Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 21st May 2019 - 15:18:10

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Rice > Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Pilau Rice review

« Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Special Fried Rice reviewUncle BenUncle Ben's Express Rice : Tomato and Basil Rice reviewUncle Ben »

Score: 8.5/10  [6 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 1700 - Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Pilau Rice
Brand: Uncle Ben's

Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Pilau Rice
Price:
$2.80 +/-
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Mars (NZ)

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at supermarkets

Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Pilau Rice product reviews

Cooked long grain rice with aromatic spices, cumin seeds and fennel seeds.

Uncle Ben's Express rice takes just 2 minutes in a microwave, or around 3 minutes in a saucepan.

Gently steamed in a microwave-safe pouch for maximum freshness and flavour. Easy to open, quick to cook, great tasting and no washing up afterwards!

Available in a range of flavours.

Check out Mars (NZ) onlineClick here to see all the listings for Mars (NZ) Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
meal   microwave   rice   snack   uncle ben
Other listings you may be interested in:
Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Mushroom RiceUncle Ben's Express Rice : Mushroom Rice
Rating: 9.1
Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Long Grain RiceUncle Ben's Express Rice : Long Grain Rice
Rating: 9.1
Delites Sea Salt & Balsamic VinegarDelites Sea Salt & Balsamic Vinegar
Rating: 8.4
Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Basmati RiceUncle Ben's Express Rice : Basmati Rice
Rating: 8.9
Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Special Fried RiceUncle Ben's Express Rice : Special Fried Rice
Rating: 9.0
Jewel of India : Lamb Kebab KormaJewel of India : Lamb Kebab Korma
Rating: 8.5
Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Tomato and Basil RiceUncle Ben's Express Rice : Tomato and Basil Rice
Rating: 8.6
Fisherman's TableFisherman's Table
Rating: 7.5
Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Golden VegetableUncle Ben's Express Rice : Golden Vegetable
Rating: 8.8
Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Vegetable Pilau RiceUncle Ben's Express Rice : Vegetable Pilau Rice
Rating: 9.5
Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Savoury Chicken FlavourUncle Ben's Express Rice : Savoury Chicken Flavour
Rating: 9.0
Rufus Teague - Touch o' Heat sauceRufus Teague - Touch o' Heat sauce
Rating: 9.8
Hot-Shots TLC Cookies - Chocolate MinionsHot-Shots TLC Cookies - Chocolate Minions
Rating: 8.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 9th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I got the Uncle Ben's Express Rice in Pilau flavour a little while ago. I really love these convenient packs of rice. They are so quick and easy to put together. I add some type of meat to it (usually chicken or fish) and it makes for a really hearty lunch time meal. It's also cheaper than getting takeaways.

This flavour was very spicy. The spices in it definitely came through loud and clear. My tongue feels hot just thinking about it. I paired this with a tin of tomato and basil fish which helped neutralise the spicy hit somewhat.

I have bought this one since my first try. Its not my most favourite, but it's great for a change of pace and when I'm feeling like something a bit more spicy to warm me through. I'd love this with butter chicken or to have some naan bread close by as well.

Due to the spiciness, I couldn't serve this to my family. They love things to be bland when it comes to rice. Never mind - all the more for me.

Click here to read the profile of dnwhakar

Review by: dnwhakar (Danielle)
Dated: 15th of April, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I served this rice with some homemade butter chicken.

Preperation, as usual, was extremely simple and quick. The smell of the rice was quite strong; the spices definitely came through. Visually, the rice looked very appealing. Tastewise, I found the taste of the rice quite strong, but I did like it. I think it would go really well as a side dish as a few other reviewers have demonstrated in their reviews, as opposed to a base for curries, etc as I used it for. This is because the flavour of the rice is strong enough that it should be consumed on it's own and not with other strongly flavoured foods.

Again, a great product.

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 15th of February, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I found this offering to be on par with the Vegetable Pilau Rice (without the vegies obviously Wink Icon) I felt the spices were of perfect proportioning and were most definitely in no way overwhelming at all.

I served this offering up with a nicely bar-b-qued steak and some fresh salad and it was absolutely perfect.

Another winner from Uncle Ben's.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 13th of February, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Though I do enjoy Indian food, I have somewhat lost the taste in rescent years, swing back toward Italian preferences a lot. However, in the name of experimentation, I was keen to give this flavour a try, especially as I had no idea what exactly 'Pilau' was... when it came to Indian food I had previously ventured little beyond curry and naan bread!

After buzzing this through the nukebox for the required 2 minutes, while I prepared a couple of chicken cutlets to go with it, it was time to serve... as I tore off the top of the bag, the smells reached my nose, took a firm grasp of my smell receptors and yelled "Wake up and pay attention... it's YUM time, boyo!" and that had me starting to drool already, though I was a little worried because the smell was quite strong, and I was worried the rice was going to demand dominance...

Firstly, I piled the rice on the plate, topped it with the 2 cutlets crossed, a handful of green salad on the side, a quick garnish of thin carrot sticks drizzled with a mild soy sauce vinegrette... time to snarf!

The rice was excellent! Full of flavour, but without that overpowering strength I got from first impressions of smell. It had that distinct Indian spice mix that really tells you that you are eating good food well prepared. The rice grains fell apart easily, refusing to clump or clog up, which was a great indication of the low free starch content, not to mention a massive boon for the food preparer. No more spending time breaking up riceblobs while the rest of the food overcooks or goes cold.

Overall, another great addition to the Uncle Ben's Express Rice range, and one well worth trying if you enjoy Indian cuisine.

Click here to read the profile of goldfishstar

Review by: goldfishstar (Natalie)
Dated: 1st of February, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Friday morning, 6.30am, grab the easiest thing in the cupboard for lunch...
This time it was the Pilau rice, and I was away and off to work.

Lunchtime came, and into the microwave went my rice, zapping it for the required time...
Out of the microwave came the packet and an enticing smell of subtle Indian flavours. I didn't have time to grab anything extra to put in it this morning, but am sure it would work just as well with any Indian curry as it did on its own.
The rice was light, the flavour was nice but not overpowering, there were clearly visible spices in the mix (although not too big!) and there was plenty to fill me up for the rest of the day.

Another good offering Thumbs Up

Click here to read the profile of mandaz79

Review by: mandaz79 (Amanda)
Dated: 29th of January, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

This fluffy tasty rice is a great rice to have with Butter Chicken (or similar meal)
Very fast and easy to prepare. Nicer than just plain rice.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.6
Product reviews for listing 4398: Apple and Cinnamon Hotcakes -  Manufactured by Marcel's

Product image for Apple and Cinnamon HotcakesMarcel's Apple and Cinnamon Hotcakes.

At Marcel's we know that only superior quality sets us apart from our competitors.

Therefore we produce our pancake products in accordance to the highest standards of quality, food safety and hygiene.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Who was the first person to look at a cow and say, 'I think I'll squeeze these pink dangly things here, and drink whatever comes out?'"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream