Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Sunday 20th October 2019 - 19:55:49

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Movies > Children > Finding Nemo review

« Royal New Zealand Airforce Museum reviewRoyal New Zealand Airforce MuseumAnnie's Fast Food reviewAnnie »

Score: 8.8/10  [14 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 113 - Finding Nemo
Directed by Andrew Standton and Lee Unkrich

Finding Nemo
Price:
$34.95
Available:
January 2003

Finding Nemo product reviews

From the Academy Award winning creators of Toy Story and Mosters Inc., it's time to take time to dive into FINDING NEMO - a hilarious adventure that takes you into the breathtaking underwater world of Australia's Great Barrier Reef.

When Nemo, a young clownfish, is unexpectedly carried far from home, his overprotective father, Marlin, and Dory, a friendly but forgetful regal blue tang fish embark on an epic journey that leads to encounters with vegetraian sharks, surfer dude turtles, hypnotic jellyfish and hungry seagulls!

FINDING NEMO's breakthrough computer animation is the ultimate viewing experience. This 2-disc Collector's Edition overflows with something for everyone, including exclusive animation, deleted scenes, games, and more! Swimming with laughs and overflowing with emotion - you'll find yourself watching FINDING NEMO over and over again!



Tags:
-none-
Other listings you may be interested in:
The Hummingbird ProjectThe Hummingbird Project
Rating: 6.8
Pixar Short Films Collection - vol 1Pixar Short Films Collection - vol 1
Rating: 9.5
The MuleThe Mule
Rating: 7.3
Creature Comforts - 1 to 6Creature Comforts - 1 to 6
Rating: 3.3
Cars 2Cars 2
Rating: 8.1
The VillageThe Village
Rating: 6.3
CarsCars
Rating: 8.6
Truth or DareTruth or Dare
Rating: 7.8
The IncrediblesThe Incredibles
Rating: 9.9
The 5th WaveThe 5th Wave
Rating: 8.5
RatatouilleRatatouille
Rating: 8.8
AppleseedAppleseed
Rating: 8.8
RevelationRevelation
Rating: 2.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 30th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 9 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 9 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 9 out of 10
Age Appropriateness:
Score 8 out of 10

Finding Nemo is another fantastic animation film by Pixar, and as expected a major hit with my family. I would love to see it re-released in 3D as feel it would be an amazing one to watch and would really bring it to life. It is one of those movies that brings to life the dangers of strangers and not listening to your parents in a fun based unobvious non scary kind of way.

The animations in this movie are suberbly done, and in my opinion not at all a let down. The story line is possibly a little weak really, but the characters bring it to life and you forget that it really is just a lost fish in the sea movie, and get caught up in the different characters. It is jam packed full of laughs, and Dory is my favorite character of all. The bright colors appeal to children, and almost every child I know begged for their very own Nemo fish after watching the movie.

It is easily a great piece of light entertainment for a rainy afternoon. I have heard that there is a 'Finding Dory' movie in the pipelines, and if it is true, I am super excited by that.

Click here to read the profile of rekebum

Review by: rekebum (Shani)
Dated: 22nd of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 9 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 10 out of 10
Age Appropriateness:
Score 8 out of 10

Finding Nemo is a perfect family movie. It would in my opinion suit someone of any age.

Lots of great laughs, and a very well done movie. I love the story line and all of the characters. It would be hard not to fall in love with at least one character. There are some good lessons behind the movie for kids such as manners which is always great! It keeps the child interested and provides laughs for both adults and children.

My bigger kids love it and Mr Three does also and we watch it regularly, like many kids movies we own. He looks for Nemo when we visit the pet shop too! I think its such a great film because the characters are cute, funny and easy to relate too. The biggest reason I wanted to see this was because of Ellen DeGeneres doing the voicing of Dory and she did not disappoint!

There was a warning that some scenes may upset small children but I haven't found that all. I think that it is a great movie for any age. Admittedly some younger children may get a wee bit scared during the shark scenes but nothing a bit of reassurance wouldn't curb.

Great movie, looking forward to the sequels release!

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 28th of April, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 9 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 8 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 9 out of 10
Age Appropriateness:
Score 9 out of 10

Life in the ocean can be hard especially if you have an over protective dad and you feel the need to always be proving yourself. I found that I wanted to stop Nemo from going too close to the boat as I know it would only lead to disaster and was glad that his dad was determined even when things looked like it was impossible. A good lesson in life is to keep going and don't give up.

The characters were funny, Dory with her faulty memory always gives a good laugh. The sharks were well done, got to love it when the sharks appear and the octopus "inks" itself. The dad learnt a lot on his travels like how long does a turtle live and what happens when you get heaps of stings from the jellies.

I'm not sure what exactly the attraction is for the kids but when we go anywhere near the sea they ask if we are going to see Nemo and have asked to see a shark to see if they are anything like the movie. I liked that although there were lessons to be learnt it was done in a way that the kids would enjoy and not have it pushed down throats.

We have this movie and watch it occasionally, we have too many good movies to choose from.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 22nd of February, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 10 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 10 out of 10
Age Appropriateness:
Score 10 out of 10

Finding Nemo is one of those perfect movies for the family.

This movie invests its world of sentient animals with a surprisingly scientific texture. All of the animals are based on real species. The fish tank is constructed out of real devices. There is a strong sense of locale, as Marlin (Albert Brooks) travels across the Pacific to Australia, where even the animals speak with an Australian accent. The animals talk and understand what's going on is treated as though it were a natural feature of the world. The realism is so striking that by the end of the film, you'll almost believe it possible for fish to plot an escape from a tank.

I love the sharks and their support group for each other to stop eating fish. However, the real winner of this movie is Dory (Ellen DeGeneres), a fish with short-term memory loss, giving a cartoon character a real human disorder is risky but was really pulled off here and it generates some of the biggest laughs and adds much more heart to the overall movie. The actors do a wonderful job of adding to the animation with acting that you can easily believe in, there's nothing about Finding Nemo that I don't like, and the first scene has me tearing up every time.

"Fish gotta swim, birds gotta eat." and you gotta watch this movie.

Click here to read the profile of flabbergastered

Review by: flabbergastered (Karyn)
Dated: 12th of May, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 9 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 9 out of 10
Age Appropriateness:
Score 9 out of 10

How can you not fall in love with this movie...maybe I am just a big kid at heart but I loved watching this movie and I have sat through many more viewings that I would care to admit too!! Finding Nemo was a favourite movie to watch when my nieces would stay the night with me, it would be their first request when asked what movie they wanted to watch.

The bright and colourful animation that PIXAR is famous for is totally evident in this movie. The almost life-like scenery of the underworld ocean is totally breathtaking and draws the viewer into a magical world of talking fish and vegetarian sharks named Bruce which in all honesty was my favourite character in the movie.

This movie has good family morals as a solo dad tries to do the best by his only son by trying to protect him from everything the ocean can throw at Nemo...Marlin does go a tad overboard at times but I guess that is what every parent or in my case Auntie does as we know of the many dangers out there for our children but in the end parents do need to trust their children and let them discover things for themselves.

The adventure that this movie takes the viewer on is one of excitement and self-discovery while meeting new people and forming solid relationships and friendships. Not sure if some of the jokes are too adult orientated for the younger children but the makers did well putting a few jokes in their to keep parents or adults interested and engaged in the movie.

There were parts of the movie that had me near tears and other times the movie had me laughing....not sure of the laughter was more because of the at times unbelievable plot because vegetarian sharks!! come on...but I couldn't help laugh at Dory's character because I grow up knowing that goldfish only had a 30 second memory span because supposedly their brains are too small so having her character forgetting everything so quickly was a funny memory of mine from childhood.

If given the chance I watch this movie every now and again by my nieces have outgrown this movie which is a shame! But I am sure there will be another time that I will definitely watch Finding Nemo again.

Click here to read the profile of kiwigirl04

Review by: kiwigirl04 (Sharlene)
Dated: 30th of March, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 9 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 9 out of 10
Age Appropriateness:
Score 9 out of 10

Just a great movie, i think we watch it at LEAST once a week sometimes, we have it on video not DVD. But in saying that the movie is the same. My kids 3 and 4 are just in love with little Nemo and they talk to the tv and tell Nemo's dad where he is and try to help him find Nemo.

I do enjoy this movie too, its funny, got some good humour for the adults, when i laugh the kids seem to laugh but have no clue why. I do believe it teaches lessons for the children, with manners etc too. The only bit my kids dont really like is the first part with Nemo's very very start of life as an egg. I love Dory she is such a funny, loving fish and i enjoy her quirky wit about her, you will just fall in love with Dory. The characters are well thought of and the script is well written, got lots of interesting characters, the turtles, the tank life fish, the birds, sharks and more.

If you haven't seen this movie yet its a must see, pop it on your list and go for it.. Its one of the ONLY movies my kids will actually sit and watch without running away from the tv or playing with their toys, they are 3 and 4.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 9th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 10 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 9 out of 10
Age Appropriateness:
Score 10 out of 10

Another fantastic disney pixar film about Nemo the clown fish and his adventures as he finds himself fished out of the sea and placed in a shops fish tank. The movie has some good lessons about friendship and family and I like to say to my daughter always listening to your parents as they generally know best.

Nemo is an inquisitive fish who likes to look at human objects always wondering what they are and what humans might be like. However one day his curiosity lands him in trouble as he is fished out of the sea by a fishermans net. Now Nemo's father Marlin must do everything he can to find Nemo and bring him back to the Great Barrier Reef. Some amazing characters are met along the way which add to the charm of the movie.

Dory a rather ditzy fish adds a lot of humour to the movie making it memorable as does Bruce the shark who must not eat fish. It to me is one of the most stunning movies I have seen from the Pixar films. It has stunning graphics and beautifully illustrated characters some of the animation is absolutely breathtaking as you are taken to an undersea world teaming with sea creatures of varying descriptions.

The story is so heartfelt as Marlin an overprotective Dad must do everything he can to rescue his son a true tale of the love of a father which really tugs on the heartstrings. Also lessons as a parent on when to protect your kids and when to let them just be kids but as you learn in the movie Marlin has a really good reason why he is so protective of his only son.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 19th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 8 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 8 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 8 out of 10
Age Appropriateness:
Score 8 out of 10

"Just keep swimming... just keep swimming..." How did I ever live without Dory, and her words of wisdom, Nemo and his little fin, Marlin and his "parentness" the MA (Meat Anonymous) Vegetarian sharks and the Turtles that are laid back surfer dudes?!!

Finding Nemo is a wonderful movie for both children and adults - with enough humour and amazing animation to keep big and little children entertained. Some of the humour does go over the kids heads, but that's what I like about Pixar films - they make kids movies that adults can happily watch too.

I love the storyline, the humour, and the wonderful graphics. When this first came out, it wasn't like anything on the market, so you really felt like you were IN the underwater world. I was also lucky enough to purchase this and get another Pixar movie free with it - added bonus!

I have watched this movie a LOT of times, and thought repeat after repeat can be a bit tedious, I have not yet got sick of the story, nor thought I could get rid of it.

I have really enjoyed this movie, and it is a family favourite that will long remain in the DVD shelf.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 17th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 10 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 10 out of 10
Age Appropriateness:
Score 10 out of 10

I was very fortunate to win a double pass to see Finding Nemo 3D. We have the movie on DVD and my kids love it. I will admit to going to see it when it first came out in the theatres even though it was long before I had children of my own. It has always been a favourite of mine.

I also loved it in 3D. It was the first time I had taken my 4 year old to the movies and she was so excited by the huge screen, seats and sound. We had the options of regular black 3d glasses or special Nemo glasses. We both chose the Nemo ones. They came in a bright orange bag. The glasses were like goggles with regular arms. There was a straw with a mouth piece that you could add to it to make a snorkel. Very cool. Unfortunately they were not designed for a 4 year old to play with constantly and were broken during the movie so Mummy had to sacrifice hers and watch the rest of the movie with broken glasses.

The 3D effects were not overdone. I thought that it might be a bit scary for the kids to see a shark coming at them or thinking they were going to be sprayed with water. Instead it added an extra depth to the screen and made the characters more lifelike.

Finding Nemo is such a lovely story about a father's love for his son. The DVD has been watched so many times in our house but each time I find something new to laugh or cry about. It is now a classic that appeals equally to girls, boys and adults.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 16th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 9 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 9 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 9 out of 10
Age Appropriateness:
Score 9 out of 10

Being huge Fish people we LOVE this movie.

Nemo reflects a normal young child trying to be independent while his father is just caring and not wanting to cut the ties just yet. A movie showing how far any parent will go for their children.

My three year old daughter loves it and I find after the movie her and her father talk like the turtles for the rest of the night 'dudes'. A movie for the whole family not just the kids. The best part was it holds her attention for the whole movie.

Highlights of the movie have to be: The voices especially Dory (Ellen Degeneres) she is fantastic and so ditsy you have to laugh. Bruce the shark and the 'fish are friends, not food club' just such a great club to belong to. Crush and Squirt the Turtles like totally awesome dude.

A great family movie highly recommend but be warned you will end up watching all the time with the young ones.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 19th of February, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 8 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 8 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 8 out of 10
Age Appropriateness:
Score 9 out of 10

Let me start by saying, I love Pixar films. We had just seen Monsters Inc at the movies (and loved it). Within a short time the Warehouse had a special on the DVD, buy Monsters Inc and get Finding Nemo for $10. I went along to pick up my new DVDs, and the queue was massive even before they opened for the day. Still, I managed to get the two movies and took them home eagerly.

Finding Nemo was a film I never saw in the cinema. But many of my friends had raved about it. I'm always a bit skeptical about these things, if someone raves about something I'm likely not to enjoy it. Unfortunately, this was very much the case with Finding Nemo. I wanted to like it, it was a sweet story but just didn't grab me.

Roll forward many years and I now have an almost five year old daughter. A girl, who loves animals and fish are a great favourite with a tank or three in her room. We put Finding Nemo on for her occasionally and she loves it. During the tense parts, she is literally jumping in her chair. I've warmed to it too, maybe because of her enthusiasm.

Click here to read the profile of micah09

Review by: micah09 (Suzanne)
Dated: 8th of May, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 10 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 10 out of 10
Age Appropriateness:
Score 10 out of 10

Our whole family loved this movie, the animation is fantastic, with some scenes being so believable you can almost smell them.
The characters are lovable and endearing and the story engages you from beginning to end. Loved by younger children and adults, there is a great story line with moral value about relationships between parents and kids. This movie is great value, clean, funny family fun that will be a favourite again and again.

Click here to read the profile of mandaz79

Review by: mandaz79 (Amanda)
Dated: 10th of November, 2006

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.0/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 5 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 5 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 5 out of 10
Age Appropriateness:
Score 5 out of 10

My family and I love this movie, we have watched it so many times, its nearly worn out. My kids are younger so plot and story line are not really important. For the adults, well can get boring if u watch it over and over. I love Dory, without her, the movie would be dead.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 17th of January, 2004

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 9 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 8 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 8 out of 10
Age Appropriateness:
Score 7 out of 10

Compared to the other PIXAR hits, this one was a little weak to me, the plot was too linear, no twists or unexpected turns... overall the story wasn't what attracted and appealed to me the most.

What grabbed me the most was the milestone CGI (Computer Generated Imagery) and simply AWESOME smoothness of the whole virtual world. One of the hardest things to model in a mathematical environment is the smooth organics of the real world. Finding Nemo has set the new upper limit to CGI realism, despite it's 'cartoon' feel overall. The characters are heavily modifide away from real, but the world they inhabit is so high on the realism scale, I was stunned when I found out it was all CGI, no spliced footage!

If you can accept the world-rules implied in this movie, the level of believability is quite high. The characters react according to their profiles, which makes the immersion into the movie easy to accept.

However, I did have an issue with the age appropriateness. The warnings are on the box, true, but to say "Some scenes may frighten young children" is a bit off-putting. My 3 year old loved most of it, but got bored, more than scared. However, some children with high sensitivity may indeed require changed underwear during this movie. There are places where sudden appearances and semi-violent bahaviour (A shark in a feeding frenzy isn't pretty, even in a cartoon) may require you to audit your child's viewing. Perhaps distract them with something when the rough bits are about to start...

One of the big selling points of this DVD package, to me, was the second disc, full of extras, hidden bits (yep, Easter Eggs galore guys) and interviews, etc. Another big selling point was the inclusion of Subtitles, for those who are hearing-impared.

Overall, Worth adding to the collection... but then, I feel that way about every PIXAR movie I have ever seen, right back to the 'good old days' on the Amiga. :)

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Movies'...

Score: 9.8
Product reviews for listing 5597: Captain Phillips
Directed by Paul Greengrass

Product image for Captain PhillipsThe true story of Captain Richard Phillips and the 2009 hijacking by Somali pirates of the US-flagged MV Maersk Alabama, the first American cargo ship to be hijacked in two hundred years.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Focus 90% of your time on solutions and only 10% of your time on problems."
Anthony J. D'Angelo, The College Blue Book

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream