Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Friday 20th September 2019 - 01:16:56

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Takeaway Food > Cheesy Garlic Bread review

« Choc Fudge Brownies reviewChoc Fudge Brownies Adobe Creative Suite 2.3 Premium reviewAdobe Creative Suite 2.3 Premium »

Score: 7.7/10  [8 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 1302 - Cheesy Garlic Bread
Produced by Domino's Pizza

Cheesy Garlic Bread
Price:
$4.90
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Domino

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
for a limited time.

Cheesy Garlic Bread product reviews

An extra long half loaf of crispy garlic bread topped with delicious 100% mozzarella cheese.

Check out Domino's Pizza onlineClick here to see all the listings for Domino's Pizza Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
dominos
Other listings you may be interested in:
Hell's Garlic BreadHell's Garlic Bread
Rating: 9.0
Garlic Pizza BreadGarlic Pizza Bread
Rating: 9.1
Cheesy Garlic Bread with Smokey BaconCheesy Garlic Bread with Smokey Bacon
Rating: 8.8
Cheese & Garlic bitesCheese & Garlic bites
Rating: 7.9
Just Like Mum's - Beef LasagneJust Like Mum's - Beef Lasagne
Rating: 8.0
Peckish Rice CrackersPeckish Rice Crackers
Rating: 9.7
Down to Earth Organic Papadum - Chickpea (Chana) MasalaDown to Earth Organic Papadum - Chickpea (Chana) Masala
Rating: 9.5
Pitango Meal for 1 - Coconut, Vege & Split Pea CurryPitango Meal for 1 - Coconut, Vege & Split Pea Curry
Rating: 8.6
Howler Hotdogs - Mitee Dogs with CheeseHowler Hotdogs - Mitee Dogs with Cheese
Rating: 9.1
Beach Hop - Whanga JuiceBeach Hop - Whanga Juice
Rating: 8.8
ViBERi Soft-dried Organic BlackcurrantsViBERi Soft-dried Organic Blackcurrants
Rating: 9.0
Whisk Fudge BarsWhisk Fudge Bars
Rating: 9.1
Muscle Fuel MealsMuscle Fuel Meals
Rating: 9.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 2nd of July, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Preparation Time:
Score 10 out of 10

I love garlic bread and when buying pizza we tend to usually order a side of chips as well as a side of garlic bread. We have been going to Domino's for quite some time, several years to be exact but it wasn't until the other day when I placed an order while in store, rather than over the phone that I noticed that they sold cheesy garlic bread, and for the same price as the regular garlic bread which I was rather surprised about, usually you have to pay that little bit extra for such an item.

The cheesy garlic bread comes in a long, thin cardboard box and the bread itself looks like a short french stick that has been cut into 2 by slicing through the middle of the loaf, with one of these portions being used as the base to the garlic bread. Unlike traditional garlic bread which is cut vertically and then filed with lashings of garlic butter between each slit this garlic bread was topped with garlic butter over the top of it and then this was topped with a fair amount of cheese before being put in the oven to cook. The bread comes cut in half in 2 average sized pieces, however as this needed to feed 4 of us I cut each piece in half again to ensure there was enough to go around.

The french stick was nice and crispy on the outside, but I felt that it could have done with a more fluffier bread to bite into, the amount of garlic was good and the taste was certainly there and garlicky, even with the melted cheese over top, which seemed to be that of Mozzarella, which did make the garlic bread quite stringy to eat.

Overall this was a nice change from our usual garlic bread that we order at Domino's that tasted lovely, it's good to know that this is an option we can choose when ordering from now on, something I would get again but probably not when I have more than a few mouths to feed as the traditional garlic bread would go around further.

Click here to read the profile of kelly21

Review by: kelly21 (Kelly)
Dated: 13th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 6 out of 10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Preparation Time:
Score 8 out of 10

I first tried the cheesy garlic bread from Domino's in South Dunedin when a friend and I purchased pizza for tea. At this stage the cheesy garlic bread was a reasonably new addition to the menu here, so we got it on a promotional price. When we arrived home to eat it we were a little bit disappointed to see the size of it. Yes it might be longer, but the top half of the loaf isn't there so it really doesn't seem as big. You could easily buy a whole French stick, some garlic butter and cheese and make your own for a far better price!

Having said this I really did enjoy the garlic bread. I am a garlic bread lover but over the years have found so many that aren't that appealing, many tasting fake or far too strongly garlic but this one was just right and the cheese was a nice addition - as I am definitely a cheese fan! If we were feeding a family you would need more than one, as one doesn't go very far - I'm sure most people would eat more than one slice - and in this case it would make it an expensive addition to your pizza order.

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 13th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 4.8/10
Taste:
Score 2 out of 10
Portions:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Preparation Time:
Score 5 out of 10

I absolutely love garlic bread, well to be honest anything with garlic, so when I saw this on the menu at Dominos it was a no brainer. It did smell nice and I couldn't wait to get home to try it, eve the kids asked if they were allowed to try it.

I found that although it did smell good the taste was missing a bit, I couldn't really taste the garlic and for some reason I was expecting a bit more from the cheese but I'm not sure why. I also found it dry and suspect that the cardboard box would have tasted better.

The second attempt at having this garlic bread wasn't much better than the first and I'm not that much of a daredevil that I would try a third attempt. I might give it a go one day far into the future but to be honest I would rather stick to pizza from Dominos and then only some of the toppings.

Even my kids who would normally eat anything ate one or two bites and then spat it out and asked if they actually had to finish the piece of garlic bread and normally they love it. I think that even the cat gave the garlic bread a sniff and ran away in the opposite direction.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 3rd of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Preparation Time:
Score 9 out of 10

I wasn't really impressed with this item. If it wasn't for the fact that I'm not a huge pizza fan, I'd probably never buy it. Similar bread style to the traditional garlic loaf, this item is different in that it is cut horizontally. This creates issues for me. Whereas traditional garlic bread is sliced vertically, with garlic butter inserted in each crevice, this item only has a layer of butter across the top. On most occasions that I have bought this item, I have found that the butter doesn't infuse all the way through, and the bottom half becomes dry and tasteless.

While the cheese is a nice touch, it does little to combat the dryness. Another issue with the horizontal cut, is that the top half is missing, so even though the loaf is 'longer', it is shorter, so you are getting less product for your money. Getting less product is also prevalent in how it is sliced, with very few slices available, making this a very difficult item to share.

I don't know whether they need some vertical notches through the loaf to help the flavour infuse deeper, but they really are far away from creating a great item. I'm sticking with the classic garlic bread.

Click here to read the profile of pukekoflat

Review by: pukekoflat (Paula)
Dated: 2nd of August, 2007

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Preparation Time:
Score 8 out of 10

To be honest I think this one is a little overpriced. I have moaned about this on more than one occasion. But, I keep on buying it, hence the 'more than one occasion'. The simple truth is that as far as cheesy garlic breads go this rocks my socks. I love it. I will trade pieces of pizza for an extra slice. It is melt in your mouth and leave you gagging for more wonderful. So forget the price, I'll be buying it every time.

Click here to read the profile of wheeled thing

Review by: wheeled thing (David)
Dated: 26th of June, 2007

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 6 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Preparation Time:
Score 8 out of 10

This is my favourite of the garlic breads available from Domino's. There is a nice amount of cheese and the garlic, unlike other brands, is actually present in a grand amount. The use of a small french loaf was great. With a lot of other types of garlic breads the bread gets soppy and hard to handle. Not this one. The thickness of the bread means that there is plenty of crunch as well as tast.

Overall, I am realy hoping this item stays for a good long while, if not forever. Bring it on. lol.

Click here to read the profile of craftmadhermit

Review by: craftmadhermit (Tess)
Dated: 26th of February, 2007

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Preparation Time:
Score 9 out of 10

"Oh here we go", I first thought when I heard there was yet ANOTHER cheese and garlic bread out, not overly impressed with the previous versions. Eyeing it hesitantly, having never been that keen on anything using a French stick as its base, I took a bite. Instant change in opinion!!! For one, I could actually TASTE the garlic (most of the cheesy garlic type bread products I've tried before have been sooooo bland, that they may as well leave out the "garlic" part of the name!), and the layer of cheese was extra thick. Even the fact that it used a French stick as its base didn't deter from the altogether yumminess of it - although it was still a TINY bit too dry for my liking. The only other complaint that I'd give would be that there simply wasn't enough in one box; there should have either been more in the box, or the price lower than the $4.90 it cost. All up though, it's another that will become a regular in my orders from now on. Way to go Dominos!!!

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 19th of February, 2007

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Preparation Time:
Score 10 out of 10

As with most garlic breads ordered from takeaway outlets, the price is a little higher than 'good value for money' but still, that's to be expected really, considering the costs of running such a venture. Still, it's nice to get something really new on the menu, and usually the prices aren't too far off the mark... such is the case with the new Cheesy garlic Bread from Domino's.

Slightly longer than their usual garlic bread, and sliced in half horizontally, smeared with a zingy, strongly-garlic butter and topped with a hefty dose of mozzarella cheese, then grilled to perfection and sliced diagonally into 4 segments, this is something you simply have to try to understand the extreme yum'ness of.

Overall, this is one item I think should, with a slight recipe tweak, stay on the menu long-term, if not permanently. The only little downside was that the thickness of the bread slab meant that the garlic butter didn't soak very far through, leaving the bottom section of the bread quite dry and tasteless. Maybe a bit more butter, or cutting it a bit thinner so there is less bread, or... I dunno, I eat it, not make it... but something should be done about that aspect. However, a couple of bites highlighted this problem, and thankfully the solution was readily at hand... y'see, we also had some Chicken Kickers with Ranch Sauce on hand, and the extra ranch sauce made for a great bread-dip too... so you may want to keep that combo in mind when you order. Wink Icon

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.6
Product reviews for listing 7567: BAKED Pizza - Morepork -  Produced by BAKED Pizza

Product image for BAKED Pizza - MoreporkBAKED frozen pizza is as close to the real deal as you can buy... in a supermarket. BAKED is made by humans, not machines. We place the toppings on and we care about how it looks. We hand make our pizza base and give it a traditional crust with a rolling pin (old skool styles). We then craft each pizza with tasty FREE RANGE toppings (yes we are shouting), because nothing tastes better than happy meat.

Our pizza has flavour in every ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why did Kamikaze pilots wear helmets?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream