Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 21st May 2019 - 15:13:32

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Sauces and Condiments > Sauce for Fruit - Maple & Walnut review

« Sauce for Fruit - Caramel & Cinnamon reviewSauce for Fruit - Caramel & CinnamonSauce for Fruit - Vanilla Creme reviewSauce for Fruit - Vanilla Creme »

Score: 8.5/10  [7 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 1312 - Sauce for Fruit - Maple & Walnut
Produced by Gourmet Guru

Sauce for Fruit - Maple & Walnut
Price:
$2 +/-
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Gourmet Guru

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at supermarkets

Sauce for Fruit - Maple & Walnut product reviews

Take something that tastes great - fresh fruit, add a little inspiration - our sauces, and very quickly you can create an irresistible snack or dessert.

We've taken the time to discover the right sauce for the right fruit, so that you can ensure every mouthful is a memorable one.

Great for pouring or dipping.

Check out Gourmet Guru onlineClick here to see all the listings for Gourmet Guru Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
-none-
Other listings you may be interested in:
Sauce for Fruit - Vanilla CremeSauce for Fruit - Vanilla Creme
Rating: 7.0
Fisherman's TableFisherman's Table
Rating: 7.5
Gregg's Green Curry PasteGregg's Green Curry Paste
Rating: 9.5
Pasta Zoo Happy-MealPasta Zoo Happy-Meal
Rating: 5.0
Mini Baking BeansMini Baking Beans
Rating: 8.2
Quick BBQ MarinadeQuick BBQ Marinade
Rating: 9.0
Edmonds Red Velvet CupcakesEdmonds Red Velvet Cupcakes
Rating: 8.0
Trouble PizzaTrouble Pizza
Rating: 8.8
Cafe Style Luxury MuesliCafe Style Luxury Muesli
Rating: 9.3
Laughing Cow Cheese WedgesLaughing Cow Cheese Wedges
Rating: 7.1
Sauce for Fruit - ChocolateSauce for Fruit - Chocolate
Rating: 9.0
Raptor Rubs - Herbes Chicken RubRaptor Rubs - Herbes Chicken Rub
Rating: 9.1
Sauce for Fruit - Caramel & CinnamonSauce for Fruit - Caramel & Cinnamon
Rating: 8.9
Lime & Passionfruit CurdLime & Passionfruit Curd
Rating: 9.6

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of mandaz79

Review by: mandaz79 (Amanda)
Dated: 27th of August, 2007

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Again, another yummy flavor. Used as a fruit dip. I used apples. Kids didn't like this flav as much as the choc, but I found it ok. Good value for money. Would buy again

Click here to read the profile of wheeled thing

Review by: wheeled thing (David)
Dated: 10th of April, 2007

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

The blend of maple syrup and walnuts in the sauce is perfect. The walnut helps to cut the sweetness that can be overpowering in sweet sauces.

This sauce is a great addition to any dessert, be it ice cream or just plain fruit. It is a little thicker than an average sauce, but I found that a good thing as it coated the fruit better.

Since trying this particular flavour, I have been tempted to try other combinations of flavours. Especially the ones mentioned in the other reviews. The price is particularly reasonable, as other sauces of this type can cost at least 2-3 times what you would pay for this in the shop.

Overall, an ideal addition to the pantry for those summer desserts or if you want to jazz up a warm winter supper.

Click here to read the profile of goldfishstar

Review by: goldfishstar (Natalie)
Dated: 4th of April, 2007

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Again, this was trialed with fresh fruit and french vanilla ice-cream by me and my family.

I mostly ate mine with my ice-cream, mixing it through, which was a lovely combination.
I didn't find it runny enough to effectively use as a dipping sauce however, and had to be more picky about which fruits I did try and dip - pear was lovely however...

Family comments were widely varied, the younger members of the family didn't rate this one at all, but my mother, father and various others all raved about it - in fact my mother confiscated my unopened containers of it to keep for herself.

For me, this was a more limiting flavour in ways that is could be used, and as I said previously, wasn't as good for pouring, but I enjoyed the flavour and would probably buy it over some of the other flavours.

Click here to read the profile of boggie

Review by: boggie (Hayden)
Dated: 19th of March, 2007

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I could find many uses for this dip. I tried it on banana - liked it, I also tried it on orange - liked it, and even ate it just by itself. Found this one to be better if it's warm.

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 19th of March, 2007

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

This one went really well with Pikelets and Pancakes, and I even gave it a whirl with some apple and it went down a treat.

I will have to do some more experimentation with this one as it holds great promise and could easily be the most versatile sauce of them all.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 16th of March, 2007

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

After a particularly pleasing experimental session in the kitchen, I found myself with some fresh, piping hot pancakes, some freshly fried shoulder bacon, and a spare banana... "Oh dear, whatever am I going to do with this lot?" I wondered casually, as my hands flew into action, layering these fine ingredients with some good ol' NZ Butter and lashings of this delightful sauce...

As I gathered up my tools of trade, and started to snarf gustily, I found myself wishing there was a little more of the maple flavour coming through... a problem which was remedied thanks to a handy bottle of genuine authentic Canadian maple syrup that I just happened to find in the pantry. -snigger-

Not usually a fan of walnuts, due to overzealous additions into family Christmas cakes over the years, I none the less found it a very pleasing, and highly enjoyable, companion to this meal. The nutty flavour helped to offset the saltiness of the bacon, and it's lack of sugary tang stopped it from become sickly.

As a bit of an experiment that evening, I took some slightly softened vanilla ice-cream and mixed it 4-to-1 with this sauce, rolled it into a sausage in plastic wrap and popped it in the freezer to set. After it was solid, I cut it into lengths and used them to fill some freshly cooked, rolled up sweet waffles... I love experimenting with food... these, drizzled with some of the Caramel and Cinnemon sauce mixed with a dash of Opal Nera, made for a stunning dessert treat later that night.

Overall, a wonderful ingredient, so full of flavour, and more importantly, potential. If you enjoy your food, you'll love this sauce, and the others in the range for their sheer multifunctionality! (Tray saying that 5 times quickly after a few shots of Opal Nera! Wink Icon)

Click here to read the profile of diogenes

Review by: diogenes (Rob)
Dated: 15th of March, 2007

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

This sauce has a pronounced and balanced flavour; however, I find I would like a little more maple syrup in it. Possibly because I just love maple syrup. Maybe others would disagree with me.

Even at room temperature, this a little firmer than the chocolate sauce, and as such, it doesn't tend to pour. That aside, it makes the product nonetheless usable and I can assure you that there has been no compromise on flavour.

This sauce is probably more of a dipping sauce rather than a pouring sauce. And I suspect it would combine with many other ingredients to increase the versatility of this product. Made into a mousse, or stirred into popcorn. Maybe topping cakes, maybe over ice cream. Even fruit. The flavour is such that you will find many uses for it and you will invent excuses just to fork out the amazing $2 to buy more.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.3
Product reviews for listing 4902: Simon Gault Home Cuisine - Indian Spice Rub -  Brand / Manufacturer : Simon Gault

Product image for Simon Gault Home Cuisine - Indian Spice RubThis spiced korma seasoning is so versatile it will liven up beef, chicken, lamb or pork.

Add a spark to veggies, sauces or soups and even bring a touch of magic sprinkled on fries, peanuts or popcorn

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Who was the first person to look at a cow and say, 'I think I'll squeeze these pink dangly things here, and drink whatever comes out?'"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream