Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Sunday 17th November 2019 - 20:51:22

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Games & Puzzles > Board Games > Stonewall - Travellers Edition review

« Wattie's Toasties - Corn and Cheese reviewWattie's Toasties - Corn and CheeseSteptoe and Son: Series Four reviewSteptoe and Son: Series Four »

Score: 9.2/10  [6 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 1390 - Stonewall - Travellers Edition
Developed by Stonewall Developments Ltd

Stonewall - Travellers Edition
Price:
$50
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Stonewall

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected game retailers

Stonewall - Travellers Edition product reviews

Race by the roll of a dice to your wall-change corner and back. Place walls as you move - to amuse and bemuse - and be the first one home to win.

But don't get STOMPED, or you'll have to start again!

Contains:
    •  Cloth gameboard and bag
    •  60 assorted wooden walls
    •  4 player pieces
    •  One d6 die
    •  Rulebook

Website: www.stonewall.co.nz
Freephone: 0800 1 2 STOMP

Check out Stonewall onlineClick here to see all the listings for Stonewall Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
-none-
Other listings you may be interested in:
Top Trumps : Specials - Harry Potter and the Goblet of FireTop Trumps : Specials - Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Rating: 9.6
Top Trumps : Super Cars 2Top Trumps : Super Cars 2
Rating: 9.6
Top Trumps : SpaceTop Trumps : Space
Rating: 9.7
Cosmic CatchCosmic Catch
Rating: 9.4
World Map 1000-piece Jigsaw PuzzleWorld Map 1000-piece Jigsaw Puzzle
Rating: 9.3
Dynasty Warriors 6Dynasty Warriors 6
Rating: 4.5
Cubic Happy 3d Puzzle - TiananmenCubic Happy 3d Puzzle - Tiananmen
Rating: 9.8
The Fundex Mexican Train Dominoes GameThe Fundex Mexican Train Dominoes Game
Rating: 9.3
Dance Central 3Dance Central 3
Rating: 9.0
Crysis 3Crysis 3
Rating: 7.3
The Smurfs Dance PartyThe Smurfs Dance Party
Rating: 9.3
Disney Fantasia: Music EvolvedDisney Fantasia: Music Evolved
Rating: 10.0
Shopping ListShopping List
Rating: 9.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of rorr139

Review by: rorr139 (Rosie)
Dated: 3rd of January, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Fun Factor:
Score 9 out of 10
Easy to Understand:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

We taught our 6 & 8 year olds to play this game these holidays and it was a hit! The youngest in our family was able to win it which is a huge bonus in my book.
The rules were easy enough to follow and it was fun enough for mum & dad to try to stomp each other

Click here to read the profile of diogenes

Review by: diogenes (Rob)
Dated: 12th of May, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Fun Factor:
Score 10 out of 10
Easy to Understand:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Rather than one of these mass-produced plastic and card game (with the emphasis on plastic) it is a joy to find a more organic game made from wood and cloth. Even the concept is quite organic too.

Once you have read through the instructions, which are clearly written and simple enough to understand, it was an easy job getting on with the game. I have tried so many games where the instructions seem to be so ambiguous that they need to be read through a number of times before playing.
The first time I played this game was trying to teach it to my daughter and two nieces. And once my daughter got around the concept of having to play by the same rules rather than make things up as she goes along, they all had immense fun.
The game was complex enough to get the kids to think, but also simple enough to understand the rules so they could get on with playing the game employing the best strategies to fox their opponents whilst helping them to win.
My daughter and her cousins have played this a number of times, both alone or with me and have enjoyed this game immensely. I'm sure if I had some adult company this game would get much more complex and stimulating and far more enjoyable than when playing this game with kids.
A great game with plenty of level to stimulate everyone from young to old.

Click here to read the profile of testbot

Review by: testbot (Marcus)
Dated: 22nd of June, 2007

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Fun Factor:
Score 9 out of 10
Easy to Understand:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I love a game that is different from the rest and stonewall sure is different to any games I have played in the past. I was really impressed at the manufacturing of the game too. It is great that it is made by people and not by machines stamping out plastic bits all day. Gives the game a more natural earthy feel. Something we should all be keen on these days instead of happily gobbling up the resources of our planet like parasites. While playing this I found myself to be the odd-man-out and got kinda stomped on in places so we made sure we shuffled around a bit between games so that everyone got a chance to be one of the pigeons as well as being the statue. Wink Icon A lot of fun. We played at least 6 games before we realised it was getting late and it was time to pack up and head for bed. The next night saw us forgetting about TV and just playing this al night. That is something really unusual for our house where the TV rules with a carrot-on-a-stick held in an iron fist most nights. Loved the game and will be looking at buying a few spares to give to friends as presents as the year wears on. Well done folks!

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 30th of May, 2007

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Fun Factor:
Score 10 out of 10
Easy to Understand:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I so love this game! Mind you, it's easy to like a game when you understand the strategies and kick a bit of butt when you play it. After playing Cathedral against some serious brainboxes for years, this game wasn't hard to grasp at all, and I had a lot of fun planning traps for my fellow players that suddenly sprang up around them with the placement of a wall or two seemingly at random... until they tried to take a direct route... anywhere. Grin Icon

However, I found the use of the "Change a Wall" squares to be quite under-utilised IMHO. I would have liked to have seen ALL the 'change' squares being active, and maybe the placement of a few more... make the board kind of like Scrabble, maybe even by adding "Add an extra wall" squares, and even some 'Random Act" squares, whereby you roll the die and if it comes up 1 or 4 you place an extra wall, 2 or 5 you relocate an existing wall, and 3 or 6 lets you remove an existing wall... or something like that... just to add some spice to the gameplan of even the most brilliant tacticians. Could name it "Stonewall : Sadistic Sod Version" LOL Icon

The game's components are wonderfully manufactured, the walls are embossed with stonework patterns and the fabric board can be folded up and tucked away, weighing next-to-nothing. The whole lot tucks away into a nifty little zippered cloth bag, so it can be tossed into the glovebox or carrybag for those trips away. Be interesting to play it on the Overlander train or something too... though the creases in the fabric don't like to be flattened out and stay there, causing some walls to be a bit unstable. I think I might explore the option of buying a spare playmat and hard-mounting it on thin plywood for use at home, and keep the fold-up version for portable play only.

Overall, a real winner, one of my Top-10 Favourite Games discovered through this site... sitting happily at around 3rd I think. If you like strategy games with a fun, fmaily twist, then you NEED to find this game at your local Quality Games retailer, or contact the manufacturers at their website, or via there toll-free number listed above. You won't be disappointed at all... and if you are... you were probably looking for a different game anyway. Wink Icon

Click here to read the profile of wheeled thing

Review by: wheeled thing (David)
Dated: 29th of May, 2007

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Fun Factor:
Score 8 out of 10
Easy to Understand:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I really enjoyed this game. The instructions were well written and easy to follow. The playing board is very unique and well set out. The artwork made it look professional and as if it was mass produced, not by a family business.

There was great gnashings of teeth for some people playing the game as they saw the path they had worked out for themselves come crashing down as the player before them placed a wall right in the middle of their intended path. The playing pieces were nice and simple, with cool designs etched onto them.

I look forward to more opportunities to play this game. I may even consider putting it in my games cupboard for those rainy days when there's nothing to do.

Click here to read the profile of craftmadhermit

Review by: craftmadhermit (Tess)
Dated: 29th of May, 2007

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Fun Factor:
Score 9 out of 10
Easy to Understand:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

This was indeed a fun game to play. Despite being almost at the point of falling asleep at the game table at the time, I was easily able to get the hang of the game, and it wasn't long before I was placing walls down in the MOST annoying positions for my fellow players. The only problem then became... making sure that the walls I placed to interfere with the others' game paths, did NOT also interfere with my own!! Something that became increasingly more difficult as more walls were placed down.
Although definitely a lot more fun with just adults playing, I can easily see it being easy enough for children 8 years+ to get the hang of well enough to join in the family fun. With three players, the game is challenging, yet there runs a risk of one player being ganged up on, so I would recommend keeping it as either 2 OR 4 players... unless there's someone in particular that has annoyed you out of your game players, in which case, odd numbers would probably work more to your advantage! LOL!
A great game to be pulled out on a rainy day, the travel pack version makes it really easy to take with you anywhere, so a definite addition for the family fun pack if you're going away on a holiday!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Games & Puzzles'...

Score: 6.0
Product reviews for listing 4996: The Simpsons Game
Developed by EA Games

Product image for The Simpsons Game The Simpsons Game features a hilarious, sprawling, and mind-busting storyline crafted by the TV show's Emmy Award-winning writers. For this action-comedy, the full cast of voice actors from the TV show and movie reprise their roles to lend the ultimate in authenticity and realism to the game.

In The Simpsons Game, Homer, Marge, ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"There's more to a person than the things they have done"
from 'Eastenders' TV show.

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream