Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 25th September 2018 - 13:39:10

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Heat and Eat > Meal for 1 - Lamb Korma with Basmati Rice review

« Kaweka - Thai Lamb Curry reviewKaweka - Thai Lamb CurryMeal for 1 - Thai Chicken with Jasmine Rice reviewMeal for 1 - Thai Chicken with Jasmine Rice »

Advertising...


Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 9.4/10  [5 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 1669 - Meal for 1 - Lamb Korma with Basmati Rice
Brand : The Kaweka Food Co.

Meal for 1 - Lamb Korma with Basmati Rice
Price:
$6.00 +/-
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Kaweka Foods

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected supermarkets

Meal for 1 - Lamb Korma with Basmati Rice product reviews

A tasty, healthy meal solution is just minutes away with Kaweka Meal For 1.

Kaweka's Lamb Korma with Basmati Rice contains tender, succulent lean NZ lamb, marinated in fragrant indian spices then cooked to perfection in an authentic creamy curry sauce, and served with fragrant basmati rice.

Contains a 200g pouch of lamb korma and a 200g pouch of rice.

Check out Kaweka Foods onlineClick here to see all the listings for Kaweka Foods Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
-none-
Other listings you may be interested in:
RJ's Raspberry Licorice StrapsRJ's Raspberry Licorice Straps
Rating: 9.2
Avalanche Premium Dark Baking CocoaAvalanche Premium Dark Baking Cocoa
Rating: 9.8
Pork and Prawn DumplingsPork and Prawn Dumplings
Rating: 6.8
Meal for 1 - Thai Chicken with Jasmine RiceMeal for 1 - Thai Chicken with Jasmine Rice
Rating: 9.6
Sids Fenugreek MustardSids Fenugreek Mustard
Rating: 9.3
Anathoth Farm - Caramelised Onion RelishAnathoth Farm - Caramelised Onion Relish
Rating: 9.7
Meal for 1 - Butter Chicken with Basmati RiceMeal for 1 - Butter Chicken with Basmati Rice
Rating: 9.3
Great Day Mallow - PassionfruitGreat Day Mallow - Passionfruit
Rating: 9.2
Roshen Grand ToffeesRoshen Grand Toffees
Rating: 9.2
Tasty Pot Soup - Kumara & Coconut SoupTasty Pot Soup - Kumara & Coconut Soup
Rating: 8.1
Simon Gault Home Cuisine - Moroccan Spice BlendSimon Gault Home Cuisine - Moroccan Spice Blend
Rating: 9.8
Loaf Mini-Bites - Rocky Road BitesLoaf Mini-Bites - Rocky Road Bites
Rating: 9.5
Nuttz Moroccan Tajine CashewsNuttz Moroccan Tajine Cashews
Rating: 8.6
Sids Smokey Garlic SauceSids Smokey Garlic Sauce
Rating: 9.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 4th of June, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I'm on a strict money saving kick at the moment, and part of that is taking my lunch to work with me. You might wonder how buying something like a Kaweka meal for 1 would save me any money. It's pretty easy, if I leave the office I go to an ATM, get cash, go to the bakery and get a sandwich, a cake, and then have coins for the vending machine. $20 easily blown in two days. If I buy my lunch at the supermarket then there is no reason to leave the office and then no coins for the afternoon. Everyone wins, including my waistline.

I had already tried the butter chicken in this range and I was impressed, though I felt that the meat had been a bit on the dry side. This Lamb Korma came in the same snazzy box. I really like the packaging, its simple, lots of white space and it has a photo that is pretty close to what you get in the box. I must admit I was a bit perplexed when I opened the box though and found a sachet of the sauce and then two small rice sachets. They must have been 100g bags instead.

In any case I put all three slightly open in the microwave and cooked for two minutes. I served it up in a bowl. A couple of the boys were watching me, and one made a comment about what it looked like, which was not appreciated since I was going to eat it. Still, I didn't let that stop me and the smell was really nice. I liked this Lamb Korma better than the butter chicken. The sauce was nice, and spicy. The meat was less dry than the chicken, and the rice was delicious and fragrant.

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 8th of January, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Once again Kaweka have another winner on their hands with their Lamb Korma with Basmati Rice.

I decided to nuke this meal in the microwave as I just couldn't wait more than was required to sample this new addition to the Kaweka range, so I made the requisite 2cm tear in the top of each pouch, put it in the Microwave for the required 2 minutes and then let it stand as suggested.

So I got a dish out, emptied the rice packet first, and was pleased to see it was light and fluffy and not at all gluggy like other heat and eat rices I've had before. Next I poured the Lamb Korma over the rice, it had a tantilising aroma and a good creamy texture.

I sat down and tucked in and it was a delight to eat. The lamb, like all the other Kaweka dishes, was nice and moist and tender and was in sufficient quantity, as was the sauce.

Once again another delightful product from Kaweka.

Click here to read the profile of vivid

Review by: vivid (Matt)
Dated: 4th of January, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Another really good addition to the Meal-For-1 range. This one was really easy for me to make, taking just 2 minutes in the microwave and a couple of extra minutes to let it stand and then to serve. Tear the tops off, dump the rice out, use a fork to break it up evenly and spread it out, then pour the korma on top. From 'pull it out of the cupboard' to 'sit down and eat' in under 6 minutes makes these packs unbeatable when it comes to efficient food that tastes great, isn't packed full of chemical crap, and can be prepared by even the most useless cook. There's hope for those people who can even manage to burn a pot of boiling water.
The korma had lots of flavour without the mouth-searing spice burn of some indian foods and even for the normally bland Kiwi tastebuds, this was a nice medium 'heat'. The rice was really nice, but I think a plain rice would have been better for this dish. It started to fight for tastebud time, and distracted me from really appreciating the full flavour of the korma.
Yup, an excellent dish, well worthy of the high reputation Kaweka have earned through their hard work and dedication to quality. If you appreciate good food but want something quick, easy but still worth eating, then you ought to be trying this!

Click here to read the profile of dnwhakar

Review by: dnwhakar (Danielle)
Dated: 27th of December, 2007

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I was delighted when I discovered Kaweka had created a new range of meals for one. The addition of a pouch of rice included with a curry is a fantastic idea! Everything you need for a great meal is now included in the pack.

I microwaved the lamb korma meal kit as per the instructions. Tear open both pouches and microwave for 2 minutes. After 2 minutes, the meal was piping hot.

The rice went onto the plate first - lots of it too, and on top went the lamb korma.

The rice, as expected, was perfect: fluffy, perfectly cooked and light. The lamb korma smelled great, and tasted just like a good korma should.There was plenty of lamb in this meal. Again, just like the butter chicken meal kit, I was full before I was finished. For me, this is definitely excellent value for money being a meal for one kit!

A great addition to the Kaweka range!

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 17th of December, 2007

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

In recent years I have really come to appreciate a well-cooked Korma... medium spice, enough to give real flavour, but still mild enough to leave the tastebuds intact and uncharred.

The sauce was rich and creamy , without being too gluggy as some curry sauces I have tried, and the rice came out a lot better than I expected really, with it being easy to break up. It was helped, I found by experimenting with other flavours, by giving it a massage before it went into the microwave, just to loosen it. A friend suggested that after tearing the vent, slide a small knob of butter or a tiny drizzle of oil into the top, to help loosen the rice further... I have yet to try that.

Overall, most definitely one of the nicest Kormas I have tried in the last year or two, and excellent quality for a home-heat packet meal. A few of these in the pantry will help prevent awkward situations when unexpected guests come around, or no-one can decide what they want for dinner. Pull some of the Meals-for-1 out of the cupboard and let them pick and choose for themselves. (Also handy to sneak to work, for something more interesting than cakes and sandwiches. Thumbs Up)

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: - pending -
Product reviews for listing 7694: Anathoth Farm Traditional Fruit Mince -  Brand / Manufactured by: Anathoth Farm

Product image for Anathoth Farm Traditional Fruit MinceIt all started over 26 years ago on the Anathoth Farm where the jams and pickles were made in simple pots and sold at the local weekend market. The locals loved the big, bold, real fruit flavours and kept coming back for more.

Fruit Mince is made with lots of fruit. Butter, spices, brandy and rum are then mixed in. Nature has already done all the good work, so the product is kept simple - no messing!

Contains milk ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Internet is so big, so powerful and pointless that for some people it is a complete substitute for life."
Andrew Brown

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream