of bottle in but i found that when this was happening it was simply because the teat wasn't in the ring of the bottle properly if that makes sense. Only annoying thing is that when you buy a new bottle it always comes with the smallest teat so then you have to buy a two pack of teats as well and end up with heaps of small teats you don't use or need.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 21st of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Features:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I went back to work full time when my eldest daughter was only six months old. When she was about four months old I started to train her to drink from a bottle in preparation for having to have the bottle for most of her feeds. I really struggled to find a bottle that she was willing to drink from. A friend gave me a Closer to Nature bottle. My baby happily drank from it and never had another type of bottle again. I found that the bottle worked well in conjunction with breast feeding.

The bottle felt so natural in my hand because of the special shape. My daughter was also able to hold it herself from a young age which meant she could control the flow and take a break when she wanted. It was great how the little formula cannisters could be stored inside each bottle which made it so handy when out or when leaving my baby with someone else.

I did find that the smaller bottle was only used for a short time and soon had to move to the larger size. I would have saved a lot of money if I had just bought the larger size to start with. I did buy the lids so I could use the small bottles for storing baby food and snacks for my toddler.

It was a shame that all the bottles came with a newborn teat. This meant that every time we lost a bottle we not only had to buy a new bottle but new teats as well and ended up with lots of newborn teats that had never been used.

I am so pleased to have found the Closer to Nature bottles for my baby as I had worried that she would never take a bottle. I had been feeling guilty about having to return to work any trying to bottle train her adding to the stress. The Closer to Nature bottles really helped us.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 11th of March, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Features:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I used this bottle originally with my 1st child. It was the first one I grabbed off the shelf and I never looked back.
My son was able to adapt so quickly to it and we never had any issues with it.
When my 2nd child came along we went right back to this bottle, there was no doubt in our minds that it was the best, and it was such good bang for your buck as we only needed to replace the teats from when my son had used them. The bottles themselves are so sturdy that there was no need for them to be replaced.
This is the bottle that I will recommend to anyone who asks which bottle is best.

Click here to read the profile of angelrose07

Review by: angelrose07 (Maria)
Dated: 25th of August, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Features:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I used this brand of bottle for my second daughter and it is definitely the best one on the market, I never had any problems with it as it is was it says, its the closest thing to breast feeding.
These bottles are easy to clean and the smaller ones are great to take on the go. If I do end up having another child, I would definitely use this particular brand and style again. I would and have recommended this bottle to others.

Click here to read the profile of nzgeekgirl

Review by: nzgeekgirl (Genevieve)
Dated: 5th of June, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Features:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I am a very big fan of the Tommee Tippee Closer to Nature range. My first child was exclusively bottlefed and this was by far and away the best bottle of several brands she tried.

The anti-colic valve really made a difference and she easily took to this bottle. It was easy to clean and excellent value for money, particularly given we were then able to use them for our second child.

Our second was breastfed but as he was early and had a few early difficulties we did have to top him up with formula. He took to these bottles well and back to the breast with no issues or confusion at all.

They are now also BPA free which is just another big reason for me to always recommend these as first choice to mums.

Click here to read the profile of karen33

Review by: karen33 (Karen)
Dated: 27th of February, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Features:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I had to breast and bottle feed my son when he was born because he was premature and didn't cope very well with breast feeding exclusively. I was given one of these bottles by another mum in the Neo Natal Unit and I am so thankful! I ended up going and buying another 2 because I was so happy with how he coped with them and how, because of the features (teat etc), we were able to mix feed until he was 15 months old! I would definitely recommend these to any mum!

Click here to read the profile of shadz

Review by: shadz (Debbe)
Dated: 1st of October, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Features:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

When my son wasn't gaining weight like he was supposed to, we decided to start doing top up feeds of formula but didn't want him to get too used to the bottle either.
The 'closer to nature' bottle enabled us to give him a bottle when it was needed but was close enough to being breastfed that he didn't seem to notice the difference. Plus it was nice for my partner to be able to feed him, and me to have a break, knowing that breastfeeding wasn't being compromised.
I didn't notice the anti colic valve as making too much of a difference as my son tends to release the teat on his own at regular intervals.
All in all, it's a bottle I would trust either part time or full time.

Click here to read the profile of tigerlilynz

Review by: tigerlilynz (Mellissa)
Dated: 3rd of September, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Features:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

this bottle is great for breast feeding and formula. this was the only bottle my baby would take and it didnt make her all colicy!
easy to clean and found that the cap when on the run doesnt come lose over time.
would recommend any new mum to use this bottle

Click here to read the profile of craftmadhermit

Review by: craftmadhermit (Tess)
Dated: 1st of August, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Features:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

With wanting others to occasionally join in with feeding my newborn son, expressing and therefore the occasional bottle-feeding, were to become a semi-regular occurance. Add to that my son's reflux which meant taking Gaviscon mixed with water by bottle... and there was definite need to try and find a decent bottle. Except for one small problem, the "Closer to Nature" bottles turned out to be a pretty darn good choice. The "anti-colic" valve didn't seem to make any difference, and I still found I quite regularly had to stop him from drinking so the teat could "unsquish" and allow air back into the bottle. Other than this, it's a comfortable bottle to hold, easy to wash, holds up well in the freezer to store expressed milk, and my son had no problems in drinking from it, so obviously comfortable to drink from as well (I wasn't going to go THAT far and test that part myself :-P). Being pretty cheap for a decent sturdy bottle, it's most likely that I'll be sticking to this brand of bottle from now on.

Click here to read the profile of chantz

Review by: chantz (Chantelle)
Dated: 14th of July, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Features:
Score 7 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

The teat on the bottle is good, with the shaping of the breast. At the start of feeding I found that little or no air was going back in to the bottle, so the teat was bending and pushing in, not allowing milk flow. The bottle is also quite large for a baby to hold by themselves. But after a minute, the flow was good and baby was able to suck well on the teat.

Click here to read the profile of mum21bub

Review by: mum21bub (Jessica)
Dated: 4th of July, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Features:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

A wonderfull product, As it has an anti-colic valve on the side of the teat, which reduces the risks of wind trouble.
It's easy for baby to hold themselves, and has an easy latch-on naturally-shaped teat.
Easy to assemble and clean.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Children Stuff'...

Score: 8.8
Product reviews for listing 4586: Dinkee Cups
Brand / Manufacturer : Sistema

Product image for Dinkee Cups250 ml capacity training cup
Designed and Made in New Zealand using BPA free plastics.
Microwave, Freezer, and Dishwasher (top rack) Safe

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"It ain't the parts of the Bible that I can't understand that bother me, it is the parts that I do understand."
Mark Twain

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream