Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 24th February 2020 - 21:11:27

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Movies > Children > Cars review

« Eight Below reviewEight BelowPrehistoric Park reviewPrehistoric Park »

Score: 8.6/10  [10 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 1150 - Cars
Directed by John Lasseter

Cars
Price:
$39.99
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Roadshow (NZ) Ltd

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
October 2006

Cars product reviews

Lightning McQueen, a hotshot rookie racecar driven to succeed, discovers that life is about the journey, not the destination.

En-route across the country to the big Piston Cup Championship in California to compete against 2 seasoned pros, McQueen gets waylaid in the sleepy town of Radiator Springs.

The town's offbeat characters help him realize there are more important things than trophies, fame and sponsorship.

Check out Roadshow (NZ) Ltd onlineClick here to see all the listings for Roadshow (NZ) Ltd Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
   bonnie hunt   cheech marin   dvd   george carlin   jay leno   jeremy clarkson   mario andretti   michael keaton   michael schumacher   owen wilson   paul newman   tony shaloub
Other listings you may be interested in:
Finding NemoFinding Nemo
Rating: 8.8
The IncrediblesThe Incredibles
Rating: 9.9
Pixar Short Films Collection - vol 1Pixar Short Films Collection - vol 1
Rating: 9.5
RatatouilleRatatouille
Rating: 8.8
Disney Cars slotcar setDisney Cars slotcar set
Rating: 9.3
Cars 2Cars 2
Rating: 8.1
Night at the MuseumNight at the Museum
Rating: 8.8
Ghost TownGhost Town
Rating: 7.3
Scenic RouteScenic Route
Rating: 8.8
Dallas Buyers ClubDallas Buyers Club
Rating: 8.5
MadelineMadeline
Rating: 8.5
The Fate of the Furious The Fate of the Furious 
Rating: 8.5
Anote's ArkAnote's Ark
Rating: 9.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of tessa771

Review by: tessa771 (Tessa)
Dated: 27th of June, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 10 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 9 out of 10
Age Appropriateness:
Score 9 out of 10

First up I must have seen this movie 50+ times. we originally watched it when my now 10 year old was 1. We saw it not long before his second birthday and from the first watch he was hooked. Now my 2 year old son is going through the whole "cars" phase so we are right back to having it on repeat. Both my sons have had a Cars themed 2nd birthday. There is so many movies out there that would not last being so popular 10 years on as it was originally. Cars is one that definitely stands the test of time!!

What makes Cars such a great movie is the originality, relatability and excitement of the movie. What kid wouldn't love a red racecar that gets to drive fast, be the best racer, have his best mate with him all the time and make people laugh. Cars will have the kids entertained from the first race right to the credits.

Owen Wilson is the voice of "lightening McQueen" and he does it so well. really captures all the attitude McQueen is meant to have at the start of the film and then becomes the lovable guy towards the end. There are so many great characters in Cars. Another favourite was Tow Mater. He added a lot of the light relief and humour into the film.

Cars is definitely a movie the whole family can enjoy. Doesn't matter how old or young you are its very easy and enjoyable to watch and get caught up in McQueens adventures.

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 25th of July, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 8 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 10 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 7 out of 10
Age Appropriateness:
Score 10 out of 10

My husband had been told it was a great movie especially if you have young children so we bought it as it was on special at The Warehouse and he thought that it wasn't too much to worry about if the kids didn't like it. The family loved the movie so much so that the kids almost wore the disk out, it would play well one day but the next it would skip and do funny things so we had to buy another copy.

Every time we see anything Cars themed the kids immediately ask for it, they are convinced that Lightning McQueen is the best race car driver ever and that Mator is the coolest tow truck I particularly liked the music as I grew up with that sort of music. So glad we listened to some guy at hubby's work.

Click here to read the profile of flabbergastered

Review by: flabbergastered (Karyn)
Dated: 4th of January, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 9 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 9 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 7 out of 10
Age Appropriateness:
Score 8 out of 10

I am not a huge movie go-er but with being an Early Childhood Teacher where I am with 2 year old to 5 year old children all day every day and when they talk to me about Lightening McQueen, and Mater and I stare back at them with a blank look on my face because I have no idea what or who they are talking about...so of course they start explaining and my confusion just grows from there....so it was time to take action!! I gave myself homework...haha

I borrowed a friends copy of Lightening McQueen and it didn't take me long to become familiar with all the characters and actually I quite enjoyed the story-line behind the movie, something all adults should take into account, with our fast paced world these days we all need to slow down and smell the roses from time to time and make new friends. Even though the movie is based around talking cars, which is cute, and young children especially young boys sure do like their cars, so it is a movie that definitely appeals to the right audience...it speaks a very important message and the moral behind the movie gives the audience a sense of fun, a sense of friendship, and a sense of looking out for other people, looking past yourself and living life to the fullest.

The movie offers a good laugh and is brightly coloured which keeps the children engaged and watching and now that I have watched it I can easily engage in any conversation that the children wish to discuss when it comes to Lightening McQueen and friends etc.

Since watching Lightening McQueen I have seen it a few times while I have babysat friend's children I have seen the enjoyment and excitement they get out of watching and they can easily watch it over and over and never seem to get bored with it, but I suppose if you like something you never get bored of it..and with the great story-line it is okay for them to watch it over and over.

I highly recommend this movie, not only is it for young children, I watched it for the first time at 30 years old and I enjoyed the movie, a great one for mums and dads to watch with their children. Find yourself a copy now and organise a a family movie night.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 2nd of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 9 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 9 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 7 out of 10
Age Appropriateness:
Score 8 out of 10

I'll be honest I really enjoyed this movie so much so I have done my son's room up completely in a Cars theme even though he is too young to know what Cars is. I think the characters are so loveable. I think this is a great movie for little boys as it includes cars something little boys seem to really enjoy. From working in childcare I know that Lightning McQueen is a real popular character with young boys of the preschool age.

The movie has a nice storyline with the city car Lightning McQueen finding himself lost in the abandoned town of Radiator Springs where he meets some friends who are different from any of the other cars he has met. His main intention is to get out of there as quick as he can but once he gets to know and love his new friends this becomes a harder decision for him than he first thought.

My favourite character from the movie is Tow Mater I think he is such a cool character he reminds me of Dopey from the Seven Dwarves but I also really like Filmore. They have all got really clever names chosen to show off the cars they represent. As far as children's movies go this one probably doesn't have as much going for it as the hits like the Lion King or Madagascar as it is more aimed at boys and doesn't have as much of an attention keeping story line.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 7th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 6 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 6 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 6 out of 10
Age Appropriateness:
Score 9 out of 10

We got Cars out one evening, because a few of our friends had been raving about it. I wasn't too sure about it. I mean, talking animals is okay by me. But inanimate objects like cars, trucks etc just don't capture my imagination.

Still, I went along with watching this film. The storyline is pretty age-old. Hotshot "city" boy, Lightning McQueen, finds himself stuck in a small town where everyone knows everyone. Its a story of finding oneself as much as proving to others you are more than you appear.

I found the movie quite predictable, but it is a kid's film. I'm not a great fan of car races, but I imagine the racing scenes would have been considered quite good for the animation of the time. I think if your kid is into cars, trucks, and racing then you'll find this a hit in your house.

My daughter has since seen the film and she knows the characters quite well. I guess it just wasn't for me.

Click here to read the profile of missvicqui

Review by: missvicqui (Victoria)
Dated: 3rd of May, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 10 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 10 out of 10
Age Appropriateness:
Score 10 out of 10

What a fantastic family movie!!

My two year old was glued from the start to the finish and over and over again.
He has become a HUGE Cars fan so much so that when he sees a car in the real world similar to the character in the movie he is beside himself :)

The bright colours of the movie make it captivating to the little ones and as he has grown with the movie he has learnt to talk along with his favourites and role play with us.

I would highly recommend this movie to all families with little ones!!

Click here to read the profile of emahlyn

Review by: emahlyn (Emma)
Dated: 10th of March, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 10 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 10 out of 10
Age Appropriateness:
Score 10 out of 10

This is a brilliant movie for the entire family, a great children's movie but good storyline that can keep even an adults attention.

My son loves everything and anything to do with Lightening McQueen after watching this movie, with its bright colours and fun characters it's an ideal kids movie. The movie is similar to Pixar's 'Finding Nemo', it has a strong sense of teamwork as Lightening McQueen learns that with help from his friends as his 'pit crew' he is an even better racer than before.

I can sit and watch this movie with my son over and over without getting irritated with it which is more than I can say for most movies suitable for 4 year olds.

Love it !

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 1st of December, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 7 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 9 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 5 out of 10
Age Appropriateness:
Score 9 out of 10

A great family movie that my whole family enjoyed. We are a family with children aged from 4 to 18 (lol) and yep it held the attention of all of them.
Of course it is not really believable because we all know cars can not talk but in a world of entertainment, fantasy and kids movies it has its believability factors.
The courage and friendships that build through out the movie show children anything is possible, especially when you have made a mistake with how you treat others earlier. Its great in the aspect that like many children's movies it teaches children lessons without them even knowing.

Click here to read the profile of mumkat

Review by: mumkat (Kathaleen)
Dated: 26th of March, 2009

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 8 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 7 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 7 out of 10
Age Appropriateness:
Score 10 out of 10

Lighting McQueen and his new found friends from Radiator Springs teach us that taking the fast lane in life isn't always a good thing, especially when it only saves you a few minutes. He meets the towns folk who want to help him out but with his bad attitude he turns them down.

Lightning McQueen learns a few lessons in his stay in Radiator Springs and one of the most important is that friendship means more than anything else. Mater (who seems a little slow) has to be my favourite character with his tractor tipping and carefree way of living.

The children love the bright colours and Lightning McQueen is well known among the children's community but it is not just a childrens movie.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 30th of October, 2006

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 9 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 9 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 7 out of 10
Age Appropriateness:
Score 10 out of 10

Yet another masterpiece from the makers of Finding Nemo and The Incredibles, Pixar have once again proven themselves the masters of animated movies. Never before have I seen cartoon cars move so smoothly or look so... human, in an automotive way.

With a wonderful array of characters, including the simple yet endearing Mater, the tow truck, and the highly entertaining Italian tyre salesfolk Luigi and Guido, and the ever-colourful Ramon and his paintshop, this is a laugh-a-minute movie suitable for all ages. Lessons to learn, moments to share, and some really stunning vocal 'acting' make this a really great way to spend a rainy afternoon with the kids.

Overall, though it has some moments that seem a little 'flat' compared to the rest of the movie, the greater majority of it is well worth viewing, especially all the little extras, such as the clips that show up during the credits, and the two extra mini-movies; "Mater and the Ghostlight" and "One Man Band". If nothing else, they make the DVD worth every cent.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Movies'...

Score: 9.0
Product reviews for listing 6836: The Guvnors
Directed by Gabe Turner

Product image for The GuvnorsA love letter and hate mail to the alpha male.

This story's alpha is Mitch who lives buried in suburban London, having turned his back on his previous life of casual violence and intimidation as part of a legendary South East London firm.

In the modern day he's the doyen of respectability and quiet confidence. The Guv'nors holds a mirror up to Mitch and shows him his inner monster once again, buried deep in both DNA and psyche, desperate to break out and wreak havoc.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Who was the first person to say, 'See that chicken there... I'm gonna eat the next thing that comes outta it's bum.'"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream