Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 26th August 2019 - 21:50:48

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Heat and Eat > Pre-Sauced Crispy Pizza Bases review

« CD-R 80 Min 25Pk 5 Colour Lightscribe 52x V1.2 reviewCD-R 80 Min 25Pk 5 Colour Lightscribe 52x V1.2Building Cards - Spaceships reviewBuilding Cards - Spaceships »

Score: 7.4/10  [6 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 1504 - Pre-Sauced Crispy Pizza Bases
Brand : Romano's

Pre-Sauced Crispy Pizza Bases
Price:
$4.50 +/-
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Romano

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected supermarkets

Pre-Sauced Crispy Pizza Bases product reviews

There's no easier way to make your own perfect pizza than with Romano's range of bases and crusts.

Available in packs of two or three, ready sauced or plain, deep pan or crispy, Romano's have got the bases covered!

Check out Romano's Pizza onlineClick here to see all the listings for Romano's Pizza Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
bases   frozen   pizza
Other listings you may be interested in:
Sachie's Kitchen - Lemongrass ChickenSachie's Kitchen - Lemongrass Chicken
Rating: 8.9
Honey and Olive Oil Crispy Pizza BasesHoney and Olive Oil Crispy Pizza Bases
Rating: 8.6
New Way Sausage RollsNew Way Sausage Rolls
Rating: 8.4
Sids Plum SauceSids Plum Sauce
Rating: 8.5
Coconut Chips - Raspberry & BeetCoconut Chips - Raspberry & Beet
Rating: 8.1
Taste of India Goan Prawn Curry SauceTaste of India Goan Prawn Curry Sauce
Rating: 7.6
Frescarini Bolognaise Ravioli 300gFrescarini Bolognaise Ravioli 300g
Rating: 8.5
RJ's Mixed Bullets - LicoriceRJ's Mixed Bullets - Licorice
Rating: 9.7
Raptor Rubs - Herbes Chicken RubRaptor Rubs - Herbes Chicken Rub
Rating: 9.1
Choc Fudge Brownies Choc Fudge Brownies 
Rating: 8.8
RJ's Licorice MedleyRJ's Licorice Medley
Rating: 9.6
RJ's Berry TwistersRJ's Berry Twisters
Rating: 9.4
Forest Gourmet Horopito - Bush PepperForest Gourmet Horopito - Bush Pepper
Rating: 8.9
Maggi Curry Butter Chicken- MildMaggi Curry Butter Chicken- Mild
Rating: 8.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 13th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I have bought these a few times as a quick alternative to making home made pizza and they are alright. Certainly beats making your own bases after a long day at work. I always add extra sauce to them as there is just not enough on the base and what is there is quite dry so nearly non existent.

They appeal to me as they are thin and crispy which is how I prefer my pizza base and come in a handy 3 pack when you want to make Pizza when you have guests coming. I find they are a little too crispy once cooked and become quite hard by the time the cheese has had a chance to melt. I like my pizza to be a little bit soft and have just a little bit of crunch but these are quite crisp all the way through.

They are a lot cheaper then some of the other pizza bases on the market but are generally not my personal choice as I prefer to add my own sauce. Overall I would give them a 7/8 out of 10 which is quite generous because I really do prefer home made pizza bases.

Click here to read the profile of madvix

Review by: madvix (Vicki)
Dated: 28th of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 1.5/10
Price:
Score 2 out of 10
Portions:
Score 2 out of 10
Taste:
Score 1 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 1 out of 10

I was in a hurry one day, you know, can't be bothered cooking, what's quick and easy, no take-aways around here, and spotted these pizza bases hiding among the hummus in our local supermarket. Ok, let's give them a go, Ciao Bella Pizza! (and other nonsensicial Italian made-up words). I'll start with the good points, it won't take long.
They're convienient.
Ok, done.
These things are the biggest rip-off I've seen for a while. The bases taste like cardboard and act like it too; pizzas should fold and squish and drip tomatoey, garlicky goodness down your wrist, not double-up as a frisbee. Ready-sauced? You may as well throw in a slice of salami and half a mushroom and say it's ready-topped too. A see-through smear of tomato paste is not exactly what I'd call sauce.
On the plus side they ARE tastier than other shop-bought bases out there, but to be fair, two yucks don't make a yu, and they are hellishly expensive. If you want taste, go dig your Edmonds cookbook out when you have a spare hour, make a double batch of their pizza dough and then freeze it in rounds for when you need it. If you really need convienience, go buy a pack of pita bread, split them in half and use those as your bases. Far tastier and much, much cheaper.
I'll leave the Romano's languishing behind the hummus next time, plus I now have a bit of Edmonds finest hiding in the freezer.

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 10th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Romanos pizza bases feature alot in my shopping. I do not buy the pre sauced ones often as i find the sauce a bit of a waste of time, there is not enough of it to be able to claim it as a paste for the base of the pizza. When eating the base on its own as we often do with hummas / garlic butter i find that the paste as a 'funny' taste and it just isnt really my cup of tea! I prefer to add my own when and if needed. That aside these bases are amazing!

The size it just right, perfect thickness as it is never gluggy or stodgy. The price is a little more expensive but these are a bigger and better quality base. We add various toppings that include veges, these bases never end up caving in or going soggy under the vege/meat/spaghetti combos the family request!

Overall i really think Romano produce a top quality product that often beats the cheaper ones to our shopping basket!

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 15th of January, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

My husband loves pizza but sometimes it gets a bit expensive having to order it in all the time. Add to that, the fact that he use to work in a pizza store and can do things with pizza toppings that are highly attractive, ha ha. Well, you get the picture - sometimes its better, cheaper and more fun to make pizza at home yourself.

For ages, we have be-moaned the fact that you can't get a decent pre-made base. They are often too thick, or chewy. When we saw these crispy pizza based by Romanos we couldn't wait to get them home.

We did a classic supreme, with a heap of toppings on the bases. This meant that the base had to hold the amount of topping we like, and be able to be cut and eaten with minimum fuss.

The thing my husband liked about the bases, apart from the thin and crispy-ness he had been wanting all this time; was the tomato paste. He actually can't stand the taste of cooked tomatoes, so the thin spread of tomato paste was exactly the measure he would do. I liked it because it had tomato paste on it, which I often miss out on. The texture of the bases was good, a bit cardboardy but still a nice base for our fillings. Have already purchased many times since our first try.

Click here to read the profile of goldfishstar

Review by: goldfishstar (Natalie)
Dated: 10th of October, 2007

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

After having a bit of a hunt for these I finally found them in the chiller - not the freezer like I'd assumed, oops!

When we got the pizza base out of the packet, I was a little disappointed with the amount of sauce on it - looked more like a thin smear of dried pesto than what I would call a base for a pizza. However, with a couple of spoon fulls of a pasta sauce, I was happy to start building my pizza.

With some bacon, salami, chicken, pineapple, camembert and a few other bits and pieces into the mix, over it all went and after 30 minutes the timer binged and it was dinner time!

The base was good to cut, no overt pressure needed, and it was easy to lift off the tray - no bendy, droopy, drop all the topping mess like I've had with some pizza bases.

We (my partner and I) were able to lift the slices of pizza at the back end without having to worry about supporting the tip, and eat without any droopy issues - yay!! I've had other pizza bases that need support for the whole slice you are trying to eat... not cool!

Between the two of us, we decided that this is a pretty good base - crispy, not too thin and not too thick, with a wee lip on it to stop toppings falling off and a good size.

I'd definitely look for this again when making pizza - though not for the pre-sauced aspect, that was a bit of a bust...

Click here to read the profile of dnwhakar

Review by: dnwhakar (Danielle)
Dated: 6th of August, 2007

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I have been tortured in the past by pizza bases that just don't crisp up in the oven. Baking them longer only results in overcooked topping and still soggy base!

I saw Romano's Pre-Sauced pizza bases in the chiller and weighed up my options. I thought they seemed a little expensive at $4.11 for two bases, especially seeing other variations priced at less for three bases but I was drawn to the fact they were pre-sauced with a tomato herb sauce - which meant I would save time, and the fact that these bases were a bit thinner than usual, but not too thin... I decided to give them a try.

I took one base from the pack, and put the other one in the freezer for another day. I noticed the pre-sauced base was quite a bit drier than I usually like my pizzas to be - in fact there was hardly any sauce on there, it just looked like a thin, dry, red coating. So I added some of my own (the pre-saucing didn't end up saving me time at all!). I then added a topping of chicken, bacon, garlic, onions, pineapple and cheese. I put the pizza in the oven and waited for the result!

After about 20 minutes, I pulled the pizza out of the oven. It looked great from the top, and when I had a look underneath at the base, it was an even brown colour and felt crisp, not doughy or soggy like I usually find!

The taste test had me jumping for joy - it was cooked all the way through, crispy to the last bite, but not teeth-shatteringly crispy. I was really impressed with the texture of this base. The base was big enough to feed 3-4 people.

Of course the downside was the disappointment of the pre-saucing being not nearly enough sauce. But this is not a big deal to me, I would definitely buy these bases again. At first I thought the price was a little steep, but I am happy to pay this for such good crisp factor. I'm looking forward to trying out the rest of their range. Next on my list is the Honey and Olive oil bases. Tasty!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.8
Product reviews for listing 8058: SpiceCraft Original Salt Rocks -  Brand / Manufacturer : SpiceCraft NZ

Product image for SpiceCraft Original Salt RocksUse on absolutely everything, If its food the chances are it will benefit from a generous dose of our original salt. If you only have one Spicecraft seasoning - make it this one, it really is that good.

Smoked Marlborough sea salt, garlic, tarragon, coriander and a touch of chili.

WARNING - This is addictive.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Character - the willingness to accept responsibility for one's own life - is the source from which self respect springs."
Joan Didion (1934 - ), 'Slouching Towards Bethlehem'

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream