Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Sunday 15th September 2019 - 22:39:39

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Takeaway Outlets > Burger King review

« Nerf Dart Tag - 2 player set reviewNerf Dart Tag - 2 player setMing Du Takeaway Food Bar reviewMing Du Takeaway Food Bar »

Score: 7.1/10  [9 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 1190 - Burger King
Located : Nationwide

Burger King
Price:
 
Available:
Contact your local store for hours.

Burger King product reviews

As the first line of your review, please specify which store(s) your review relates to, to avoid broad brushstroke impressions that may not be justified in other stores.

www.burgerking.co.nzClick out to an external site



Tags:
burgers   desserts   food   fries   takeaways
Other listings you may be interested in:
Maketu Vegetable pieMaketu Vegetable pie
Rating: 9.0
Pickapeppa Hot Pepper SaucePickapeppa Hot Pepper Sauce
Rating: 8.5
Cook Street Chinese TakeawaysCook Street Chinese Takeaways
Rating: 9.8
Chop Chop! Chicken - TeriyakiChop Chop! Chicken - Teriyaki
Rating: 8.4
Station Grill Rubs - AztecStation Grill Rubs - Aztec
Rating: 8.5
Luscious Nectarine, from Central OtagoLuscious Nectarine, from Central Otago
Rating: 8.5
Awesome Naturals - Fizzy BottlesAwesome Naturals - Fizzy Bottles
Rating: 9.0
Pitango Breakfast Pots - Golden Honey PorridgePitango Breakfast Pots - Golden Honey Porridge
Rating: 8.7
Bliss Bites - Apricot and MacadamiaBliss Bites - Apricot and Macadamia
Rating: 8.7
Sealord Tuna Pockets - Peri PeriSealord Tuna Pockets - Peri Peri
Rating: 9.8
Breakers Cafe & BarBreakers Cafe & Bar
Rating: 9.1
Smugglers - NZ BeefSmugglers - NZ Beef
Rating: 8.9
Ass Kickin' Bacon Hot SauceAss Kickin' Bacon Hot Sauce
Rating: 9.0

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 27th of April, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.5/10
Shop & Staff:
Score 8 out of 10
Location:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 4 out of 10

Store: WestCity, Henderson, Auckland

I don't often do takeaways but the kids prefer Burger King to MacDonald's (don't say I blame them) and usually it is an okay experience but I have found that if they are busy then the orders are usually wrong or the food is cold, I have had times where there is little or no sauce on my burgers so it can be a bit dry.

I have had once when I was starved due to breastfeeding that the burger I ordered was ice cold but I was so hungry that I ate it faster than my hubby could even suggest taking it back, he did however go and have a word to the manager who replaced the burger for free.

One time I was ready to order and had someone who was standing a bit in front of me but not at the counter as they were still looking at the menu and deciding what they wanted to order so I went up to order to be told that the other people were in front of me and the manager refused to take my order until the other customers had ordered and then was really rude about it.

More recently I have had missing meals (yes complete kids meals) from my order and when I questioned it I was asked to show proof of what I had ordered (yes she could still see the order on the screen but was too lazy/busy to do that) and I had to find the ticket, lucky it was on the table and yes I did get an apology.

Overall I'm not that impressed with the food but the kids love it so often have burgers as the choice. I do find that since there is a food court near by I can buy the kids burgers and get my something more tasty.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 11th of January, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Shop & Staff:
Score 9 out of 10
Location:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10

Branch: Fraser Cove, Tauranga

Burger King is generally down on my list of takeaway options but I do visit from time to time. I visited the Fraser Cove restaurant in Tauranga recently and would probably not go again in a hurry, as the restaurant seemed un clean and the food wasn't too great either.

When I walked in there was a big puddle of fizzy drink where someone had spilt a drink and it hadn't been cleaned up and it was right in front of the counter so you had to walk through it to order. The service was good the guy took my order and repeated it back to me and there were no mistakes made, however when I ate the food the chips were cold and the lettuce in the chicken burger I had selected did not seem fresh. My daughter enjoyed her chicken tenders meal but the raspberry fizzy she had selected must of been running low on syrup as it had no taste, luckily they let you get refills so she could go and get something else.

I have been to this restaurant before and it hasn't been like this but this one day was a bad experience for me. What made up for it was that the staff were really friendly and they brought over Burger King crowns for my children too. I also think Burger King is over priced in comparison to McDonalds and have less options on their menu but there are some great priced stuff on their value menu or dollar deals.

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 8th of January, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Shop & Staff:
Score 8 out of 10
Location:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10

Store: Whangarei

Burger King is always a choice on our list of takeaway options... Although we seem to go through patches where we love it or just dont think of it. When i visit other takeaway options I always choose chicken (whether it is burger, pizza, whatever) but thats not the case with Burger King ~ their meat patties are definitely the best! Possibly because they are flame grilled and covered in BBQ sauce, not to mention they are bigger burgers too.

I have always loved the BBQ Bacon double cheeseburger ~ so much so I havent really tried too much else over the years! I also like the packaging of the burgers, preferring the paper wrappers then a box.

The service at the Whangarei Burger King store has it's ups and downs but generally speaking is okay. They havent ever stuffed up any of our orders unlike other places in town. The staff are generally friendly and patient as I sometimes take awhile to decide what extra's i want. My fiancee often adds or removes extras from his burgers and they are always great about this - part of the "make it your way" menu.

One downer is that we definitely spend more at Burger King than any other takeaways but we are generally always more "full" too, so you pay for quality and quantity. Burger King is also our only open 24hour store so a definate choice after hours!

Click here to read the profile of flabbergastered

Review by: flabbergastered (Karyn)
Dated: 1st of January, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Shop & Staff:
Score 9 out of 10
Location:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10

Store: Whangarei, Northland

I much prefer Burger King burgers over other major burger outlets. I love the flamed grilled taste of the meat patties....and I like the fact that Burger King burgers seem bigger, the meat patties the burger buns and the BBQ sauces that accompany the burgers top them off perfectly.

At the moment I am obsessed with the Nitro burger as I am a meat lover and with 3 stacks of meat patty 3 slices of cheese and bacon it is the perfect burger and oh my gosh the size is unbelievable!! I like the packaging of the burgers, preferring the paper wrappers then served in a box as with other known burger outlets.

The service at the Whangarei Burger King store has it's ups and downs but more ups than downs in my experiences. I have never had a problem personally and the staff are very patient as sometimes it takes me along time to make up my mind of what I want to order. I like the 'make it your way' option on the menu as well, so I can leave off or add on anything I desire. As long as it has meat and not salad I am a happy girl.

Wish the food was at a cheaper price but I don't mind paying for quality tasty food and I haven't been disappointed yet in taste or service. I also like the fact that the Whangarei Store is open for 24 hours so a perfect stop on the way home from a night out on the town Smile Icon

Click here to read the profile of juliettenz

Review by: juliettenz (Julie)
Dated: 1st of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Shop & Staff:
Score 6 out of 10
Location:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10

Store: Lincoln Road Addington - Christchurch

I absolutely love BK food. The flame grilled burgers have so much more flavour than its rivals, and the food is always hot.

I have been a regular drive thru customer at this BK since opening and while the food is always great (hot, fresh and delicious) I find that even if there is only one or two other people in the drive thru that you still quite often get asked to pull into a side park as there will be a wait. There also seems to be a problem with their speaker system as quite often we have to repeat our request multiple times. (I have found this at several different BK's tho)

Overall, happy with experience. Price = not bad, and they do have regular coupon specials and after 5 dinner deals which are great for families.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 13th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Shop & Staff:
Score 9 out of 10
Location:
Score 7 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10

Store - CBD Hamilton

I've been a big fan of Burger King ever since I moved to a University City. Young, short on cash and have seen enough of a certain other burger place. Time for something new.

Burger King burgers have a distinctive flamed/smoky taste. I prefer their beef burgers over the chicken. There is so much variety and always a speciality burger on offer most of the time. I like that the drinks have free refills and use to take full advantage of that in my youth. Even the chips are tasty, though my favourite side is the onion rings.

Burger King is still a good place to go for the occasional dinner or lunch time meal. The price is reasonable enough to be a good dinner date meal on top of some other kind of entertainment (movies, or a play).

My daughter likes the selection of different toys and meal options for their kids meals as well. It is a little out of the way from work, but worth the walk. Overall, a great place to dine.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 8th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Shop & Staff:
Score 7 out of 10
Location:
Score 7 out of 10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10

Store: Invercargill

Fastfood, most of us have had it at some point in our lives and I am no exception. Burger King in Invercargill is much the same as every other Burger King I have visited.

This store was renovated last year, and the updated decor is very impressive. Like another fastfood place in town, BK has been updated to a fresh and funky restaurant. The colour scheme is very appealing and the booths that this store has are also very cool, as are the old school prints on the wall. So for style and looks I give Invercargill BK a 10/10

Sadly the high scoring stops there. The majority of the staff are lovely, but there are a small few who let the rest of the team down. They are rude and obnoxious and definitely do not have a 'customers are important' way of thinking. If going in-store, and are served by one of these staff members, their body language and verbal communication shows they do not really enjoy their job and sadly they have not yet learnt to cover up the look of disgust often showing on their faces.

If ordering at the drive through, you have to listen carefully, as the speaker system is not the best, and could really do with being updated. And more often than not it pays to repeat your order because its almost guaranteed to be wrong when you finally get it.

The other flaw with BK Invercargill would be the ice-cream/sundae machine being turned up too cold and the ice-cream being very very icy... that's when the machines are even working.

As for the food, the taste is pretty much standard BK flavouring. The amount of sauces/mayo etc you receive is pretty much a hit and miss and you're almost always guaranteed dry (possibly stale) buns on the burgers. One thing they do get right though is the fries... Perfect amount of seasoning, not over or under cooked.

I really believe that the staff could do with some friendliness training, and much of the equipment could do with being replaced. And fresher food would not go astray either.

If you're after a quick and cheap meal (they have some great $5.50 deals) then I would recommend BK in comparison to the other fastfood restaurants in town. But if you want freshness and quality then I really would check for somewhere else to go.

Click here to read the profile of wingnutt39

Review by: wingnutt39 (Rosemary)
Dated: 2nd of January, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.3/10
Shop & Staff:
Score 4 out of 10
Location:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 4 out of 10

Store: Takanini

If you're heading into the Papakura/Takanini area the totally by pass the Takanini Burger King. I've had so many problems with it, I've given up complaining.

They include staff who have unclean food handling practices, to talking to other staff members out the back so there is no one to serve, no safety mats on wet days, undercooked meat patties - yes I do not kid it was blood red raw and the dog loved it & finally staff who cannot understand a basic order which was my last & final visit.

I went in and asked about a certain meal, I was told it was no longer available. I asked out of all the meals what is closest, now this is where the fun started. All I got was "classic" & he stood there. In the end I got two meals the same & a sundae, with both meals sized up. First he put in two Sundaes, I said no & repeated it for him, he then removed both of them & I had a normal meal. After another 3 goes I finally thought I had it sorted & paid. But no I had gone back to the normal meal. By that time I just gave up, once again as I've been told to do I've complained. But all I get is a phone call, a pathetic excuse & a promise of "...it will get better." From now on I will be going up the road where at least I have the choice of two burger places and they know the value of customer service.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 14th of November, 2006

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 4.0/10
Shop & Staff:
Score 3 out of 10
Location:
Score 5 out of 10
Taste:
Score 4 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 4 out of 10

Store: Tauranga

I have eaten at many a fast-food outlet, and usually I find they are trying to stay to a corporate norm, whereby you can walk into any branch of that brand, almost anywhere in the world, and not counting some regional preferences, find the same food at the same quality for a similar price. Consistency and uniformity are their two main goals.

Here we found a Burger King outlet determined to stand out from it's peers, fighting hard to be noticed amongst the kin and clones... by being quite possibly the WORST outlet imaginable! My family and I stopped in as a pitstop during a 11 hour drive home after a holiday up in Whitianga, just looking for a quick dinner before we resumed our journey south.

As we entered, I was hit by a smell of stale cooking fat. As we waited to get to the counter to order, I watched the woman behind the counter dealing with the customer ahead of us, and her attitude left me cold, it was very clear that she would much rather have been chatting to her team-mates, as she did at every chance, to the point of missing an item off the customer's order. When it came to order our food, I made sure that every time she started to turn away, I coughed so that she turned back by reflex. This tactic ensured that our order was taken uninterrupted, but it was clear she was annoyed at me because I wouldn't let her slack off.

While waiting for our food to arrive, my son and I took a trip to the restrooms to 'lighten to ballast tanks' and found, to my utter horror, the dirtiest public toilet I have seen outside of a student pub! On top of that, the urinals wouldn't flush, and the air-dryer was not working at all! By the time we dried our hands using a wad of napkins I had to sneak from the counter dispenser (easy to do, since all the staff were gasbagging instead of being attentive) it was time for our food to arrive. We sat back down and tucked in... to some of the least appealing food I have eaten. The chocolate thickshake tasted rancid, and the strawberry sundae was crap. The rest was just below average without anything specifically wrong.

Overall, quite possibly the worst place to eat in the Bay of Plenty region, and though we plan to return to Tauranga to visit friends again in the near future, we will be sure to avoid this place like the plague... in the end we departed with relief, and sought out a fish'n'chip shop to sort out our hunger... -shudder- BK HQ, this branch gets Thumbs Down Thumbs Down

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.8
Product reviews for listing 5610: Avalanche Premium Dark Baking Cocoa -  Brand / Manufactured by: Avalanche Coffee

Product image for Avalanche Premium Dark Baking CocoaAvalanche brings you this Avalanche Premium Dark Baking Cocoa which will enhance your favourite recipes with a deeper, richer chocolate taste.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why do people pay to go up tall buildings and then put money in binoculars to look at things on the ground?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream