Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Saturday 24th August 2019 - 07:47:19

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Entertainment > Fixed Venues > Auckland Zoological Park review

« Orbit Restaurant reviewOrbit RestaurantThe Acacia Restaurant reviewThe Acacia Restaurant »

Score: 8.8/10  [21 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 1439 - Auckland Zoological Park
Location: Western Springs, Auckland

Auckland Zoological Park
Price:
See details
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Auckland Zoo

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
See details

Auckland Zoological Park product reviews

Auckland Zoological Park
Motions Road, Western Springs, Auckland
New Zealand

Telephone: (09) 360 3800
Information Line: (09) 360 3819
Facsimile: (09) 360 3818

Every day, Zoo Encounters, presented by our Zoo keepers, give you the opportunity to come 'EYE TO EYE' with some amazing animals.

Auckland Zoo is located just west of Downtown Auckland in beautiful Western Springs Reserve along with the Museum of Transport and Technology (MOTAT). Auckland's first electric tram, number 11, provides a link between both attractions. Auckland Zoo is well signposted both east and west bound on the North Western Motorway.

Auckland Zoo is open every day (excluding Christmas Day) from 9.30am - 5.30pm (last admissions at 4.15pm.)
NOTE: From 1st June - 31st August Auckland Zoo closes at 5:00pm.

Adults - $18.00
Children - $9.00 (aged 4 - 15 years)
Senior Citizens - $14.00 (with ID)
Students - $14.00 (with student identification)

Check out Auckland Zoo onlineClick here to see all the listings for Auckland Zoo Visit their website Follow them on Twitter Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
animals   auckland   wildlife   zoo
Other listings you may be interested in:
Silent Witness Series TwoSilent Witness Series Two
Rating: 8.8
Butterfly CreekButterfly Creek
Rating: 9.2
The TownThe Town
Rating: 10.0
'Allo 'Allo!'Allo 'Allo!
Rating: 9.3
The Young Ones - Series OneThe Young Ones - Series One
Rating: 9.8
Doctor Who - Voyage of the DamnedDoctor Who - Voyage of the Damned
Rating: 9.6
Islands on The EdgeIslands on The Edge
Rating: 10.0
Zealandia Wildlife SanctuaryZealandia Wildlife Sanctuary
Rating: 9.5
Father Ted, The Complete Box SetFather Ted, The Complete Box Set
Rating: 10.0
Pyro Company - Grand FinalePyro Company - Grand Finale
Rating: 9.0
The WotWots: Sneak-a-peek: A ZebraThe WotWots: Sneak-a-peek: A Zebra
Rating: 9.0
Totally VRTotally VR
Rating: 9.3
Star Trek: Deep Space 9 - Season 6Star Trek: Deep Space 9 - Season 6
Rating: 10.0

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of kowhai

Review by: kowhai (Chantal)
Dated: 12th of October, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Uniqueness:
Score 8 out of 10
Location:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Variety:
Score 8 out of 10

If your big on animals or spending some quality time with your family the Auckland Zoo is the place to go. The zoo at the moment is having a major makeover, which has taken some animals off exhibit and a lot more walking but when completed it'll make your experience a lot more exciting but still offers a lot to see. The exhibits are top notch and offer more interaction that young and old will enjoy. The staff and keepers are full of knowledge and more than willing to answer questions and tell you some fun facts about their animals at the keeper talks, which run throughout the day at different animal

Enclosures. They offer close up and personal animal experiences that you will absolutely love and get to take photos home of those special moments. I will add that with the renovations it's best too pack you a packed lunch and enjoy a picnic style meal, as food options are a bit sparse and get quite busy. The kids can burn off some energy at the playground and enjoy going down either one of the two slides, climb and take photos on the massive dragon sculpture that's situated in the playground or have a look in the kid zones that has themed activities depending on when you visit. All in all it's a good day out that no matter your age will totally enjoy.

Click here to read the profile of lottieg

Review by: lottieg (Charlotte)
Dated: 11th of November, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Uniqueness:
Score 9 out of 10
Location:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Variety:
Score 10 out of 10

An absolute must-do if holidaying or visiting Auckland. We travelled up from Tauranga, and one of the things Miss 6 and Master 3 were most excited about was going to the zoo. We were lucky to have a voucher which helped to reduce the cost, otherwise it's a little on the pricey side - however it is comparable with any other attraction nationwide, and the fact you can fill up a whole day here, I think it's worth the price.

The thing I liked most is that the enclosures look natural and comfortable. I'm not a huge fan of the idea of zoos, but I felt comfortable here as the enclosures were large and as natural looking as possible. Because of the size of the enclosures and the amount of trees etc, it was at times tricky to spot some of the animals, however the kids had great fun trying to animal spot, which I think just added to the interest of the day.

The kids absolutely loved the meerkat enclosure, where you can go underground and pop up within a glass dome to really feel part of the enclosure. It also made a cute photo with the kids heads poking out of the ground of the enclosure. Miss 6 was also fascinated with the seal enclosure as you can view them through glass to see them actually swimming around under the water. They also loved taking a bit of a break and having a play on the kids playground.

We took our own lunch in to have a picnic, and we're pleased that we did, as the food (like at any attraction) was rather pricey. The tables outside and around the cafe were also majorly crowded, and as it was so busy the tables didn't seem to get cleared very often so there were a lot of dirty plates and rubbish on them all. The cafe area also seemed to be a popular place for birds and seagulls to populate, and we noticed quite a few of the chairs and tables were covered in bird poo, which was a bit off-putting.

We expected that the kids would tire of the zoo after a couple of hours, but we were shocked to find we spent over 5 hours there! The time just flew with animal spotting, popping back to popular enclosures and with the kids spending plenty of time on the playground. An absolute must in Auckland. I don't think you'd be disappoint.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 29th of December, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Uniqueness:
Score 10 out of 10
Location:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Variety:
Score 10 out of 10

It had been a while since we had last been to Auckland zoo, so last week we decided to take a road trip to Auckland from Hamilton to go shopping and to check out the zoo. We were lucky enough to have 2 vouchers out of entertainment book which meant that we got 50% off my partner and I's entry in, so with Miss 2 being free it only ended up costing us $28 for the family to visit which was fantastic (usually it is $28 each which I would happily pay). Another bonus was that while we were visiting they have some sort of promotion on where you can get a special pass back to the zoo for free before the end of March 2016, which was awesome and we will certainly be making the most of.

The enclosures were of a really good size and were beautifully set out to look as natural as possible for the animals, I loved the way they presented the viewing platforms and the large glass viewing windows which made it easy for my 2 year old to see through without being held constantly so that she can see over barriers. Unfortunately on the day we visited it was a bit hit and miss in regards to seeing the animals as many of them seemed to be sleeping and out of view, however we loved seeing the elephants which were almost in arms reach it was an incredible experience to have such a huge animal so close to you, Miss 2 loved it. The seal enclosure is really neat with a huge under ground viewing window where you can watch the seals swimming right in front of you, the Meerkats were pretty neat to with a place to go underground and peek through some plastic Meerkat holes where you can get up and personal with them.

The zoo seems to be working on it's layout at the moment making specifically designed areas for each country, for example they have an African area which has Giraffes, Zebra's etc, a New Zealand area with Kiwi's, Tuataras and the likes and an Australian area with crocodiles, Wallabies etc which I thought was a neat idea. The paths were all well maintained and the map we were given was easy enough to follow. There are plenty of toilets and cafes along the way so always somewhere to stop for a break if need be.

Certainly worth a visit to if your up in Auckland, we will be back!

Click here to read the profile of emmzip

Review by: emmzip (Emily)
Dated: 7th of December, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Uniqueness:
Score 10 out of 10
Location:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Variety:
Score 10 out of 10

We went to the Auckland zoo earlier on in the year with my two young kids. I thought the entry fee was fairly average for a tourist attraction and wasn't too much more than our small local zoo, so was happy to pay the entry fee.

We found the layout of the zoo really good, easy to walk around and the enclosures weren't space too far apart which is great from a viewer perspective. We loved how there weren't massive cage fences around all the enclosures which blocks viewing, instead there is water etc round the edges of the enclosures keeping the animals in. Favourite enclosures were the monkeys - you could clearly see them and it was awesome to be able to see them swinging from trees & ropes. Elephant - The elephant just about walks up to the fence you are that close to her, the kids really enjoyed this. And the seal - you could walk down underground and watch it swimming around underwater, that was incredible.

There are a couple of parent room facilities available at both ends of the zoo which makes nappy changes and feeding easier for parents. It was a struggle to get a park at the main parking lot, but there was plenty of additional free parking just a bit further up the road which was handy.

There is a small enclosure indoors where you can view chickens and insects etc, there was a couple of tables and small chairs for small people to have a wee rest and run around under shade. There was a nice, big cafe in the centre of the zoo which was nice to be able to stop for lunch and a wee break. The facilities were really nice and clean.

Overall, we had a really successful visit to the Auckland zoo and we will be back soon Smile Icon

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 1st of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Uniqueness:
Score 10 out of 10
Location:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Variety:
Score 8 out of 10

The Auckland Zoo is like playing "Where's Wally? Your experience could be incredibly different depending on weather, temperature, season, time of day, and renovations or upgrades. The animals are kept in rather large enclosures to try and provide as natural an environment as possible. Whilst admirable from an environmental standpoint, it can prove disadvantageous from a spectator standpoint. Often you will be staring into an enclosure and not see any animals at all, and on some occasions there will actually not be any animals in there to find.

But on some days (or for those with patience to wait), you will find an abundance of life; Tigers, Cheetahs, Giraffes, Rhinos, Elephants, Zebras, Tuatara, Kiwi, Penguins, Seals, Birds, Monkeys, Red Pandas...the list goes on. If you get the chance, I implore you to try such events as the tours, behind -the-scenes, or Night Safari's.

I recently went on a Night Safari, and was blown away. Being taken around the zoo with a guide is far more interesting. They can provide a history of each animal, their names, and their parents, where they came from, and you may even get to help feed some of them. It was one of those experiences that really help you see the animals as real living beings like us, who have lives and dramas, just as we do. I found it truly interesting to learn how the zoo has so many people that are working out long-term plans for the site, with respects to what breeding occurs, what exhibitions will be made, what animals will be replaced or added to.

You would be surprised at how many animals are in the zoo because they washed up on a shore, and people fed because they looked undernourished. While it feels like the right thing to do, the animal can't be released back to the wild because it will keep coming back and trying to make people feed it. And that is why the zoo has seals. Want to know how the zoo can have two hippopotamuses in one enclosure, when they are supposed to be incredibly territorial? Go to the zoo and ask!

Click here to read the profile of manthamoo

Review by: manthamoo (Natasha)
Dated: 15th of October, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Uniqueness:
Score 10 out of 10
Location:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Variety:
Score 10 out of 10

We're going to the zoo, zoo, zoo, how about you, you, you. This is the song that always pops to mind when visiting Auckland Zoo.

Auckland Zoo is flaming brilliant, my family and I love it! The last time we were here was about 2 half years ago and it just keeps getting better. The Te Wao Nui area was in construction on our last visit, so it was great to see it completed and looking awesome! Love the new kiwi house, pitch black and so much fun with its sparkling ceiling, though you need to be careful when busy as its so dark very easy to loose your children or knock little ones over.

The kids loved the swing type bridge, bouncing up and down to make it move, even I did a little bouncing too. There is just so much to see and do, so be prepared to spend a good few hours there. I recommend getting there are soon as it opens more so on school holidays, the main car park fills quickly but plenty of roadside parking.

Price wise it isn't cheap for families, and I think this is a problem with all attractions in NZ not just the zoo. In saying that I think its money well worth spent here. If you book on line its cheaper or using entertainment vouchers which is what we did, plus under 4's are free, so another bonus!

A new feature at the zoo which took us by surprise, is having your photo taken against a green screen when entering on you zoo journey. Photos are collected on leaving the zoo. $30 grabs you a fold out booklet thingie, with three 9"x6" photos with you photo shopped into different wildlife scenes, plus one postcard photo and another which can be cut to fit inside key rings. Your photos are also available online for 3mths for you to have access to for downloading. Nice little keepsake. Kelly Tarltons also do this now too.

For the children to like to explore or treasure hunt they can grab a booklet in which they have to look for clues around the zoo and answer questions, to reveal an animal and go in the draw to win a family zoo pass. I can't say it enough but Auckland Zoo is great, from the lions to the hippos, the flamingos to the ringtail lemur or King Julian as my children call them (big fans of Madagascar). There is something for everyone, young and old.

Take a packed lunch, put on your walking shoes and head to the zoo, you wont be disappointed, you will be amazed by all these precious animals and their beautifully kept surroundings. Coming soon Tasmanian Devils - can't wait!

Click here to read the profile of mum2three

Review by: mum2three (Dale)
Dated: 30th of September, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Uniqueness:
Score 10 out of 10
Location:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Variety:
Score 9 out of 10

The entry price can be costly for a family, when we lived in Auckland we bought a year pass and this was a much more economical way of visiting. One of the bonuses of buying a year pass is being emailed about upcoming events and what is happening behind the scenes. The zoo has done a lot to improve the enclosures for the animals in the last 10 years and it has been a huge improvement!

It is a big day out with lots of walking, but my children always enjoyed it particularly the monkeys and elephants. The children's part of the zoo is very friendly with great displays such as bee hives, chickens to pat, tunnels to climb through and big dragons to climb on as well as a lovely grassy area to have a picnic. The zoo often has bands or entertainment of some form in the school holidays so a great day out can be had without spending a fortune.

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 25th of July, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Uniqueness:
Score 10 out of 10
Location:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Variety:
Score 10 out of 10

Entry price is a bit steep with three kids but it is worth every cent. Try and get there as they open and see everything. Always get heaps of photos as I love animals and the kids think it is great to stand and be in the photos.

Haven't seen the hospital yet but will definitely try next time we are there. The monkeys are a favourite with the kids. Really enjoy watching the animal feedings, specially the sea lions and seals, such beautiful animals. The kids loved the lion feedings, they thought it was great when I told them that the lioness hunt in the wild and that the lion feeds first, being boys they thought it was a good system!

We take our own lunch as the kids can be a bit fussy on what they will eat. There are a few options to buy food there.

Always get some great photos of the kids climbing on the "lizarads" and other kids toys and they would love for us to get a rabbit or guinea pig. They weren't too impressed with the rats (we get rats easily at home) but had to explain to them that rats can be pets as well as pests.

The zoo is a great destination for family outings and always educational which is very important. Love reading the information boards as I believe you are never too old to learn something new. Great option to buy a zoo pass (saving up for one as a Christmas present for the entire family).

Highly recommended as a day trip.

Click here to read the profile of wendyash

Review by: wendyash (Wendy)
Dated: 11th of July, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Uniqueness:
Score 9 out of 10
Location:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Variety:
Score 10 out of 10

We go to the zoo around 3 times a year, I have a 14 and 10 year old, entry fee is a bit steep but well worth it at the end of the day, we like to get there just as the gates are opening and head to the tiger enclosure to wait for the feeding this is always the highlight of the day.

We try and go to most of the feelings - tip: get there early, not only do you see the animals up close but also hear a lot of facts. Another must is visiting the hospital, you might be lucky enough to see an actual operation in progress, if not there are draws fill of fantastic things, my son always has a laugh at the testicles of different animals, that's a 10 year old boy for you.

We always pack our lunch and snacks as the cafe is sooo expensive. The newly opened native areas are wonderful to see the habitats of the native birds and to be so close to them is fantastic. I highly recommend the Auckland zoo for everyone..

Click here to read the profile of radioguru

Review by: radioguru (Renee)
Dated: 26th of January, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Uniqueness:
Score 9 out of 10
Location:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Variety:
Score 9 out of 10

If you have kids and you're in Auckland, the Auckland Zoo is a fantastic way to spend a day.

There are a wide range of animals to see, and there are always interesting things happening. On both occasions we've gone, our 3 year old daughter has been blown away to walk round a corner and come face to face with an elephant or a group of kune kune pigs out for a walk with a keeper. There are also the "Eye to Eye" opportunities - scheduled chances to get closer to some of the animals and hear a talk about them from one of the keepers. We've never done one of these, but they've been recommended to us and don't cost anything extra, so they're probably worth a look if you're in the right place at the right time.

The Zoo is quite large (and it's all worth a look) so you really need to budget the better part of a day time-wise - you wouldn't want to try and rush it. It's also on the pricey side (especially if you have a large family like we do) so you want to make each visit count. If you're an Auckland resident, it'd be well worth getting the family pass - it'd pay for itself pretty quickly.

The cafe looks pretty good, but the prices scare us off and there are plenty of nice places to have picnics so I'd recommend bringing your own lunch unless you particularly want to splash out.

If you have small children, taking a small compact pram is a MUST (you can hire some from the office, but these are not always available during the busy seasons. You'll also want spare weather-appropriate clothes and decent shoes as you'll be doing a lot of walking (paths vary between gravel, asphalt, concrete and boardwalks) and most of it outdoors.

There's plenty of parking, and the zoo is as easy to find as anything else in Auckland.

Highly recommended if you like animals and/or have kids.

Click here to read the profile of pcumming444

Review by: pcumming444 (Peter)
Dated: 18th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Uniqueness:
Score 8 out of 10
Location:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Variety:
Score 8 out of 10

I am a big fan of Auckland Zoo and go there 3-4 times a year either with my girfriend, or friends children, and soon will be visiting with our own first child. It's a clean well kept zoo, with plenty of space and enrichment for the animals. The one are that is a little disappointing is the open areas for the giraffes, zebra and rhino, which are lacking in vegetation. I suspect these animals are more suited to a safari park type setup.

Ticket prices are reasonable for what's on offer are there are good value season passes on offer if you think you will be a regular visitor. It's best to try and get there early as there is a lot to see and it's better not to rush through. Definitely a full day activity and you can plan to have a lunch break at the cafe. The talking parrots were a particular favourite. The new aviaries for native bride are spectacular, I would recommend dedicating 30 minute just sitting in there as it takes a while to spot some of the birds.

All in all a great day out for young and old alike!

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 13th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Uniqueness:
Score 10 out of 10
Location:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Variety:
Score 10 out of 10

We visit Auckland Zoo once a year as it is one of our favourite family outings. There is so much to see at the Zoo with such a great variety of animals. I have only been to Auckland and Hamilton Zoo but Auckland is definetly my favourite New Zealand Zoo. I love the fact that it is in Auckland as we can go for a long weekend and spend one day at the Zoo, one at Rainbows end, and another at Kelly Tarltons making it the ideal location.

There are so many animals to see ranging from the NZ natives such as tuatara to the exotic lions and tigers. There are great knowledgeable guides who can accompany you on your way round the zoo explaining things about the animals. The best thing is the various animal encounters throughout the day where you can see the animals being fed or receiving some sort of enrichment which the Zoo staff make interactive so you learn something from it.

The Zoo grounds are extensive and there is so much to take in so I recommend scheduling in a full day when you go and I personally take a picnic because the Zoo cafes are a bit pricey. A highlight for the kids is taking the train around the Zoo which is fun and you get to see a bit of the Zoo on the way around. My daughters favourite part is the Meerkat tunnels because you get to climb through the tunnels and see the Meerkats up close.

A perfect day out for the whole family and reasonably priced, if you are local to Auckland it makes sense to join the Zoo and then you get a good discount on the admission fees. My daughter stayed at Auckland Zoo on a school camp which she absolutely loved so it is great that they can offer these sort of experiences too.

Click here to read the profile of kazza

Review by: kazza (Karyn)
Dated: 8th of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Uniqueness:
Score 10 out of 10
Location:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Variety:
Score 10 out of 10

I recently took our daughter (age 7) to the Auckland Zoo. We had no trouble finding The Zoo as the sign posting was exceptional. On arrival finding a carpark was simple as there were plenty of spaces. I did find the price a little high but we were there all day so overall probably worked out not too bad.

The grounds were immaculate and animal enclosures very clean. We saw plenty of staff while walking a round and they were very friendly and helpful. The food was a little pricey but it was really yummy though, so worth it. The animals all looked very well cared for and happy in their enclosures. The Zoo has made the enclosures as close to the animals' natural environment as possible and they did look beautiful. It was lovely to see so many families picnicing and enjoy a special day outdoors together. Would definitely recommend The Auckland Zoological Park to everyone of all ages.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 8th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Uniqueness:
Score 10 out of 10
Location:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Variety:
Score 10 out of 10

My only complaint that I ever have for the zoo is that to really enjoy it, you need to spend at least 2 days there, especially with 2 toddlers in tow.

At $22 per adult it is a bit expensive, especially when on a budget, but with a Friends of the Zoo membership, the price is well worth it, and if you want to go at least once a month, then the FOTZ pass is the way to go.

The new bird enclosures are simply stunning, and feel so much more natural. The staff are always fantastic and they are easy to approach. The food at the cafes, while expensive (though you do get 10% off with your pass), is well cooked and delicious.

The new format of the FOTZ pass is great value. You now get 20% off admission at Kelly Tarltons, MOTAT, 10% off any store/cafe at the Zoo and your friends and family now get 20% off their admission if you show your pass at the ticket booth.

The zoo is a firm favourite in my family, we love the way it's set out and how much it all interests our children. Keep up the great work.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 24th of February, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Uniqueness:
Score 9 out of 10
Location:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Variety:
Score 9 out of 10

The Auckland Zoo is a wonderful place to head to with your children or someone elses! Ease access from the motorway - and ample parking - though you need to arrive earlyish if you prefer to park in the main carpark and not the secondary.

Lots of things to entertain the kids - not just the animals. DD1 always gets a kick out of seeing the chickens wandering around!

A Zoo Pass is a great investment - and pays for itself if you are planning to go more than 8 times in a year. The Cub Pass that you can attach to that is great as well - meaning you don't have to have the main passholder there - perfect if you are wanting to do one on one with your child.

The food/cafe is a little pricey - but I like to treat our daughter when we go to the zoo. It's particularly nice to sit under the palm tree and "picnic". The petting zoo/animals are also right by there.

Very much recommend the Zoo - and the staff - always have a good time there.

Click here to read the profile of katiekate

Review by: katiekate (Kathleen)
Dated: 25th of January, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Uniqueness:
Score 8 out of 10
Location:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Variety:
Score 9 out of 10

The Auckland Zoo is a fun place to go, with the family or just by your self or a group of friends. I like when i go with the children from work on a daycare trip as they love it and they talk about it for ages afterwards. the children would bring it up months after going and would tell us if they had gone with their family and would tell us all about the animals they have seen. It becomes a game on what animal they had seen and what they remember is there. We ask them what was their favourite thing to do at the zoo and what favourite animal is. there is enjoyment from going to the Zoo and from afterwards.

The price can hit you if you're just going by yourself as its getting up there a bit but an all year pass is a worthwhile thing to have as it means you get unlimited assess to the zoo and you even get into things like feeding animals and special things like that. Also the location is great as its not quite in town but not out west to much so its easy to get to. But needs more parking as it can get quite full if its a busy day. They have done a lot of work on the Zoo to keep it nice for both the animals as well as people.

I also enjoy from the Zoo is when they have music nights at the zoo as you get to enjoy looking round the zoo before hand then you get to enjoy the music in a nice place. They always have different people come and some of the same so you get a chance and seeing new things. Its a great place.

Click here to read the profile of kiwiwests

Review by: kiwiwests (Susan)
Dated: 18th of October, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Uniqueness:
Score 9 out of 10
Location:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Variety:
Score 9 out of 10

We decided to go to the Auckland Zoo for a family outing and what an experience! We had been looking forward to the new Te Wao Nui enclosures and we were not dissapointed!

These enclosures were incredible and there was always a zookeeper nearby for any questions we had. They were so patient and seemed to have all the time in the world for us and our questions, they were so informative and spoke with the children and helped them spot animals that they might have missed. We were even privileged enough that a kiwi kept saying hello (Banging it's beak on the glass). I wonder if it knew we would be writing a review here and just wanted a mention. (Relative of your icon's perhaps?). The baby meerkat was adorable, and those tunnels under their enclosure were a lot of fun for the kids and some adventurous adults (I count myself among them).

Pricing has gone up since we were last there but it is still competitive at $22.00 per adult $11.00 per child and $60.00 for a family pass of 2 adults and 2 children (extra children are $9.00 each). We usually take a picnic with us to avoid the extra cost of food and drinks, so I can't say what the Food or Cafes are like nor the costs, but found the gift shop very welcoming and prices were reasonable and they had some very good specials. All in all a fabulous day out and it didn't break the bank. Educational and fun! We will be going back as often as we can. :)

Click here to read the profile of stephe

Review by: stephe (Stephanie)
Dated: 29th of September, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Uniqueness:
Score 8 out of 10
Location:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Variety:
Score 9 out of 10

I have visited the Zoo on several different occasions but it was my first time last week with my own child. He is only 1.5 years old so thought he wouldn't be interested in the slightest but I was surprised by how much they have to entertain a 1 year old. From their interactive center, playground to the aussie walkabout he was so enthralled by all the 'manimals' (animals) that he could touch and listen too. The big picnic area was fantastic to eat and let the kids run riot.

The food at the canteen is way too steep however and I will definately be taking my own food next time!

However will definitely be back again for a visit soon!

Click here to read the profile of diogenes

Review by: diogenes (Rob)
Dated: 26th of July, 2007

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Uniqueness:
Score 9 out of 10
Location:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Variety:
Score 9 out of 10

I didn't get to see too much of the zoo, and the fault there was mine alone. I really should have arrived earlier. There really is way too much to see, and much more than can be crammed into less than three hours. The gift shop and the play park alone would have occupied the kids in our group for half of the day - and that is without seeing the other attractions the zoo has to offer.

On arrival, we were informed by the helpful staff that if we hurried 'thataway' (staff pointing the direction to run), we would catch the tiger being fed. We did, and we saw the tiger about to be fed and actually being fed. The commentary the staff gave was as much fun as seeing the kids reaction when the tiger came rushing out (after staff had retreated) to find where they had hidden the food.

Next, after a meander, we came to the bird house. After entering through the 'bird lock' doors, we spent a couple of minutes marvelling at the birds before the zoo employees came to feed them, handing us chunks of corn cobs and other fruit for us to entice the birds down from their perches.
There were plenty of photo opportunities to be found, even if your face is obscured by hordes of flapping birds trying to get at the food. The zoo keepers themselves were extremely helpful and were answering ALL my questions (I had lots to ask) and were extremely patient with my spanish inquisition!

By that time, it was close to closing time, but we did get to wander to the African animals, but we really had to go. We were holding up people who were keen to get home, though they never made us feel like we were holding them up.

Naturally, with the price, it does get to be a rather expensive day out for a family, but the pleasure gained is worth the expense - and to be able to put a smile on your kid's dial as they gaze at the wonderful animals is priceless (though much cheaper than a safari!)

All in all, it is a great day out with your kids - but remember to make it just that - a DAY out. You don't want to be rushed. Take your food and have a picnic in the grounds, gaze in awe at the animals, and listen in wonder to what the helpful keepers have to say about their charges.

Oh, and most of all - HAVE FUN!

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 11th of July, 2007

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Uniqueness:
Score 9 out of 10
Location:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Variety:
Score 9 out of 10

All things change in time... in my youth I lived a mere 10 minute drive away from this fine venue, and used to be a semi-regular visitor... but that was over 2 decades ago, so this visit was more than a nostalgic walk in old footsteps, it was a chance to see what progress had happened.

As we entered, I was immediately struck by the clean look and feel of the grounds, and the well stocked gift shop. I chatted to some of the staff, had a good look around, and then shot off to arrange entry. As we walked through the gate, we were informed that if we hurried we could go and see a chat by one of the staff as they prepared the tiger enclosure for Oz's playtime. Highly informative, the staffmember was clearly enthusiastic about his job, which always makes for good care of the animals.

After that we proceeded to wander around, trying to decypher the icons on the map. Some of them were a bit hard to recognise, however we eventually worked them out. Some better colour-coding, or a numbering system might have been more practical, if less pretty. However, this rambling around put us in the right place... the bird sanctuary... at the right time... feeding time! It was quite an experience to hold a piece of corn on the cobb and have a dozen rainbow lorikeets climbing all over you eating the corn out of your hand! We got some great photos, and the kids in our party thought it was just the neatest experience.

More wandering, but alas we had arrived a bit late and missed most of the day's events, and by the time we got half way around it was time for the zoo to close, leaving us keen to return again. We were planning to return a few days later, but our time was short and we couldn't squeeze it in, much to the disappointment of more than one of our party.

Overall, though a wonderful way to share time with the family, you need to dedicate an entire day to this venture. There is just too much to see in a half day. Also, be sure to keep your maps handy, and keep an eye out for staff wandering around... if you see one, ask them what events are due... you could be pleasantly surprised. This is also an excellent venue for school trips, as there are a lot of educational points scattered around.

Click here to read the profile of jdnz

Review by: jdnz (Joanne)
Dated: 7th of July, 2007

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Uniqueness:
Score 7 out of 10
Location:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Variety:
Score 8 out of 10

I visited Auckland Zoo in March for the first time in several years (not being an Aucklander). We spent quite a few hours there and had a great time. It was a school day so it was quite quiet other than a few class groups.
I love photographing animals and birds and with my zoom lenses had ample opportunities to take some brilliant photos. The cafe seemed huge and well stocked even at the end of the day when we visited. Very clean too. Loved the flamingos and the savannah area with all the African animals. The only thing that was disappointing was the 5.30pm closing. I would have thought that such a wonderful facility would have been open until 7 or 8pm during daylight savings. Perhaps though the early closing time is for the benefit of the animals, which is good. They are way more important than the tourists who want a bit more time to marvel at nature's creations.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Entertainment'...

Score: 10.0
Product reviews for listing 5426: The Guilty
Type of Show: Drama mini series

Product image for The GuiltyThe Guilty is a 2013, 3 part mini TV series on DVD.

Lives are torn apart and relationships fractured forever when a young child goes missing in this tense and emotional drama. Moving between two timelines, 2008 and the present day, The Guilty follows the story of detective Maggie Brand as she investigates the disappearance of five year old Callum Reid after a neighbourhood party. Callum was never found and the case has never been ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"We don't have much money to do this, so we're going to have to think."
Sir Ernest Rutherford

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream