Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 24th September 2019 - 03:41:05

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Rice > Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Golden Vegetable review

« Discworld : Making Money reviewDiscworld : Making MoneyInDesign CS3 for Dummies reviewInDesign CS3 for Dummies »

Score: 8.8/10  [6 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 1683 - Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Golden Vegetable
Brand: Uncle Ben's

Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Golden Vegetable
Price:
$2.80 +/-
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Mars (NZ)

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at supermarkets

Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Golden Vegetable product reviews

Cooked and seasoned long grain rice with a selection of vegetables.

Uncle Ben's Express rice takes just 2 minutes in a microwave, or around 3 minutes in a saucepan.

Gentley steamed in a microwave-safe pouch for maximum freshness and flavour. Easy to open, quick to cook, great tasting and no washing up afterwards!

Available in a range of flavours.

Check out Mars (NZ) onlineClick here to see all the listings for Mars (NZ) Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
meal   microwave   rice   snack   uncle ben
Other listings you may be interested in:
Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Pilau RiceUncle Ben's Express Rice : Pilau Rice
Rating: 8.5
Kaweka - Chilli Con CarneKaweka - Chilli Con Carne
Rating: 8.5
Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Basmati RiceUncle Ben's Express Rice : Basmati Rice
Rating: 8.9
Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Vegetable Pilau RiceUncle Ben's Express Rice : Vegetable Pilau Rice
Rating: 9.5
Pasta mia Fresh PappardellePasta mia Fresh Pappardelle
Rating: 9.4
Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Special Fried RiceUncle Ben's Express Rice : Special Fried Rice
Rating: 9.0
Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Tomato and Basil RiceUncle Ben's Express Rice : Tomato and Basil Rice
Rating: 8.6
Choc Chippies Muesli BarChoc Chippies Muesli Bar
Rating: 6.5
Fruit Bites - Apple with crispy riceFruit Bites - Apple with crispy rice
Rating: 6.8
Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Savoury Chicken FlavourUncle Ben's Express Rice : Savoury Chicken Flavour
Rating: 9.0
Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Mushroom RiceUncle Ben's Express Rice : Mushroom Rice
Rating: 9.1
Raptor Rubs - Vegetable Salt SprinkleRaptor Rubs - Vegetable Salt Sprinkle
Rating: 9.8
Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Long Grain RiceUncle Ben's Express Rice : Long Grain Rice
Rating: 9.1

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 14th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

These are not very cheap but it is a convenience food. I often have the Golden Vegetable for my lunch. Sometimes I will add some salmon, tuna or frozen vegetables to it especially is I want to feed the kids too.

I always make sure I have at least one pouch of Uncle Ben's Express Rice in the pantry for an instant meal. It is great for the days that my husband (who does all the cooking) isn't home for dinner. It is instant only 2 minutes. It doesn't require any thinking or rummaging around for extra ingredients. This is very handy when you have hungry (grumpy) children.

By itself it isn't too appealing to the eye but taste good. I do find however that it looks more colourful and tastes better when I make my additions.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 9th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

I got the Uncle Ben's Express Rice in Golden Vegetable flavour a little while ago for my work lunches. I usually have something hot for lunch, especially in Autumn and Winter. I usually mix in a tin of tuna or salmon or buy a piece of fish or chicken from the local bakery.

This flavour was not my favourite. The vegetables tasted a bit weird, almost old. And the seasoning was too light. I think of all the rice flavours in the range, this was definitely my least favourite.

I haven't bought this one again. I prefer there to be a great flavour hit with my rice snacks. Others in the range have vegetables that don't taste like these tasted and have great flavour concentration.

Click here to read the profile of dnwhakar

Review by: dnwhakar (Danielle)
Dated: 11th of March, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

As usual, so simple to prepare...in 2 minutes this was in a bowl, ready to eat. LOVE that!

I managed to get through 3/4 of the pouch before I was too full to carry on. I did add quite a bit of salt to it also, as I found it quite bland. Average amount of vegetables in the rice, could have done with a few more.

Overall I found this flavour a little uninspiring...a little on the boring side... but in saying that I think it would be a great base to add ingredients to. As others have said, it would be a great fried rice base - just add your meat, extra vegetables and sauces/seasonings.

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 9th of February, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Another rice product that is more and more making me a fan of these rice products, they are just so economical and so easy to cook that I will be making sure that there are plenty of these stocking the cupboards for whenever I have the need/urge to use them.

This the Golden Vegetable is a prime example of how versatile a food dish rice is. It compliments pretty much everything from curries to a good old fashioned Kiwi bar-b-que.


I used this one as a side dish to some grilled steaks and some pasta salad and it went down a treat, so much so that people were wanting to know if there was seconds Smile Icon.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 2nd of February, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

The more of these rice flavours I try, the more keen on rice I am becoming. I was quite taken with this flavour, though I admit that it was a little blander than others. However, far from being a bad thing, this actually makes it more versatile.

As a bed for a stir-fry or casserole it would be perfect, as the basis for a nice Chinese dish it would excel... just fry up some chicken and beef strips, maybe a bit of seafood, heat the rice through and throw it in the pan along with some sauce... delisho! But I tell ya, what I really thought this did great as, was as a filling for some Mexican burritos. I fried up some beef strips with my special family-secret spicy glaze, filled some flour tortillas with the meat, a couple of tablespoons of this rice, some tangy salsa sauce and some shredded lettuce, sliced tomato and finely diced jalpeno peppers... a bit of grated mozarella cheese on top... baked them until ready... magnificent!

Overall, quite a virtuoso of the rice world, this one, and so simple to heat and use... About the only way to make this easier would be to pack it in a self-heating bag, with a side-pocket containing a fork. Thumbs Up

Click here to read the profile of vivid

Review by: vivid (Matt)
Dated: 4th of January, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I was never a great fan of rice. Probably because as a kid I was always given plenty of plain white rice, boiled to death and full of starch, turning it into a soggy, flavourless, uninspiring rice pudding more than anything else. Eventually, thanks to a student budget lifestyle I eventually discovered chinese pan fried rice and so got a bit of a taste for it.
tasked with the opportunity to try out some of the recent releases of Meal-for-1 packs from Kaweka, I got the urge, and need, to have some other rice in the house. By chance my eye fell on these in the supermarket, and since they were quite cheap I thought I would give them a go. Really glad I did too!
The pack couldn't be any simpler to use. if you have a microwave, tear a small hole, zap it for 2 minutes, give or take a bit depending on your box's power output, and leave it for a minute more to finish jiggling it's water molecules. After that, just rip the rest of the top off and pour it out! If you don't happen to have a microwave handy, just use a small pot with a bit of water, and gently boil it until the rice has soaked up the water, tip it out and away you go!
So far I have tried the 'Golden Vegetables' and 'Pilau' flavours and both were really stunning, especially for heat'n'Eat type packets. So if you like rice, and want something quick, with plenty of flavour but far less hassle, then you should reach for a pack of Unc Ben's Express... if it got any easier, you could do it in your sleep!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.4
Product reviews for listing 3066: Chop Chop! Chicken - Shredded with Chilli -  Brand: Chop Chop!

Product image for Chop Chop! Chicken - Shredded with ChilliPremium chicken breast, shredded and mixed with a delightful light mayonnaise and chilli sauce.

    •  Premium cooked chicken breast
    •  Cage free, sustainably farmed chickens
    •  Gluten free
    •  Halal certified

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Character - the willingness to accept responsibility for one's own life - is the source from which self respect springs."
Joan Didion (1934 - ), 'Slouching Towards Bethlehem'

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream