Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Friday 18th October 2019 - 19:15:31

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Cereal/Muesli products > Muffin Bakes - Choc Fudge review

« TUMONZ Module : 2003 Colour Aerial Photos reviewTUMONZ Module : 2003 Colour Aerial PhotosMuffin Bakes - Apple and Bran reviewMuffin Bakes - Apple and Bran »

Score: 6.1/10  [6 reviews]
2 out of 5
ProdID: 170 - Muffin Bakes - Choc Fudge
Produced by Tasti

Muffin Bakes - Choc Fudge
Price:
$2.69
Available:
currently

Muffin Bakes - Choc Fudge product reviews

Tasti Choc Fudge Muffin Bakes are a delicious eat-anywhere snack that combines a soft chocolate muffin cake with a gooey choc fudge centre and chunks of choc chips.



Tags:
-none-
Other listings you may be interested in:
Hellers Sticky Ginger Beef SausagesHellers Sticky Ginger Beef Sausages
Rating: 9.7
Chop Chop! Chicken - Sweet ChilliChop Chop! Chicken - Sweet Chilli
Rating: 9.0
Writing FudgeWriting Fudge
Rating: 9.2
Mac Snack - Golden RoastedMac Snack - Golden Roasted
Rating: 8.3
Farrah's Wraps - Garden SpinachFarrah's Wraps - Garden Spinach
Rating: 9.3
Eureka Premium Popcorn - Original Sea SaltEureka Premium Popcorn - Original Sea Salt
Rating: 8.3
Alexandra's Quinoa - White Bean & CranberryAlexandra's Quinoa - White Bean & Cranberry
Rating: 8.9
Rendezvous Restaurant & BarRendezvous Restaurant & Bar
Rating: 9.3
RJ's Mixed Bullets - RaspberryRJ's Mixed Bullets - Raspberry
Rating: 8.8
Marcels Sweet CrepesMarcels Sweet Crepes
Rating: 8.8
Arnotts Mint Slice Value PackArnotts Mint Slice Value Pack
Rating: 9.6
Piako Gourmet Yoghurt - Mixed BerryPiako Gourmet Yoghurt - Mixed Berry
Rating: 9.2
Box OfficeBox Office
Rating: 9.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 28th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 4 out of 10

I love Muffin Bakes but had always avoided buying the choc fugdge ones. Not because I did not want too, but because I figured that my kids would just eat them all in one go and at nearly $4.00 a box at our local supermarket, I could not justify them being eaten in one go. But all (supposedly) good things must be taste tested at some point.

So I bought them (when they were on special). Like most muesli bar typre products, the boxes show exactly what you are buying, have easy to open perforated tops or are glued so you just slide a knife or finger under and along and the lid lifts, and then closes as per normal. These were no exception to the norm. The bar packaging much the same as everything else. There is not really a lot you can do with snack food packages that has not already been done.

Now I must point out, that upon first opening the bar, they are soft, chocolatey looking and definitely chocolatey smelling...they seemed liked a little bar of perfection. But they werent Sad Icon I was so dissapointed. I found they tasted rather odd, I'm not sure what I expected, but I expected better than they were. They kinda had an odd texture to them, sorta I don't even know how to explain, mildly rubbery perhaps?? They are packed full of flavour but unfortunately as chocolatey as they are they taste weird to me.

I wont buy them again, even my children did not like them, but everybody has different taste buds, so even though we werre not impressed, does not mean you wont be! Smile Icon

Click here to read the profile of flabbergastered

Review by: flabbergastered (Karyn)
Dated: 1st of January, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 2.8/10
Taste:
Score 2 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 5 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 3 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 1 out of 10

So disappointed Sad Icon I was super excited to buy these and maybe that was the problem...I think I may have expected something way better than what was actually produced in real life. While at the supermarket looking for a tasty snack bar I saw these on the shelf and I LOVE muffins so having a bar made of muffins I was in heaven!! and choc fudge how could this decision go bad??

Anyways so I get through the checkout etc and packing the car I spotted the Muffin Bakes - Choc Fudge bars in the bag and grab them out to try one on the drive home. One bite into the bar I was straight away disappointed!! It was a dense muffin mix, I was expecting a lighter and fluffier muffin mix, and where was the fudge?? I honestly wondered if I had bought a dud box of Muffin Bakes - Choc Fudge bars.

On closer inspection though there was a faint hint of a strip of the fudge gooey stuff running through the middle of the bar, but it was like it had integrated itself into the chocolate muffin mix. I finished the bar as I was always taught not to waste food and it wasn't terrible it was just disappointing.

I didn't eat another bar from the box and thought they would be eaten by my nieces when they came to stay but even they didn't like the Muffin Bakes - Choc Fudge and that is saying something.

I wouldn't recommend these to other people...sorry.

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 25th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 4.8/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 4 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 4 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 4 out of 10

Recently while completing the weekly groceries i noticed these on the shelf (possibly they were on special haha) and memories of eating them when i was a child came flooding back so i brought a box on this fact alone. However i must admit i was quite gutted as somewhere along the lines they have definately changed the recipes.

While the bar was still quite "chocolately" it was almost slimey in texture (kinda like a muffin that has to much oil in it?), the gooey fudge centre is kind of just part of the bar, almost like its melted into the middle of the bar or something. I will note they were certainly not horrible and i continued to finish the box but i definately wont be buying again in the near future! Perhaps it was just my memory serving me wrong?!

Since then i have walked past these several times and i really want to buy them as i expect a nice fluffly, light muffin bar with yummy gooey chocolate that is in the middle but comes away as you eat it, but this is definately not what i got Sad Icon Wouldnt recommend these to others sorry

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 7th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 7 out of 10

I tried these recently. Though I have been a convert to the Muffin Bake bars for a while (Apple and Bran as well as the Carrot cake flavour), I hadn't tried the chocolate ones. So I decided to give them a go.

I should start by saying that I'm not a huge chocolate fan. I do enjoy it from time to time, but it's not my first choice when it comes to cakes, biscuits or muffins. However, my daughter is totally chocolate mad. So I figured that these might be a hit with her.

When I opened the first bar, the smell of chocolate did make me feel pretty hungry.The bar itself is light and spongy, but not so spongy that it would crumble in your fingers. The bar itself is light spongy with a slight chewiness. I missed the fruit filling of my favourite bars. The fudge filling was nice, but a quite sweet to me. My daughter enjoyed the chocolate flavour a lot.

I dont think I would purchase these bars for myself at all. But it would be hard to say I'd never buy these again. My kid enjoyed them and there are very few bars like these that she likes. She doesn't do rolled oats, seeds, and some dried fruits. These were definitely a hit with her.

Click here to read the profile of angel7801

Review by: angel7801 (Janine)
Dated: 18th of May, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 7 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 3 out of 10

Great lunch box treat. Great product for those times when you just want a wee naughty snack. Great price. Would like them to be bigger but dont we all?. Great for the kids lunches too. Great tasting just like a muffin with that great muffin texture but in a bar. I'd definitely buy them again. Great chocolatey taste.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 18th of March, 2004

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 8 out of 10

As part of a taste-based experiment into alternative snackfoods for those late hours, when I don't want anything too filling, I was trying the range of these Muffin Bake bars.

I found the Choc Fudge bars a little too sweet, and a bit overwhelming. Since I am not a chocoholic (most of the time) I didn't find these too appealing. However, to choc-fiends, these would be nectar of the gods, for sure!

The texture of the muffin and filling were quite nice, with a strong choc rush to be had. Chewy enough to require some jaw action, but not too soft and fall-apart either. A very nice medium-ground was found.

The box was a little hard to see on the shelf, stacked amongst all the other very similarly-coloured boxes out there. (What is with the marketing people? They all seem to be thinking the same. Must be something in the water.)

Overall, though these would not be top of the list of snacks for me, I wouldn't ignore them either. For those times I do want a choco fix, these would rate fairly highly actually.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.7
Product reviews for listing 7266: Sealord Tuna Express - Thai Red Curry -  Brand : Sealord

Product image for Sealord Tuna Express - Thai Red CurrySimple and easy Thai Red Curry. An authentic blend of sweet peppers, bamboo shoots, coriander, chilli and flaky tuna. It's real food, fast.

Ingredients:
Coconut Milk (29%), Tuna (25%), Red Peppers (10%), Onion (7%), Bamboo Shoot (5%), Green Peppers (5%), Water, Red Chilli (3%), Coriander (2%), Red Curry Paste (1.5%), Garlic, Ginger, Thickeners (1442, 412), Vegetable Broth, Salt, Sugar, Fish ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Politics is not a bad profession. If you succeed there are many rewards, if you disgrace yourself you can always write a book."
Ronald Reagan (1911 - 2004)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream