Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 17th September 2019 - 14:49:15

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Rice > Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Long Grain Rice review

« Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Savoury Chicken Flavour reviewUncle BenUncle Ben's Express Rice : Mushroom Rice reviewUncle Ben »

Score: 9.1/10  [6 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 1696 - Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Long Grain Rice
Brand: Uncle Ben's

Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Long Grain Rice
Price:
$2.80 +/-
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Mars (NZ)

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at supermarkets

Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Long Grain Rice product reviews

Uncle Ben's Express rice takes just 2 minutes in a microwave, or around 3 minutes in a saucepan.

Gently steamed in a microwave-safe pouch for maximum freshness and flavour. Easy to open, quick to cook, great tasting and no washing up afterwards!

Available in a range of flavours.

Check out Mars (NZ) onlineClick here to see all the listings for Mars (NZ) Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
meal   microwave   rice   snack   uncle ben
Other listings you may be interested in:
Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Mushroom RiceUncle Ben's Express Rice : Mushroom Rice
Rating: 9.1
Farrah's Wraps - Sprouted GrainFarrah's Wraps - Sprouted Grain
Rating: 9.9
VavasseurVavasseur
Rating: 9.0
Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Golden VegetableUncle Ben's Express Rice : Golden Vegetable
Rating: 8.8
Cecile's Boys & Gold MuesliCecile's Boys & Gold Muesli
Rating: 8.3
NZ Blueberries with CranberriesNZ Blueberries with Cranberries
Rating: 9.7
Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Special Fried RiceUncle Ben's Express Rice : Special Fried Rice
Rating: 9.0
Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Tomato and Basil RiceUncle Ben's Express Rice : Tomato and Basil Rice
Rating: 8.6
Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Vegetable Pilau RiceUncle Ben's Express Rice : Vegetable Pilau Rice
Rating: 9.5
Zeytin Cafe & Eaterie Zeytin Cafe & Eaterie 
Rating: 7.5
Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Savoury Chicken FlavourUncle Ben's Express Rice : Savoury Chicken Flavour
Rating: 9.0
Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Basmati RiceUncle Ben's Express Rice : Basmati Rice
Rating: 8.9
Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Pilau RiceUncle Ben's Express Rice : Pilau Rice
Rating: 8.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 18th of October, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

When it comes to cooking rice I think I must be one of the worst rice cookers out there!!! When eating out at restaurants or getting Indian takeaway the rice is always cooked to perfection light and fluffy, just the right texture not all hard and not all soft and watery so that when you put a mouthful of it into your mouth it turns to glue and your mouth gets stuck together so much so that you can no longer talk or chew. However the rice I cook at home well it's always such a horrible disaster either under cooked and hard or well and truly over cooked that it's like eating chicken mush, for these reasons I pretty much avoid cooking rice at all costs... I have to admit that I have been known in the past to go and order some plain rice and nothing else from a takeaway shop if rice has been needed as I really am that bad at cooking rice!

I was interested to see the Uncle Ben's Express rice at the supermarket one day and with it stating on the packet that I could have fresh tasting rice after putting the bag in the microwave for just 2 minutes I decided it was worth a shot, after all how could it go wrong all I had to do was place a bag of rice in a microwave and turn it on right? After putting my chicken stir-fry on to cook and with it nearly being ready I decided it was about time to put on my rice, I tore a small slot in the top of the bag and then placed it in the microwave for a few minutes, squashing it before hand to separate any rice that may have joined together during transit.

2 minutes later the microwave began beeping to tell me my rice was ready, I ripped open the bag (a little bit to fast as the steam came pouring out) and served it up on the plates alongside the chicken stir fry, the rice was perfectly cook beautifully light and fluffy just how rice should be and it actually tasted great with a very subtle flavour but not as plain as plain rice usually is. The texture was great and didn't stick together or appear to soft or soggy. It went perfectly as a side to the chicken stir fry, even my partner enjoyed it and he is rather against eating rice (probably due to my pour rice cooking skills).

With a 2 minute cooking time this is a great kitchen staple to have and I will definitely not be buying bags of rice you have to boil from scratch again, even though it's cheaper I prefer the guarantee of edible rice that the Uncle Ben's express rice gives. Such a simple side to prepare or a quick and easy meal in which you can quickly add meat and veges to.

Click here to read the profile of flabbergastered

Review by: flabbergastered (Karyn)
Dated: 31st of May, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I dislike cooking rice immensely. I have never perfected the art of cooking it and have more disasters with it than I care to mention! If it is not sticking to the bottom of the pot and burning slightly I under cook the rice or tend to over cook the rice so end up with a crunchy rice that is never nice or a rice that turns to mush!

This was on special when I bought it from the supermarket as they tend to be more expensive than rice that you boil from scratch but most times works out to be cheaper because this I never waste! The packet comes in a bright orange colour much like the rest of the Uncle Ben's range. It is a soft plastic packet and you can squeeze it and feel the rice inside.

In order to cook the rice I cut a 2 centimetre slot in the top of the packet prior to putting it in the microwave. But before I put it into the microwave I squash the whole packet in case there are any clumps of rice sticking together that would perhaps not come apart all fluffy when it comes out of the pack, ans squashing it up is pretty easy.

The pack only takes 2 minutes to cook in the microwave which is obviously a huge bonus if you're short on time. When you take the pack out all you need to do is cut the rest of the way across the top of the packet, being careful of the stream coming off the rice and presto you have perfectly cooked rice each and every time!

The rice that is in the packet is gorgeous tasting, perfectly cooked rice which is extremely yummy for plain rice. The texture to me is good, it is fluffy and loose without being soft and claggy. In some packets though the salt level seems too much , I do like salt in my food as it adds flavour but sometimes I do find the salt levels to be too much.

For a very quick fix this is a really tasty product that you can have as part of a main meal or added to something where you need a bit of rice. With it being a plain rice you can add anything you would like to it....mixed veggies, or egg etc. to turn it into a fried rice dish or just enjoy it as is and eat it naturally.

Great tasting rice, cooked in 2 mins and just so easy! so convenient and I highly recommend it to everyone that loves rice with absolutely no hassle.

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 13th of February, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

This is a brilliant all-rounder when it comes to meals, while the flavoured rices are great, you can't go past your regular long grain rice as a perfect compliment to virtually any meal, and it can be used as the basis for many varied and tasty meals as well.

The fact that it only takes 2 minutes to heat the rice means that you can have a quick and simple meal ready in as little as 3-4 minutes.

Click here to read the profile of ladyelizabeth

Review by: ladyelizabeth (Beth)
Dated: 5th of February, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

As many mothers I have and assortment of recipes and some due to the length of cooking time they sit in a drawer and collect dust or get tossed around. I was taught spanish dishes as a child and I have a fantastic sweet rice dish. More of a dessert then anything and its awesome. I usually cook the rice for twenty minutes and let it rest so it gets all fluffy the usual routine. The other day I thought lets try using this long grain rice instead of making my own. It turned out just as if I made it myself and not to mention took half the time. This flavor is my favorite because there is so much you can do with it. This is a must have for any kitchen!

Click here to read the profile of goldfishstar

Review by: goldfishstar (Natalie)
Dated: 30th of January, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

After a long day of travelling, we arrived home... hot, tired and not at all interested in cooking, so something quick and easy was definitely on the books!
I chucked some chicken and vege dumplings in the steamer, grabbed out the packet of rice and a packet of steamed veges... Hey, I work hard, you are allowed to cheat sometimes!
I followed the instructions on the back of the rice packet and popped it in the microwave for the alloted time, poured it into our bowls and topped it with the veges and dumplings. Easy peasy, and tasty too... especially with a li'l soya sauce Smile Icon

Now - the rice...
It poured out of the packet well, separated well, and didn't look gluggy, sticky or stodgy.
On tasting, it was... rice tasting Pokey Tongue Icon
It was good... wasn't sticky, starchy, gluggy, gooey, stodgy or any of those things rice shouldn't be. That is usually the problem with any pre-packaged rices I've tried in the past, but there was none of that with this lot...

Over all, it's a winner if you are wanting something quick and easy for two - I don't think it would feed many more.

Click here to read the profile of mandaz79

Review by: mandaz79 (Amanda)
Dated: 29th of January, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

very easy to prepare, a great meal for hubby who is a Police Officer. Fast to prepare and with a tin of tuna and sauce he has a very quick tasty meal.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.8
Product reviews for listing 4569: Chicken and Cranberry Chef's Best -  Produced by Dominoes

Product image for Chicken and Cranberry Chef's BestSeasoned chicken, camembert, red onion, baby spinach & mozzarella with cranberry sauce

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Do illiterate people get the full effect of Alphabet Soup?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream